We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
130
84
28
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
84
28
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszebedee springsexplosion gorgeel questrosteakhouse restaurantthe riveremma gorgeprivate campriver view bungalowfull day tourhorse ridinghot springsswimming holelook outsself drivelive musicpermanent tentscamping area
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed as group of 7, on a private campsite,June 2013. The campsite was as expected being in the bush and by the river, lovely setting.. The down side was no toilet facilities available on the site, as a result previous campers had used the edge of the cleared site as a toilet facility, leaving human waste along with used toilet tissue. The closest long drops were a drive away and we were unable to walk through from site to site as there was no walkway through the bush cleared. In the main camp area the facilities were in need of an upgrade, could have also been cleaner. As noted by a previous reviewer, the water pressure was bad, water often luke warm and the washing machines took over 1 hour! This had nothing to do with being in the outback as other stations we stayed at along the Gibb had great facilities (charnley station, excellent!). For the price charged El Questro should provide newer facilities, as this is now the expectation by today's traveller. The George's outside of El Questro are better and free, as no $20 PP wilderness pass charge. On the
plus side the barbie night was great, good Musician, and entertainment. Time to pick up the game a El Questro.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, Manager at El Questro The Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear landi13,

I understand your lack of praise for some of the facilities at El Questro’s camping areas. We are looking to refurbish, expand and generally improve our camping facilities and hope that this is accomplished soon. The hot water and water pressure have been fixed since you visited and is running well now for all of the showers.

The Private Campsites are in fact bush camping which is part of the experience and what makes them special. We do offer a few eco toilets amongst the sites, but by and large it is meant to be a bush experience. I am however truly sorry that the campers before you do not do the right thing with their waste. Whilst we clean every site after guests check out, sometimes items past the boundary are not always discovered.

El Questro is an amazing place and we welcome the feedback to continuously improve. We hope that you would have occasion to test our facilities again in the future.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having stayed there before, we decided to get a private camp spot, for which you do pay extra. But it was well worth it. We were at least 5 km from The Station, and 500 m from our nearest neighbour. We had a huge area which was shaded all day and we had the river running right beside us. Just glorious. It was a bit of a hike to to eco loo, but thats what bush camping is all about.
Would do it again. We did the Explosion Gorge / Brancos Lookout tour which was excellent. We also walked Emma Gorge, so beautiful, Zeberdee Springs and Amalia Gorge. 3 days is no where near enough time to spend at El Questro. Next time we will stay a week.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clareville251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine M, Marketing Manager, Parks & Resorts Australia at El Questro The Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Clareville251,

We just wanted to thank you for the most favourable review of El Questro Station’s camping area. The private campsites are definitely a unique experience, we are pleased that you were able to enjoy them. We hope you have the chance to return for a visit once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We camped for 5 nights in a private campsite and we absolutely loved it. Peaceful at night and a very short drive to the main area which had live music and a bar/restaurant if we couldn't be bothered cooking. All staff including tour guides, helicopter pilot, waitstaff and reception were exceptionally friendly and warm. Emma and El Questro Gorges were magnificent, warm springs were lush and exotic, heli-fishing and Miri Miri were well worth the money and we enjoyed the horseriding so much that we booked another ride in. Already planning the next trip up there!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lola_06Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine M, Marketing Manager, parks & Resorts Australia at El Questro The Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Clareville251,

We just wanted to thank you for the most favourable review of El Questro Station’s camping area. The private campsites are definitely a unique experience, we are pleased that you were able to enjoy them. We hope you have the chance to return for a visit once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed in the camping area for three nights last week at the beginning of our GRR trip. We were content but also pretty disappointed in the standard of some facilities especially due to the "premium branding" of El Questro. We had reasonably high expectations given the prices you pay. We paid the mandatory $40 park entrance fee for the two of us, and the campground fee for our unpowered site which was the average you'd expect to pay. Yes it has a restaurant, a bar, a tour desk and grassed shady camping sites, but on the negative side, the general ablution block was tired and dirty. Over the period of the three days we were there, the same broken golf tee sat on the floor of one of the toilet cubicles - was it ever cleaned in that period? The water pressure was almost non existent if showering in peak periods (i realise this is the outback but surely theres a remedy) Also the smaller self contained cubicles were a disgrace - partly due to people using them and not mopping them out after use, but they like the other block were tired and grubby in the main. The other major issue was that there were so many people packed into the area (3 huge tour buses of 20+ people each in addition to the many campers and all the day visitors) - there is no way the ablution facilities can cater let alone cope! Would we stay there again - unlikely, instead we would be more likely to drive through the next 50k of rough road (approximately one hours drive) to Home Valley Station.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nicoletta182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine M, Marketing Manager, Parks & Resorts Australia at El Questro The Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Nicoletta 182,
I do understand where the comments in your review stem from as we do have facilities that are a bit “vintage”, going back to when the park first started in 1992. They are still efficient but it is the overwhelming popularity of El Questro’s camp ground that puts so much pressure on our ablution blocks, making them appear unclean. I can assure you that we have staff attend to them at a minimum of 4 times per day. Whilst you were visiting or soon after, the hot water and the water pressure have received a major revamp and all showers are now running beautifully.

We endeavor to extend the refurbishment of the ablutions even further in the near future to meet the expectations of our valued camping guests. We hope that you have occasion to re-visit El Questro in the future and enjoy new facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

In May, we stayed 3 nights in a river view bungalow. It had a nice outlook over the river. We really enjoyed our time at the Station. We also stayed 3 nights at Emma Gorge Resort. We preferred The Station as it was more convenient for the tours, closer to all the walks and the bungalows offered more home comforts.

The bungalow was well equipped - small fridge, kettle, tea/coffee, hair dryer, air conditioning - everything you'd need. It was clean and comfortable and well serviced each day. No TV but that was a good thing - it was really nice to be cut off from the outside world for a while.

We really enjoyed our meals in the restaurant - we had breakfast and dinner there each day. The food was delicious - considering how isolated the property is, it is impressive that the food being served up is that good. The portions were generous and well presented. After an active day walking, it was great to rock up to the restaurant and have a hearty meal (that someone else had cooked!). The service in the restaurant was also very good. One night an outside BBQ option was also offered which we enjoyed - it was good to mix it up.

The restaurant is BYO. You can buy drinks at the Station bar or bring in your own alcohol. If we'd known that, we would have bought wine in Kununurra before we arrived.

The breakfasts were yummy too but after discovering we had a fridge in the bungalow, we wished we'd brought cereal and milk as it would have been more cost effective ($12 for 2 pieces of toast and a serve of Weetbix in the restaurant is rather steep but I guess that is how they make their money). Having said that, the cooked breakfasts were good!

We found the staff to be very friendly and enthusiastic. We only did one organised tour (Explosion Gorge) which we enjoyed - Logan was an excellent guide (very friendly and knowledgeable).

I wasn't sure what to expect when we booked El Questro. I'm not usually into organised tours but El Questro offered the perfect mix. We were able to be independent (drive to the walks and do them ourselves) but join tours if we wanted the guided, group experience. We had 5 full days at El Questro and we found this to be the perfect amount of time. There is a lot to see and do. We loved doing all the walks - the gorges are spectacular - and the walks are well marked (and maps are provided) so you know you are heading in the right direction! It was also nice to have some home comforts and enjoy meals in the restaurant each night.

A fantastic, scenic holiday - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbuddy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementine M, Marketing Manager, Parks & Resorts Australia at El Questro The Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Travelbuddy 010,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a pleasant and thorough review of your time at El Questro Station. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to provide all the ingredients for a memorable holiday. We do take a lot of pride in our food and beverage offerings and strive to make it superior to the standard remote experience.

We hope you make your way to this part of Australia once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews