We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome win”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Home Valley Station
Certificate of Excellence
Nanango, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An awesome win”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Won 2 nights in Grass Castle (inc brekkie) with the Ord Valley Muster. Such luxury as we are nomads living in our fifth wheeler and thought we would have a large tent. So experienced some travel on the Gibb River Road, and a HV8 Sunset tour with a view of the Cockburn Ranges watching the colours change with champers and nibbles. The Station opened our eyes as this is one of the Indigenous training centres and the level of hospitality and service experienced was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble for the team and everything was done happily. The two camp sites are well kept with toilets and showers, and pool facilities in the main area. The service, Food and drinks in The Dusty Bar were excellent and we hope to get back there again on the next trip round.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HOME_VALLEY, General Manager at Home Valley Station, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hey There Judie E
Thank you for such a beautiful review.

Congratulations on being the Lucky Door Prize this year.
The Kimberley Moon was a brilliant night in town with some spectacular artists, we are always proud to be a supporter of this magnificent week.

It was a real pleasure to host you both out with us and give you a bit of insight into our little piece of heaven here on the Gibb.
By “little” I sometimes wonder if our 3.5 million Acres may be a stretch, but nevertheless we try to keep the experience as personal, friendly and authentic as we can to all our guests. The Indigenous traineeships are indeed also a very big part of this and we are so proud of how successful this program is becoming.

All the very best and safe travels on your big adventure!

Benjamin Pratt
General Manager Home Valley Station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    64
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
37
104
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spend 2 nights in the safari tents and was really impressed, they were cleaned daily and were well maintained. The restaurant was great especially the buffet breakfasts. Enjoyed the live music by Loren Kate. Defanately a must if doing the Gibb River

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_OUTBACK_PIONEER, General Manager at Home Valley Station, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
HI There “Jan W”

What a wonderful review, the station here has been a buzz of activity this season since opening and even some time before over what was a big wet season out here. I can tell you first hand that the team have all been working tirelessly to make the place the best we can for our guests, with weddings, conferences and a host of large groups so far the season is off to a great start.
Loren Kate was indeed an incredible addition to our opening month here in May, her music is some of the best examples of raw Australian talent we have seen in a long time, the station has live music almost every night of the season and we have a brilliant line up of incredible artists still to come in the 2014 season.

It is reviews like yours Jan W that make this hard work all worthwhile. The team and I are extremely proud of our little slice of heaven here on the Gibb and it is refreshing to see that this is being noticed.

Trust you have a safe onward journey and we sincerely hope we get to see you here again.
All the best,
Benjamin Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the Home Valley Station in one of there powered camp sites. We took advantage of there 3 nights for the price of two deal. The Camping was great and having power for the fridge was brilliant.

The facilities are great as they have a central amenities area where you can wash and dry your clothes and have a shower and use a bathroom. They have separate sides for male and female. And they even have an area where you can wash your dishes.

Spread across the camp grounds are picnic tables with gazebo's covering them for great shade from the sun.

And to keep you cool is the brilliant swimming pool. Nice and cold and a great place to have a drink and read a book in the shade, and when you get too hot you can take a swim in the pool.

The Bar and restaurant were also great, the Food is without a doubt better than some of the food Ive had in Perth and at a reasonable price. Can't go past the massive delicious ribs!

Every time we went to the bar and restaurant we were met with friendly staff who went out of there way to help us. Especially Mel who is the Bar manager, she was always on top of our meals and drinks and would always remember what we liked so we actually never had to order :)

I will be coming back to Home Valley!

PROS
- Powered site
- Swimming Pool
- Great washing facilities
- Great price compared to other areas
- Staff were great
- Meals were the BEST in the Kimberley!

CONS
- The walking trails weren't very well sign posted, we got lost a few times.
- Not a lot of grass or shaded areas available when busy
- Not a lot of shade in the swimming area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_OUTBACK_PIONEER, General Manager at Home Valley Station, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
G’day Eric K
Thank you very much for the time you have taken to give us some fantastic feedback online,
The Trip advisor forum is an incredibly valuable tool for us to keep up to date on how our guests are enjoying our services and facilities here at HV8 .I personally see this tool keeping the property honest and on show for past and future guests to gauge what it is we offer and in this case pride ourselves on the feedback to keep us on track to delivering and exceeding guest expectations.

The Campground you stayed in is conveniently located close to all resort facilities so you can relax, unwind and soak up the incredible atmosphere here at the station. We aim to offer our guests several options for camping to ensure your individual needs are catered for from our secluded stunning Pentacost River Campground where peace and quiet is the order of the day, overlooking the magnificent Pentecost River and Cockburn Ranges. Alternatively there’s the stations main resort campground where all the modern facilities are available for you including power to keep the beer cool!

The Restaurant is a wonderful blend of old world charm and new world service and offering .The chefs here all aim to please and the Menu is one we are very proud off both in value for money and quality of offering. It seems we have done well in this case and I will be sure to pass on to the team the “Best in the Kimberley comment -they will be extremely proud.

The cons you mentioned I am working through immediately .The trails have been made in line with Australian standards but we are looking into including more signage on several of the tracks as these are a great additional way to offer our guests some free activities to keep them busy!
The shade in the pools is always a challenge this time of year, we do have the sails over the pool and offer two sheltered areas but the Kimberley heat in the early parts of the season do take a bit of getting used to. We have a second pool also that caters for those after the more peaceful and relaxing setting, perhaps this one may be the best options when you head back out.
We look forward to welcoming you back the station in the future and hope the remainder your holiday was just as memorable.

All the best ,
Benjamin Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our fourth trip to the Kimberley's, we are in love with this part of the world. Our 7 day stay at HV8 was brilliant, Grass Castle accomodation exceeded expectations, the whole team constantly went out of their way to ensure we had the best possible experience. We rose early to head off with the team( Tim, Jason, Sarah )on the well trained and cared for horses, such a magnificent country to traverse on horseback with such great company. After lunch Tom the "fishing genius" picked us up and with his helping hand we very "green" fishermen caught magnificent Barrumundi which was beautifully cooked for us by the restaurant team that night. We sat over our superb fish with a vino or two listening to the beautiful Loren singing to us .... We also very much enjoyed the scenic tours, walks and sunset tour ....It just does not get any better than this.
We were very early in the season,the crowds were down and to us this added to the enjoyment.

Room Tip: Grass Castles are a bit more expensive but location and facilities are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_OUTBACK_PIONEER, General Manager at Home Valley Station, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Good Morning Pam G

Sounds like you experienced the lot!
7 days here with us is certainly enough time to truly take in the spirit of the place and get to know all of the friendly team.

The horse Rides with Tim and his team are indeed a fantastic experience and Toms fishing genius skills have meant that there has been a near 100% success rate on all of his tours so far this season, I don’t need to say it but fresh caught Barra eaten a few hours after caught will change the way you look at eating fish , I can happily say I am a convert to what I class as one of the most delicious fish you can find , not to mention the bragging rights when its delivered to the table knowing you caught it yourself !

The Grass Castle rooms are indeed a blissful experience .There’s something magical waking up with the sunrise from your king bed or sitting and watching the birdlife and odd fresh water croc swimming past with your morning cuppa .You would be as pleased as we are also that we just received some great news that we have won “Best Accommodation In Kununurra” award and needless to say the team here are ecstatic.

Thank you for taking time out of your day to post your experience online, I genuinely hope we get to see you out here again.

Warm Regards
Benjamin Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My day trip in here to do the station tour and up to the swimming holes was a highlight of my Kimberley trip. I was picked up and personally driven in to do the tours by station staff. The service was fantastic and very informative. The scenery is stunning and the resort and its staff excellent carnt wait to go back my visit was way too short.

Room Tip: Didn't stay so carnt comment but it all looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracie555au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_OUTBACK_PIONEER, General Manager at Home Valley Station, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Good Afternoon Tracie555au

Firstly thanks for being the First Reviewer of 2014!
I am grateful you had a wonderful trip and agree with you that the scenery here is truly stunning, the best we can offer is a service that will compliment the raw beauty and magnificence of this part of the Kimberley.

Hopefully on your next journey you can stay with us here at the station and let us show you the hospitality and award winning accommodation we pride ourselves on.
I will pass on your kind words to the team who really value this great feedback.

All the best
Benjamin Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed only one night but really enjoyed the experience from start to finish and would have been happy to stay longer except we were in a time-crunch.

The campsite is just lovely (peaceful, clean, and relaxing) and the facilities are among the best in the in the region. All the staff were friendly and accommodating. The was a large range of walks (we did 2 or 3 of them) and the sunset is beautiful. The restaurant was also a unique and yummy experience.

We payed a little extra and took a highly educational station tour with the fabulous Cassie. Apart from what was a very enjoyable and well-put-together tour in general (whip-cracking, property tour, plant education, meeting the animals, farming and historical/cultural information), Cassie was patient with all our questions and curiosities. She is truly an inspiring young woman.

If passing through again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thanks to all for such a memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sierrajuliette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

If you are looking for an outback adventure look no further than Home Valley Station. From our arrival to our departure our stay was very enjoyable. We took advantage of the barramundi fishing by helicopter (having our catch cooked and presented that evening), walks around the station, a station tour, horse riding supervised by experienced handlers, lazing by the pool. We ate in the dining area most nights and there was also a singer for entertainment. The staff could not be faulted from the check in attendant to the Manager Ben Pratt, everyone was helpful and pleasant. We had challenges with our vehicle and this was also taken care of whilst we spent our days touring the station. The sunsets were great and the accommodation was clean and affordable. Look no further than this gem in the Kimberly's.

Room Tip: No challenge with any to my knowledge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
60.4 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
60.5 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
60.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.5 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
224 reviews
18.7 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#5 of 17 in Kununurra
122 reviews
60.6 mi away
El Questro The Station
El Questro The Station
#6 of 17 in Kununurra
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Valley Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Valley Station

Property: Home Valley Station
Address: Gibb River Road, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Home Valley Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home Valley Station we pride ourselves on providing guests with the ultimate Australian outback experience. Accommodation across the Station provides options for travellers of all preferences - from those who prefer their rugged outback adventure with a twist of luxury to those seeking a more intimate experience. Our spacious Grass Castles on idyllic Bindoola Creek are lavishly appointed, providing guests with the ultimate in outback lodging. Homestead Guesthouse Rooms provide a comfortable retreat and are perfect for couples and families. The safari-style Eco Tents, located in a quiet bush setting, will impress those seeking to connect with nature. Those wishing to roll out a swag under the stars are invited to enjoy the Gibb River Road's best camping facilities at our Homestead and the picture perfect Bindoola River Bush Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Home Valley Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Valley Station Hotel Kununurra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing