We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the Gibb River Road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Questro The Station
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise on the Gibb River Road”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had heard from other people that El questro was over priced and over rated. We are glad we did not listen to them.
Fantastic Camping ground - Shady and lush green grass
Great Showers and toilets
Fantastic BBQ and live music on the Tuesday night we stayeD
Amazing Gorges and Boat cruise
Heard that the Gibb River road and road to El Questro was rough. It was in sections but overall was pretty good if you let your tires down and most of all slow down and drive to the conditions.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brent g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    73
    21
    17
    8
See reviews for
69
105
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We flew into El Questro and spent three full days at the Station in a most acceptable cabin with ensuite, tea making facilities air con and fly-screens, overlooking the bush and a small fast running creek. Every day we booked an extra tour and they were all very well run with charming staff and good food. I would recommend the helicopter ride to Miri Miri, with a swim and a champagne lunch. Certainly a soak in Zebedee hot springs is a must, along with a trip down Chamberlin gorge as well as a sunset trip and a flight over the Bungle Bungles. All expensive but what do you expect in the middle of the Never Never Country especially when you are well fed and looked after in a friendly efficient manner by every member of staff. In the evenings we would have a drink at the open air bar or take it back to our cabin and watch the little bats and listen to the night birds as dusk fell. Then on to the restaurant for a most acceptable meal by the riverside to complete each fabulous day. I would suggest that all trips are taken where possible in the morning so that you can rest in the air-conditioning through the heat of the day and be refreshed for the evening. Enjoy a very Australian few days.

Room Tip: If you are taking a cabin, then ask for 'Lizard' it is at the end of the riverside row and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ausiedownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What can i say but "fantastic experience across all areas". We ventured north to satisfy a bucket list item for my 91yo father and were not disappointed, all of the staff are brilliant and did not hesitate to engage conversation with any of us - despite dads hearing impairment, they just spoiled him rotten. The homestead is truly magnificent, with Meegan leading her staff by example - they are a very friendly but professional bunch of guys and girls. Special thanks to Lori and Alan for the "package", Lori for just making it happen and Alan - the food! The station staff all met the same criteria without fuss, thanks to Kaitlan and her team for the "back & forths".
It was an experience that will stay in our thoughts forever, and to see the constant smile on Dad's face was simply - brilliant. If anyone says you are too old to go 4WD or in the chopper, you are if you dont try! Dad did it all with a little help from everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zdardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I live in the NT and have often gone to ELQ for holidays. We recently spent a few nights at ELQ and everything was fantastic like always. Although they had just opened for the season the staff were amazing and their excitement about working at ELQ was infectious. The walks, waterholes and scenery was magical. When asked by friends what our favourite part of our Kimberley trip was both myself anf my friend said - relaxing at camp at ELQ looking over the Pentacost River:)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed in the bungalow rooms for 5 nights, the rooms were beautiful. The back balcony overlooked a creek, it was lovely sitting at the back in the evening hearing the water bubbling away. Such a special place to stay, Kimberley locals should feel so lucky they have relatively easy access to El Q.
El Q was our last destination after doing the Gibb River for 12 days so this was definitely a lovely place to relax. Food from the restaurant was delicious, so fresh & tasty. Beer from the bar was always cold. Staff are very friendly especially the 2 ladies from restaurant. Had live music on Sunday might by local musician Chris Matthews. ElQ staff were having a great time having dancing offs hahaha was a brilliant night (they were rostered off). We did the 30 minute helicopter right at $300 p/person which was amazing, the pilot (Glenn) was so friendly & informative. You could really tell he loved his job which showed during the flight. We took our 4WD to the many look outs so that was great to get out on our own.
Overall, its a beautiful place to stay, it is on the pricey side so it may not be for everyone but if you can give it a go once you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: No phone reception so buy phone cards from the bar Fruitbat bungalow overlooks the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daylight89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyndham, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We love visiting ELQ, usually several times a year. We stayed in a private bush camp and they are awesome! Was a bit hot at night so on the 3rd one we switched to a room for the aircon, was lovely after 2 nights of sweat!! It was a bit late for camping mid October but was fun.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Had a couple of dinners and a lunch at the steakhouse, nice.
The only complaint is the pies and sausage rolls at the station store, they look nice but are terrible. Even the kids hated the sausage rolls with sauce and they will normally eat anything with tomato sauce!! I tried them and not very good. All very bland unfortunately. Once I tasted it I remembered that I had one earlier in the year and said I would never have another, unfortunately I forgot!!!!! Oh well.
Thanks for another great stay!! Moonshine was brilliant!!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Timmsy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro The Station, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Tim,

Thank you for your ongoing support of both The Station and Emma Gorge. We really appreciate you sharing your views on the great experiences to be had in the East Kimberley. Having stayed in several styles of El Questro’s accommodation, you are an asset to our marketing team!!! Whilst it may be a little bit warmer in October, you certainly would have benefitted from having less people to share the park and attractions with. I take on board your comments about the sausage rolls, we will certainly investigate our supplier options.

We look forward to next season and another year of welcoming the people of Wyndham.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

After our first visit to ElQ several years ago, we knew we had to return. Our second visit did not disappoint. There is so much to do on this property and the natural beauty is awesome. It is a photographer's paradise. Can't speak highly enough about the raw, unspoilt beauty of this place. We had our own 4WD, so could travel around the property as we pleased, but guided tours are also on offer for those who don't have a 4WD or don't wish to drive themselves. We stayed in the air-conditioned bungalows, which were very clean and comfortable, and included a back deck overlooking a tributary of the river. There are several standards of accommodation, including private campsites, so all tastes are catered for. It is obvious that the staff care for the land and the wildlife. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberley77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro The Station, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Kimberley77,
Thank you so much for posting such a favourable review of The Station Bungalows, you have captured the essence of the property in a few words. It is wonderful to see that this was a return visit to El Questro. It is certainly the type of place that needs more than 1 visit given how much there is to do here. I guess that is why some of the staff have been her for more than 10 years!!!
We hope to see you again for another holiday.
Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.8 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.2 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.7 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.5 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#6 of 17 in Kununurra
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emma Gorge Resort
Emma Gorge Resort
#3 of 10 in Kununurra
174 reviews
60.6 mi away
Home Valley Station
Home Valley Station
#1 of 17 in Kununurra
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Questro The Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Questro The Station

Property: El Questro The Station
Address: 75 Coolibah Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Questro The Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your El Questro The Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing