We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kununurra Country Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We visited Kununurra as part of our Outback Spirit Kimberley tour. We spent one night at the Country Club Resort. We also had dinner and breakfast there.
The surrounds were delightful tropical gardens.
The room was spacious and spotless, and looked to be new. It was within easy walking distance of the pool, dining room and bar, and Reception.
Being part of a group, we dined smorsgsbord from an interesting selection of well-prepared highly varied dishes. I was surprised by the variety and quality of foods available.
It is also within east walking distance from the CBD, even though we did not have time to check this out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tonbou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, Manager at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

It is great to get feedback from a guest with a group tour and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. Hopefully when you visit again you will have time to explore our town a little more - there are fabulous galleries, markets and stores which surprise many visitors!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night, room was a good size, air con worked fine & bathroom was clean.

Ordered a 3 course meal......
Entree - Wasabi Prawns: big prawns but found the wasabi was overpowering the prawns $18.
Main - Twice Cooked Pork Belly: for $38 I would have liked to have had some meat on the pork belly...my meal was just the fat that definitely didn't taste like it was twice cooked.
Dessert - Hazelnut Creme Brûlée: not a traditional Creme brûlée but more like a pudding or mousse. The top was mushy & had a pudding/mousse consistency $12.

Overall the staff were friendly & the room was clean. Good location. Although I wouldn't eat from the restaurant again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Daylight89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, Manager at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Your room service order comprised three of our most popular menu items which were also very popular on the night of your stay. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal, particularly as these are popular items which receive great feedback from locals and visitors. It is unfortunate that you did not advise staff of your dissatisfaction while you were still in-house, so they could address your concerns directly. We always appreciate the opportunity to personally discuss and resolve guest's concerns with any aspect of their stay and trust that if you choose to stay with us again you consider speaking directly with staff if the need arises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Advantages: very little noise from neighbouring rooms - not even when they had their airconditioners running - or from the bar and restaurant. Surrounded by pleasant gardens filled with palm trees. Centrally located but in spacious grounds. Clean rooms and comfortable, firm mattresses. Helpful staff. The food in the restaurant is about as good as it gets it Kununurra.

Disadvantages. The price difference between booking online (eg through Wotif) and booking directly with the hotel was about $80 per night more expensive if you booked directly with the hotel. Check online for deals that gives you late checkout, free airport transfer etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank QuietlyRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, Manager at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. On occasion we do have exclusively online specials available - sometimes we are able to offer them to guests booking directly. It never hurts to ask us if we can match an online price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is not the best looking but the food and wine list make it up for. The menu is well presented and you found something for everyone. As the food arrived, we looked forward to try it, because the presentation was very well and so the taste. It looked good and tasted great. Very enjoyed the night out

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Stevengree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, Manager at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal - thank you for letting us know! We are looking forward to refreshing the appearance of the restaurant - it is part of a whole of property review by the new owners and managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Location: Nice and central in Kununurra, so very useful as a base for exploring the area.

Accommodation: My room was quite nice, if a bit gloomy. The bathroom looked a bit old, but was clean and well maintained.

Reception: Excellent - the staff were friendly, helpful, and well informed.

Catering: I liked the breakfast buffet, but my only experience of dinner at the restaurant was very disappointing. While the food was OK, different members of staff told me different things about what was and was not possible. Worse, I was completely ignored after I had got my main course, which meant that any idea of dessert or coffee was a non-starter. I appreciate that the staff had other customers to serve, but such an attitude is just not good enough. It ensured that I dined elsewhere the other nights of my stay.

Amenities: There is a good laundry and I liked the pool area. The airport shuttle is also handy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Commodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, Manager at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We appreciate your feedback on your stay - both positives and negatives. The Country Club is on old property and despite the efforts of housekeeping to keep it clean and well presented, some areas are requiring refurbishment. The property changed hands in January, so refurbishment planning is underway. It's great to hear that you found our Reception team helpful and well informed - we hope they helped to improve your discovery of our extraordinary part of the world.
I am very disappointed to hear of your experience in the restaurant for dinner - it is not the standard of service we expect our staff to maintain so it will be followed up. It is such a shame you did not get the chance to enjoy our dessert menu and finish your evening on a positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed one night, room was clean and spacious. all amenities worked well. Swimming pool area is beautiful. Service was fantastic. Ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and was very impressed by the quality of food and the price. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Club room was the room I had, didnt see any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, Manager at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you - we look forward to welcoming you back to the Country Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for the 5th time, as my work often brings me to Kununurra and the employer uses this hotel/motel (to call it a resort is exagerration). This time i brought my wife. The rooms are simple, no microwave or any luxury, but OK. The airco works good. The restaurant had a good choice for vegetarians as well.
Breakfast buffet for 28 $ is scandalously overpriced and much better consumed in walking distance in town. The biggest joke is the wireless internet, or so it is called. All 5 times I stayed at the club over the last 20 months I was handed a little card with a passcode with useless internet. The connection drops all the tome and if you are really lucky and get some emailsin, then it is too slow to browse. It would be fairer to say that there is no internet available.
For well over 200$ vastly overpriced.

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona K, Manager at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. With the recent change of ownership, Management have been tasked with addressing a number of the issues you have raised. Unfortunately some of them are going to take some time to resolve to an appropriate standard. The WiFi is a priority and although we have been receiving excellent feedback on the improvement in April and May, the system has started experiencing intermittent outages again and we are working hard to resolve them or find an alternative system. Great to hear you appreciated the vegetarian options on the menu - this is something our Chefs are working hard to maintain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.6 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.6 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#3 of 10 in Kununurra
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kununurra Country Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kununurra Country Club Resort

Address: 47 Coolibah Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range: £85 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kununurra Country Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kununurra Country Club Resort is the ideal sanctuary from which to explore the extraordinary East Kimberley region. The 4-Star Resort features modern rooms set in lush tropical gardens - a great retreat after a long day exploring. A range of onsite facilities includes swimming pool, bar and restaurant. Conference and meeting facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kununurra Country Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing