We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get better than this”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Questro Homestead
Certificate of Excellence
newyork
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is simply a wonderful place - well worth the time and effort it takes to get there. But since it's far from anything else, on a 1-million acre cattle station and preserve in The Kimberley, plan to stay for at least 4 nights. There are many beautiful hikes and a number of excursions on offer to keep you amused. The scenery is spectacular. El Questro Homestead has only 9 accommodations, and you will have breakfast, lunch and dinner at a long table on the veranda with the other guests. We met some delightful people there, and compatibility was facilitated by the Homestead's well-stocked open bar and wine cellar. Cuisine is delicious, and you will always be offered healthy choices. The staff are the best we have encountered anywhere - friendly, helpful, and highly professional. If you don't want to pay to have your laundry done for you, Housekeeping are very accommodating in letting you use the lodge's washer and dryer at the end of the day. To get to El Questro Homestead, you need to fly to Kununurra from either Broome or Darwin (Air North flies there & has a codeshare arrangement with Qantas). A ranger from the lodge will meet you at the airport and drive you to the lodge - drive takes about 1-1/2 hours, and you will learn a lot from the ranger en route. Alternatively you could rent a car at the Kununurra airport and drive yourself, but you will need a high 4WD to ford a couple of streams along the route.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and have a terrace with view over the river. Chamberlain Suite is capacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bornin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear bonrin42,

Thank you for taking the time to post a most favourable review of El Questro Homestead. I am so glad that you found the Homestead facilities and staff to be of such a high standard. We are renownd for our friendly and efficient service, but it is always pleasing ot see that it is delivered consitently. We hope that you will travel to Australia again and make the Kimberley part of your itinerary.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack, General Manager, El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at El Questro Homestead early July for 5 nights. My only complaint is that I wish I had stayed longer. I travel frequently, and can happily say that this holiday was faultless. Great views, great staff, great service. The food, drinks and guided trips were also 5 star. Everything was run so efficiently and nothing was too much trouble. It is definitely worth a return trip. We stayed in the Chamberlain Gorge room and also spent a night in the new Clifftop Retreat. Loved every minute from being met by Emma when we arrived with cool towels and drinks to the time we left and said a sad farewell. Everything ran like clockwork but at the same time was very relaxing, welcoming and homely. Ho wallet, room keys or mobile phone for the whole trip. Luxury! Treat yourself to a great holiday.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the place. The gorge rooms and hte new cliffside retreats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Kim R,

We are so pleased to hear about your wonderfull stay at El Questro Homestead. Tahnk you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We know it is a very special place with wonderful staff, but it is great to hear the feedback from our guests.

We hope that you have occasion to visit again and enjoy some of the attractions you may not have had time to explore.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack, General Manager, El Questro Wildenress Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We spent five luxurious nights at the Homestead in celebration of a special anniversary. The Homestead was gorgeous. We stayed in one of the new cliff side retreats which were beautifully appointed, but had a few teething problems. The bathroom, though private, was essentially exposed to the elements. With the cooler, windy weather during our stay bathroom use was a little challenging. We understand these issues will be addressed. Our stay was greatly enhanced thanks to the efforts of staff who were, without exception, friendly, accessible, professional and polished. A different ranger accompanied us on each of our excursions, ensuring we were exposed to our beautiful surroundings with the differing perspectives and knowledge bases of the unfailingly enthusiastic guides. We particularly enjoyed Zebedee Thermal Springs and the Lost City Cave Tour. Our trip to Amaroo Falls was somewhat less successful despite the superlative efforts of the excellent Micko, as the weather was unexpectedly cold and windy, and the beautiful pools less than inviting on that particular day. We enjoyed beautiful cuisine and convivial company. Thanks to all for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear cmlcal,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on El Questro Homestead. We are very pelased that you found the whole experince to be a memorable one. You are correct in saying that we will be attending to the issue with the new rooms where the wind has been making them colder than needed, I am sorry if it causedm uch discomfort, the winter does come as a surprise to many Kimberley visitors.

We hope that we have opportunity to see you again at El Questro.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack, General Manager, El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just returned from our second visit to the Homestead & what a magical place it is. Amazing location, fabulous staff & park rangers. Ok its not cheap, but everything is included, fabulous food, cocktails & all drinks, plus most of the excursions are included (except helicopter flights). If you are looking for a few days/nights of pure luxury & relaxation, you really cant go get much better than the Homestead at El Questro.

Room Tip: The views from the new cliff side retreats are out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear AussieDave Perth

It is heart warming to hear that your second visit was equally as fine as the first. We are always glad to welcome back our return guests and enjoyed your company again on this last visit.

We hope that your experience will warrant a third visit!!

Thank you for sharing this wonderfull feedback with others.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack, General Manager, El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights in one of the new and gorgeous "Clifftop Retreats" for a special treat for a wedding anniversary. Special is just the right word! From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Emma we were made to feel special. All the team at the Homestead are lovely and Jo and Ash were especially wonderful and helped make our stay an experience of a lifetime. On our anniversary day, after spending a few hours at Amaroo Falls all alone with a beautiful picnic complete with champagne our helicopter pilot and guide picked us up for the return flight and circled the Homestead and landed at the "doorstep". Wow! And Ash came running out to meet us with cool towels and cocktails waiting at the bar. Just amazing. Thank you guys.

Room Tip: The Cliff Retreats (with outside bath - and shower - under the incredible Kimberley sky) are just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly003_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Molly003_12

Thank you for posting your experience at El Questro Homestead. The staff you have mentioned are always spot on and glad that they contributed to your overall impression. We are plaesed that your anniversary was such a memorable one. We will look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack, General manager El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at the El Questro Homestead in June for three nights. The experience was amazing from the time you enter the property (we flew in by helicopter which I highly recommend) to the time you leave. The staff was very friendly and catered to your every wish, even allowing us to do a little laundry when we needed. Emma and Ash arranged all our outings for us and were excellent hosts during cocktails. The rangers that accompanied us to and from or on these outings were all very friendly, informative, and just downright enjoyable to chat with. The food was also outstanding and the setting for meals couldn't have been nicer and Joanna remembered all our preferences by our second day. We stayed in one of the bungalows overlooking the gorge and the room was very private and well appointed. The back veranda was a lovely place to sit in the early mornings and evenings to catch the changes in the colors over the gorge as the sun rose and set. Our only problem with the room was the temperamental plumbing (mysterious things happened in the sink when the second person was in the shower) but other than that it was perfect. When you go, don't miss Zebedee Springs. Everyone told us how wonderful it was and really built it up and they were absolutely right. It truly is a special place. We also went horseback riding which was a highlight. Since we've left I've been thinking, "When can we get back here?" Go.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angusmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Mr. Murphy,

Thank you so much for the very favourable review you have posted about your stay at El Questro Homestead. We are always very pleased to see that we lived up to the expectations of our guests. The staff you have highlighted are indeed exceptional at what they do.

You were very lucky to be one of the first to stay in our new Cliff Side Retreats. Unfortunately due to the newness, the plumbing did have a few teething problems ( a crushed pipe was found) and the situation has been rectified.

If you are already dreaming of your return visit, I am hopeful that we will see you in the future.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
GM El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

With it's stunning location, perched above the Chamberlain Gorge, El Questro homestead must rate among Australia's premier destinations. The breath-taking view is supported by the Lori and Alan team. Lori brings new meaning to the word "service", attending to each and every need of her guests and usually surpassing their expectations - she has the ability to remember what her guests like and is quick to offer without having to be asked. Alan is a superb chef, and every meal is a culinary delight - which is a wonderful experience in a remote location. And after dinner, throwing bread off the cliff to the waiting fish/turtles/freshwater crocs below is a lot of fun before retiring to the bar. The rooms are all excellent, particularly the ones canter-levered over the gorge. And the trip options are extraordinary - whether it's a trip to Zebedee Springs, the day trip around the Cockburn Ranges via Wyndham, heli-fishing for barramundi at Nulla Nulla, heli-swimming at the remote Miri Miri falls, horse riding or visiting the magnificent gorges in the near vicinity.

All in all, a truly special and unique experience !

Room Tip: The canter-levered rooms over the gorge are worth paying the extra if they're available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at El Questro Homestead, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Jeff R,

We are delighted to read your review of El Questro Homestead. It is obvious that our mission to provide each guest with an unforgettable, unique holiday experience was achieved. Thank you for providing such complimentary feedback, it really does provide encouragement for the Homestead team.

You may like to take note that we have just launched our 3 new Cliff Side Retreats. We hope that they will be an incentive for you to visit us once again.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
GM El Questro Wilderness Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
48.6 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
48.7 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
49.0 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.9 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
49.0 mi away
Emma Gorge Resort
Emma Gorge Resort
#2 of 10 in Kununurra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
28.2 mi away
Home Valley Station
Home Valley Station
#3 of 17 in Kununurra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Questro Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Questro Homestead

Property: El Questro Homestead
Address: Gibb River Rd | El Questro Wilderness Park, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Questro Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Questro Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Questro Homestead Hotel Kununurra
El Questro Homestead Kununurra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing