We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Questro The Station
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kununurra(Kununurra)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
124
76
23
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
76
23
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszebedee springssteakhouse restaurantel questroexplosion gorgethe riveremma gorgeprivate campriver view bungalowfull day tourhorse ridingswimming holetwo nightslook outscamping areapermanent tentslive musichelicopter flight
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Its funny to read reviews of those complaining about the generator, lack of toilets etc. Consider where you are people!!
That said the camp ground was very full down to D area. Yes, you do need to walk to facilities, but really its not such an imposition.
We arrived at around 11am and snagged a prime river site. Lovely. We could not hear the generator, but you sometimes do hear a humm depending on where the wind comes from.
Amenities seem to service the bulk of the crowd, sometimes at peak there was a wait.
This is the best place to stay if you want to see lots of gorges, some fantastic walks, hot springs and good 4wd tracks. All in the one spot which is why its popular.

We camped, but had dinner at the restaurant for three nights. The ladies in the restaureant were so helpful and beautiful friendly service. Food was great and well priced. You can also get dinner at a bbq a few nights a week. The bar was a nice place to unwind in front of the fire at night. We could also have a camp fire at our site, but nice when someone else makes it for you!
You take the remoteness for granted when you can get nice coffee and pies in a remote spot as this.
I will go back, but maybe to the Homestead next time..without kids!

Room Tip: for a a good campsite get there early
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hamiriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro The Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Hamiriver,

Thank you so much for taking time to tell readers about your wonderful stay at El Questro. It is much appreciated to hear that the staff and food helped enhance your overall experience, I know what a great asset they are to us. We do struggle with the balance between being a unique, remote destination and the expectation for all modern conveniences (thus the fantastic new cafe area). For some we strike it just right, but we certainly are always improving and always listening to what our guests need during their time here. This is why we have been working hard on a strategic plan that will see our camping facilities improve and expand over the coming years to make the experience an enjoyable one for all visitors, no matter the level of expectation.

I hope that you have occasion to visit El Questro and the East Kimberley again in the future so that we may look after you once again.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack,
General Manager,El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in a bungalow on the river and slept with the door open ( fly screen closed) , listening to the beautiful sound of river rushing by just outside. We loved the room and the relaxed feeling at the station. I liked being able to do a load of washing and found most of the staff to be helpful . The restaurant was pretty good overall with one outstanding waitress and a number who looked pretty bored. We were a little surprised by things like being unable to substitute mushroom for bacon as we are vegetarian. We were charged the full amount for eggs and bacon and then also charged for the mushrooms on the side. These things were only small issues and I think forgivable given the place only has a few months of the year to turn a profit and under very trying conditions.
El Questro Gorge is simply stunning and if you can hoist yourself over the midway rock ... continues to be ever more beautiful ... The river cruise was ok but we worried about the environmental impact of feeding the fish so often for the sake of entertaining the tourists.
Definitely worth the effort to get there ..

Room Tip: I thank any of the bungalows would be pretty good
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear gkab,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write such a pleasant review of El Questro Station. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Bungalows and the Steakhouse Restaurant. It is a magnificent outlook from the verandahs and so pleasant to listen to the water rushing past.

That is an unfortunate observation that the staff looked bored, we have had some changes in personal just recently so I am confident that the new crew will have more energy and present a more positive face to our guests. I also agree that it was petty to not substitute items on your breakfast, please know that is not our usual philosophy and are more than happy to go out of our way to ensure everyone is looked after.

We do try to take care of the fish on the cruise, they are only fed natural food that they would normally find in their environment. Thank you for mentioning it and your concern.

We hope that you have opportunity to visit the Kimberely again in the future.

Warm wishes,

Lori Litwack
GM El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

What a ripoff! $$60 per nite for patch of grass 100 mtrs from only amenities, NO POWER and the NOISIEST generator going all nite = no sleep! Only stayed for access to gorges & lookouts. Zebedee Springs is a must see though. Stay at Home Valley !!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Burnbubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Dear Burnbubba,

I am writing in response to your review of your camping experience at El Questro. It is unfortunate that your experience led to you feeling that we are a "rip off" as we also receive many reviews and comments from guests who love their experience at El Questro. I am sorry that we were not able to prove ourself to you on your visit.

I do realise that we charge more than other properties however the attractions at the property are what you are paying for, not just a place to drop your swag. There is over 200 km of 4WD tracks, 6 accessible walking trails, boating in 3 water holes, 3 lookouts with panoramic views and of course as you pointed out, Zebedee Thermal Springs.

All of these are the point of difference for El Questro as compared to a camp ground on the side of the road or in the centre of town. We do have park permit fees in place as do all major parks and feel our entry fee is similar to the others. These fees enable us to maintain all of the tracks and trails, the signage, the free trail fact sheets, the roads into property and the waterhole access. We pay for these improvments ourself with no government assistance or subsidy. It is a sizable amount of funding that we put into it each year after the wet season so that we consistently have amazing attractions on offer for our visitors.

I cannot offer much explanation though for the lack of powered sites, the noise of the generator and distance of the ablutions. At the moment these are infrastructure issues that we cannot overcome this season. We are very much aware of them and don't like the negative impact it has on our camping guests so it is something that is flagged in our planning for the near future. We do reccomend our Private Riverside camp sites for those who prefer total silence and distance from the generator.

Again, my apologies that we did not meet your expectations, we do strive to do our best and will use your feedback to help improve the camping experience.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
GM El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed at the Station for 4 nights and I thought the accommodation was great. I've read some past reviews here from people who were not satisfied and I think it's because they had expected it to be like a posh hotel room and it's not. The cabin is small, but it can house up to 4 people (one double bed and a single bed with another pull-out bed from under it). There is a small shower/toilet room and a mini-kitchen area with fridge and utilities closet. The cabin has everything that is necessary/needed for the stay--comfortable beds/linens, towels, warm shower, toilet, toilet paper, chairs, etc. It doesn't have things like TV, internet access, or much storage place for clothes. Housekeeping provides fresh towels everyday and clean cups/glasses. The Bungalows have air conditioning as well which made it more comfortable.

As for the food, I would rate it as "average". The only disadvantage of not bringing our own food was that we depended on one restaurant to feed us. Menu choice was limited, but it does try to offer different kinds of food to suit everyone's taste.

As for the tours, I would rate it as "excellent". We did the El Questro full day tour, which included a 5-hr return hike to El Questro gorge and Zebedee Springs, a meal at the Steakhouse (the only restaurant at the Station), and a cruise down Chamberlain gorge. The Rangers (the tour guides) were knowledgable, easy going and friendly. The hike to El Questro gorge was difficult as it included climbing car-sized rocks and wading through chest-deep water at some parts of the hike, but when you reach the falls, it will be worth it!

Overall, my experience of El Questro was an amazing adventure! A 4WD is required to see all the lookouts and to survive the rocky creeks along the way in the park. Be sure to bring a shovel in case you get bogged down. El Questro does not provide them. There is a $500 call-out fee if you get stuck.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AFrial13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Dear AFrial13,

I just wanted to write and acknowledge the very pleasing review you have written about the Station Bungalows and El Questro. It is an amazig adventure, but you also highlight how comofrtable the accommodation is. I believe that the difference you found as compared to previous reviews is due to the soft upgrade that the Bungalows had last year. It has given them a fresh, new feeling.

I am sorry that during your visit, you found the food at the Steakhouse was only average. The limited choices was something I was already keen to improve on and we have just introduced a new, expanded menu which should satisfy an even a wider range of tastes.

We hope that you get opportunity to visit us again.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
GM El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The Station is the heart of El Questro. We called in on a day trip and visited Zebedee Springs then on to the station for lunch. The best meal we've had in the Kimberley and reasonably priced, in lovely surroundings. If you have only a limited time in the area, the Station appears to have it all. We didn't stay this time - stayed at Emma Gorge on the last trip in May - however the cabins looked really well set-out, with lots of space for fun.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Dear Kimberley Dave,

Thank you for the great review of the Steakhouse Restaurant at the Station. We do strive to have top quality food and welcome day trippers to sample the menu when visiting El Questro Wilderness Park. We have just introduced our winter menu which offers even more choice so we hope that you are in the neighborhood again soon.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
GM El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews