We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice overnight spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Home Valley Station
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice overnight spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Camped for one night in June. Dusty camp sites but to be expected when in the Kimberley's! Had a swim in the pool which was lovely after a days driving on the Gibb. Access to washing machines and plentiful clothes line space was handy. My only recommendation is to shower on the far side of the amenities block away from reception, as the further from the gas heating the cooler the water. Had a tasty dinner and enjoyed the live music. Definitely recommend stopping in.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HOME_VALLEY, General Manager at Home Valley Station, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Elisha S
Thanks for taking the time to post on this great forum.

A wonderful review and I truly thank you for the time to share your experience with our future guests.

You will be pleased to note i followed up on the shower and they have all but been repaired with new gas hot water systems ,so no need to be selective anymore and this couldn’t have happened at a better time with the cool weather of late.
Live music all year round is always a winner and we ensure the quality of the acts will keep people talking from place to place as to the great talent in some great Australian musicians.!
Safe onward travels.

All the very best
Benjamin Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    64
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
34
100
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a very good cabin (‘grass castle’) on the banks of the Bindoola Creek. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and fresh with excellent satellite TV, a small refrigerator, air conditioning, fan and a pleasant outdoor balcony overlooking the creek. Run by the ILC and heavily involved in training local indigenes we saw a bit of this while our room was being serviced. I must say the standard was very high and we were more than satisfied with the quality of our room.
Home Valley is a large complex. Its grounds are clean and neat and there is a small swimming pool set in the middle of green lawns (much .appreciated by many children). There is an extensive open air dining area and bar. Service in these facilities was good, cheerful and helpful. However, we were disappointed in the food. For example the steak was tough and we did not consider a pile of coleslaw a ‘fresh salad’. The fish was OK but not as good as some we had had along the GRR.
Travellers should be aware that reception closes at 6:00pm, which we consider is far too early. We were running late and only just made it. I am not sure what would have happened if we arrived at 6:30!
We were disappointed by the range of tours available. We enjoyed the station tour including the visit to Bindoola falls but this was about the only general tour available (we are not into fishing). Given that HV8 stresses both their involvement in the film ‘Australia’ (including having a DVD of the film in the cabin) and that it is a working cattle station, there was very little in the way of information, involvement, or tours relating to these topics. The link to ‘Australia’ was one of reasons we chose HV8. And we thought an added bonus would be learning something of the cattle industry in the region. While seeing a tame Braham bull eating an orange was cute, this was not very informative about the cattle industry.
So in summary: good facilities and staff; average food; very disappointing if you want to learn something about the film ‘Australia’ and the cattle industry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HOME_VALLEY, General Manager at Home Valley Station, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi there Helen R,

It’s great to see you have taken the time to come and visit us from Sydney.
The Kimberley region is a part of this country that all Australians should see - a true gem in our very own backyard and I commend you for making this journey!

Our 3.5 million acre patch on the Gibb is certainly no exception, thank you for the glowing reviews on the room and service standards, I will be sure to pass these on to the team. As I mentioned in other responses feedback is extremely valuable to them and as you can imagine with such a small team here there is a real sense of pride on how we perform and deliver on our promise of an unforgettable experience.

Home Valley is indeed owned by the ILC however we are managed by “Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia”. The Indigenous trainee program is a large part of what we do here - all trainees are given a great opportunity to complete their nationally recognized certificate based training and we then guarantee them full time employment once graduated either here at Home Valley or one of the many other ILC owned properties across Australia. An incredibly rewarding experience, as a company we are industry leaders in Indigenous training and real outcomes so something I am genuinely proud to hang my hat on.

Your comments about the food are noted and I will ensure the team are made aware to check for anything that may be missing. I am unsure about the salad as we do not have coleslaw on the menu and the steak is all thoroughly sourced to be of top quality and all graded under MSA standards.
The reception area is unfortunately in fact closed at 6pm however there is a 24 hour night phone for any assistance required and the staff working in the restaurant are trained to assist guests late into the night for check ins or any other items they may need. One of the benefits of having a team all living onsite means that we are never far away to assist in any way we can!
For the sake of other travelers reading this review I thought it may be worthwhile to mention the entire list of tours on offer here throughout the year as we do try to offer something for everyone.

You can saddle a horse and participate in our world class trail rides both half and full days with our stock men and women, helicopter scenic flights, our new Helicopter Sunset tour, Barramundi fishing tours (either shore, boat or helicopter based), 9 professionally constructed self guided walking trails all to Australian Standard with free access and souvenir trail booklet
. The Station Tour is also very popular highlighting everything from the history of the station back to the 1800’s, the essential services we manage on site and the award winning trainee program we run for indigenous students.

We are still a working cattle station however this component of the tour is only admittedly a smaller portion - we do go through the process of running cattle with the tour taking In how our cattle yards operate , the process for mustering via vehicle, horseback and helicopter and and of course a chance to meet “moo” our 800kg station reared Brahman pet that does loves an orange or two from time to time .
We try not to involve too many other cattle to ensure the tour remains as safe and accessible to everyone including families and small children.

We were indeed lucky enough to have parts of the movie Australia filmed onsite which in itself showcases the magnificent Kimberley landscape however we don’t specifically go into detail with this on our tours. In saying this though, the guides will be able to point out a few special spots that were prominent features in this classic movie.
Lastly we offer a Sunset tour where you can enjoy Sparkling wine, a cheese platter and a good yarn with some locals in a private viewing area to watch the sunset on the magnificent Cockburn Ranges.

I certainly hope we will have the opportunity to host you again on the station in future and maybe one of these other options may take your fancy - we do strive to offer a little something for everyone.
I hope you had a great trip back to Sydney and thank you very much also for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review.

Take are
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth wa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent a week camped on the river at Home Valley Station and we love the place. It is not overly commercialised and you get a true outback homestead feel. Tom the fishing guide is amazing and it is well worth going Barra fishing with him (even if you don't catch anything you learn heaps) The girls at reception were really lovely this year, when last year they were not overly friendly. This is a really great place and we hope we can make it back next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie123Perthwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HOME_VALLEY, General Manager at Home Valley Station, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi there Bernie123Perthwa

Thank you so much on behalf of all of us here at the station for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

The River camp is a personal favorite of mine , you can sit relax and forget about the hustle and bustle for a while whilst enjoying what I think is the most breathtaking views of the Pentecost River and Cockburn Ranges anywhere in the Kimberley’s ,not to mention still only a quick drive if you want to grab a coldy at the Dusty’s Bar!” The camp is a great spot for fishing too “threadfin salmon , and the mighty Barra are in abundance again this year !,

Tom is a cracking professional fisherman , he works tirelessly everyday to give his guests an adventure Barra fishing experience they will never forget , your 100% right not even needing to catch anything but always in for a very strong chance with Tom as your guide!.

Reception team have been a blessing this season, I think having staff who appreciate the beauty and love working here help us in giving all our guests a wonderful stay.
You mentioned you will be back next year and I hope we get a chance to meet in person.

Take Care and Travel Safe!
Benjamin Pratt
General Manager Home Valley Station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanango, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Won 2 nights in Grass Castle (inc brekkie) with the Ord Valley Muster. Such luxury as we are nomads living in our fifth wheeler and thought we would have a large tent. So experienced some travel on the Gibb River Road, and a HV8 Sunset tour with a view of the Cockburn Ranges watching the colours change with champers and nibbles. The Station opened our eyes as this is one of the Indigenous training centres and the level of hospitality and service experienced was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble for the team and everything was done happily. The two camp sites are well kept with toilets and showers, and pool facilities in the main area. The service, Food and drinks in The Dusty Bar were excellent and we hope to get back there again on the next trip round.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HOME_VALLEY, General Manager at Home Valley Station, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hey There Judie E
Thank you for such a beautiful review.

Congratulations on being the Lucky Door Prize this year.
The Kimberley Moon was a brilliant night in town with some spectacular artists, we are always proud to be a supporter of this magnificent week.

It was a real pleasure to host you both out with us and give you a bit of insight into our little piece of heaven here on the Gibb.
By “little” I sometimes wonder if our 3.5 million Acres may be a stretch, but nevertheless we try to keep the experience as personal, friendly and authentic as we can to all our guests. The Indigenous traineeships are indeed also a very big part of this and we are so proud of how successful this program is becoming.

All the very best and safe travels on your big adventure!

Benjamin Pratt
General Manager Home Valley Station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Spend 2 nights in the safari tents and was really impressed, they were cleaned daily and were well maintained. The restaurant was great especially the buffet breakfasts. Enjoyed the live music by Loren Kate. Defanately a must if doing the Gibb River

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_OUTBACK_PIONEER, General Manager at Home Valley Station, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
HI There “Jan W”

What a wonderful review, the station here has been a buzz of activity this season since opening and even some time before over what was a big wet season out here. I can tell you first hand that the team have all been working tirelessly to make the place the best we can for our guests, with weddings, conferences and a host of large groups so far the season is off to a great start.
Loren Kate was indeed an incredible addition to our opening month here in May, her music is some of the best examples of raw Australian talent we have seen in a long time, the station has live music almost every night of the season and we have a brilliant line up of incredible artists still to come in the 2014 season.

It is reviews like yours Jan W that make this hard work all worthwhile. The team and I are extremely proud of our little slice of heaven here on the Gibb and it is refreshing to see that this is being noticed.

Trust you have a safe onward journey and we sincerely hope we get to see you here again.
All the best,
Benjamin Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the Home Valley Station in one of there powered camp sites. We took advantage of there 3 nights for the price of two deal. The Camping was great and having power for the fridge was brilliant.

The facilities are great as they have a central amenities area where you can wash and dry your clothes and have a shower and use a bathroom. They have separate sides for male and female. And they even have an area where you can wash your dishes.

Spread across the camp grounds are picnic tables with gazebo's covering them for great shade from the sun.

And to keep you cool is the brilliant swimming pool. Nice and cold and a great place to have a drink and read a book in the shade, and when you get too hot you can take a swim in the pool.

The Bar and restaurant were also great, the Food is without a doubt better than some of the food Ive had in Perth and at a reasonable price. Can't go past the massive delicious ribs!

Every time we went to the bar and restaurant we were met with friendly staff who went out of there way to help us. Especially Mel who is the Bar manager, she was always on top of our meals and drinks and would always remember what we liked so we actually never had to order :)

I will be coming back to Home Valley!

PROS
- Powered site
- Swimming Pool
- Great washing facilities
- Great price compared to other areas
- Staff were great
- Meals were the BEST in the Kimberley!

CONS
- The walking trails weren't very well sign posted, we got lost a few times.
- Not a lot of grass or shaded areas available when busy
- Not a lot of shade in the swimming area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_OUTBACK_PIONEER, General Manager at Home Valley Station, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
G’day Eric K
Thank you very much for the time you have taken to give us some fantastic feedback online,
The Trip advisor forum is an incredibly valuable tool for us to keep up to date on how our guests are enjoying our services and facilities here at HV8 .I personally see this tool keeping the property honest and on show for past and future guests to gauge what it is we offer and in this case pride ourselves on the feedback to keep us on track to delivering and exceeding guest expectations.

The Campground you stayed in is conveniently located close to all resort facilities so you can relax, unwind and soak up the incredible atmosphere here at the station. We aim to offer our guests several options for camping to ensure your individual needs are catered for from our secluded stunning Pentacost River Campground where peace and quiet is the order of the day, overlooking the magnificent Pentecost River and Cockburn Ranges. Alternatively there’s the stations main resort campground where all the modern facilities are available for you including power to keep the beer cool!

The Restaurant is a wonderful blend of old world charm and new world service and offering .The chefs here all aim to please and the Menu is one we are very proud off both in value for money and quality of offering. It seems we have done well in this case and I will be sure to pass on to the team the “Best in the Kimberley comment -they will be extremely proud.

The cons you mentioned I am working through immediately .The trails have been made in line with Australian standards but we are looking into including more signage on several of the tracks as these are a great additional way to offer our guests some free activities to keep them busy!
The shade in the pools is always a challenge this time of year, we do have the sails over the pool and offer two sheltered areas but the Kimberley heat in the early parts of the season do take a bit of getting used to. We have a second pool also that caters for those after the more peaceful and relaxing setting, perhaps this one may be the best options when you head back out.
We look forward to welcoming you back the station in the future and hope the remainder your holiday was just as memorable.

All the best ,
Benjamin Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our fourth trip to the Kimberley's, we are in love with this part of the world. Our 7 day stay at HV8 was brilliant, Grass Castle accomodation exceeded expectations, the whole team constantly went out of their way to ensure we had the best possible experience. We rose early to head off with the team( Tim, Jason, Sarah )on the well trained and cared for horses, such a magnificent country to traverse on horseback with such great company. After lunch Tom the "fishing genius" picked us up and with his helping hand we very "green" fishermen caught magnificent Barrumundi which was beautifully cooked for us by the restaurant team that night. We sat over our superb fish with a vino or two listening to the beautiful Loren singing to us .... We also very much enjoyed the scenic tours, walks and sunset tour ....It just does not get any better than this.
We were very early in the season,the crowds were down and to us this added to the enjoyment.

Room Tip: Grass Castles are a bit more expensive but location and facilities are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RM_OUTBACK_PIONEER, General Manager at Home Valley Station, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Good Morning Pam G

Sounds like you experienced the lot!
7 days here with us is certainly enough time to truly take in the spirit of the place and get to know all of the friendly team.

The horse Rides with Tim and his team are indeed a fantastic experience and Toms fishing genius skills have meant that there has been a near 100% success rate on all of his tours so far this season, I don’t need to say it but fresh caught Barra eaten a few hours after caught will change the way you look at eating fish , I can happily say I am a convert to what I class as one of the most delicious fish you can find , not to mention the bragging rights when its delivered to the table knowing you caught it yourself !

The Grass Castle rooms are indeed a blissful experience .There’s something magical waking up with the sunrise from your king bed or sitting and watching the birdlife and odd fresh water croc swimming past with your morning cuppa .You would be as pleased as we are also that we just received some great news that we have won “Best Accommodation In Kununurra” award and needless to say the team here are ecstatic.

Thank you for taking time out of your day to post your experience online, I genuinely hope we get to see you out here again.

Warm Regards
Benjamin Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kununurra
60.5 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
60.5 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
60.5 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#5 of 17 in Kununurra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
60.5 mi away
Emma Gorge Resort
Emma Gorge Resort
#2 of 10 in Kununurra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge
Bungle Bungle Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 3 in Purnululu National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Valley Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Valley Station

Property: Home Valley Station
Address: Gibb River Road, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Home Valley Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home Valley Station we pride ourselves on providing guests with the ultimate Australian outback experience. Accommodation across the Station provides options for travellers of all preferences - from those who prefer their rugged outback adventure with a twist of luxury to those seeking a more intimate experience. Our spacious Grass Castles on idyllic Bindoola Creek are lavishly appointed, providing guests with the ultimate in outback lodging. Homestead Guesthouse Rooms provide a comfortable retreat and are perfect for couples and families. The safari-style Eco Tents, located in a quiet bush setting, will impress those seeking to connect with nature. Those wishing to roll out a swag under the stars are invited to enjoy the Gibb River Road's best camping facilities at our Homestead and the picture perfect Bindoola River Bush Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Home Valley Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Valley Station Hotel Kununurra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing