We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in a river view bungalow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Questro The Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Questro The Station
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A lovely stay in a river view bungalow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

In May, we stayed 3 nights in a river view bungalow. It had a nice outlook over the river. We really enjoyed our time at the Station. We also stayed 3 nights at Emma Gorge Resort. We preferred The Station as it was more convenient for the tours, closer to all the walks and the bungalows offered more home comforts.

The bungalow was well equipped - small fridge, kettle, tea/coffee, hair dryer, air conditioning - everything you'd need. It was clean and comfortable and well serviced each day. No TV but that was a good thing - it was really nice to be cut off from the outside world for a while.

We really enjoyed our meals in the restaurant - we had breakfast and dinner there each day. The food was delicious - considering how isolated the property is, it is impressive that the food being served up is that good. The portions were generous and well presented. After an active day walking, it was great to rock up to the restaurant and have a hearty meal (that someone else had cooked!). The service in the restaurant was also very good. One night an outside BBQ option was also offered which we enjoyed - it was good to mix it up.

The restaurant is BYO. You can buy drinks at the Station bar or bring in your own alcohol. If we'd known that, we would have bought wine in Kununurra before we arrived.

The breakfasts were yummy too but after discovering we had a fridge in the bungalow, we wished we'd brought cereal and milk as it would have been more cost effective ($12 for 2 pieces of toast and a serve of Weetbix in the restaurant is rather steep but I guess that is how they make their money). Having said that, the cooked breakfasts were good!

We found the staff to be very friendly and enthusiastic. We only did one organised tour (Explosion Gorge) which we enjoyed - Logan was an excellent guide (very friendly and knowledgeable).

I wasn't sure what to expect when we booked El Questro. I'm not usually into organised tours but El Questro offered the perfect mix. We were able to be independent (drive to the walks and do them ourselves) but join tours if we wanted the guided, group experience. We had 5 full days at El Questro and we found this to be the perfect amount of time. There is a lot to see and do. We loved doing all the walks - the gorges are spectacular - and the walks are well marked (and maps are provided) so you know you are heading in the right direction! It was also nice to have some home comforts and enjoy meals in the restaurant each night.

A fantastic, scenic holiday - highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuddy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine M, Marketing Manager, Parks & Resorts Australia at El Questro The Station, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Travelbuddy 010,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasant and thorough review of your time at El Questro Station. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to provide all the ingredients for a memorable holiday. We do take a lot of pride in our food and beverage offerings and strive to make it superior to the standard remote experience.

We hope you make your way to this part of Australia once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    64
    20
    14
    7
See reviews for
61
94
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We have now camped, in caravans, at El Questro twice- in July 2009 & again in April 2013. We arrived on the first day of the season & it was a bit disappointing to find several areas of the park still closed but the weather has a mind of it's own! Camping facilities are quite basic for the price but the scenery is just beautiful. El Questro Gorge & Emma Gorge are definitely worth the walking! The Station restaurant was a highlight- we went for lunch & it was so good we returned for dinner. The food was great, service fantastic, it was BYO & prices very good. Thanks to the staff.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine M, Marketing Manager, Parks & Resorts Australia at El Questro The Station, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Janelle B,

It is terrific to hear you came back to El Questro for a second visit. I know the weather in April is challenging for us, whilst access to certain sites may be cut off, we find the beauty of the green season outweighs the possible lack of variety. It also great to hear that the restaurant was such a highlight. We have a fantastic team of chefs and food and beverage staff who have really put their mark on The Steakhouse this season.

We hope we will see you for a third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We had previously stayed in a Bungalow at the station and this time used their camping grounds (approx $40 per site). We booked in for two nights but stayed four in the end because there was so much to do and we enjoyed it all so much. The facilities are great (although sites are not powered) and it was great to have snack and various food options there if you wanted them. There was a BBQ on one night which allowed us (a couple and 8 year old) to meet other people and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the various 4WD tracks, loved Zebedee Springs and Moonshine gorge and swam in the river behind the restaurant every day. Really enjoyed horse riding too. Go and relish it all!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro The Station, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear UrsulaK

How fantastic that this was your second visit to El Questro Station. I am glad that you enjoyed the camping and attractions so much that you extended your time here. There is that much to do, that you really need 4 days to do it justice. That is one of the reasons why we have introduced our long stay rates which offer a reduction when you stay 4 or more nights. Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor and we hope that you come see us for a third visit.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I was on a family camping trip & really was surprised at how much there is to do here.
I admit when you are first hit with park fees & then camping prices it may put you off but there is so much to do, you can understand where the $$ goes with lots of tracks to maintain, signs, the free trail fact sheets on each gorge etc. You really need a high clearance 4x4 & the ability to drive it to make the most out of El Questro. The 3 panoramic look outs are just awesome. Then there are many gorges & Zebedee Thermal Springs to soak in.

Camping area had no power - no issue for me. Grass was green & well looked after.
Toilets / showers where clean & can be busy at times (hot water may cut in & out)

There is also private riverside camp sites for those who prefer total silence, but have no amenities perfect for a group of travelers or a large family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro The Station, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Matthew2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on El Questro Station with the online readers. We really appreciate the view point of our guests and are happy to see when guests have found all of the highlights of the park. It sounds like you had an amazing time, and you do well for us, explaining where our Wilderness Park fees go, as it certainly appears that you visited the majority of attractions. We have had the hot water systems all revamped, so the problems that you experienced are no longer happening.

It sounds like a great holiday and hopefully you will get the chance to repeat the experience.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay on a tent site. A fabulous experience for just a little bit more money than an average camping ground. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. They had only opened 1 week earlier but other than being short on a few beer brands all was fine. The swimming hole near the restaurant is a must do.The commentary during the gorge boat tour was excellent and informative. The green staff uniforms are smart and relaxed, sorry to see them changed on the day we left to a 6 star white Sheraton styled dress code.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jvhensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro The Station, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear jvhensen

It is fantastic to read such a good review of The Station after it had only been open for a couple of days. It is the best time of year to visit, when the waterfalls are flowing harder and the land is greener. We are glad that it was an enjoyable experience and thank you for sharing it with others. The uniform change was a long time coming, although white shirts, it is in a true Station style, with khaki coloured shorts and created by an Australian station outfitter, RB Sellars. We hope the rest of your travels in the Kimberley were also memorable.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
410 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We arranged for a driver to take us into El Questro. Rather than staying at the all inclusive Homestead, we chose a cabin at The Station. The cabin was charming and had a view of the river. Each day, we arranged for a driver to take us to a trailhead and pick us up again at the appropriate time. The hikes into the various canyons are amazing and while the trails are rocky, we would go again in a heartbeat.

The only issue I have is drinking water. We were led to believe that the tap water was not drinkable. If that was so, we should have been offered complimentary bottled water.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a river side bungalow. It was very well maintained and comfortable. The staff were very kind and helpful. We ate all our meals at the restaurant and were surprised to find that the food is what we would rate up there with any top restaurant in a Capitol city, and these guys are in the bush!!! They did have occasion to not have certain parts of the menu available but hey,,,look at where they are. The roads and walking trails were all well maintained and well sign posted. We honestly could not fault the whole experience. It seems that a lot of acknowledgment from any past negative reviews has been acted on. Forget about cost, take the experience !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.8 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.2 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
49.1 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#4 of 17 in Kununurra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Questro The Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Questro The Station

Property: El Questro The Station
Address: 75 Coolibah Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Questro The Station 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your El Questro The Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing