We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too big and impersonal”
Review of Emma Gorge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emma Gorge Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Caters primarily for bus tour groups. Groups are marshalled to their meal times and told where to sit. My biggest complaint is that I clearly stated on booking, that I am vegetarian (no meat, fish, poultry) and was given a plate of steak and fish for lunch. On commenting to the waiter, I was told 'that's all there is'. Just the offer of a piece of bread would have done!
The safari tent itself was OK, but mattresses were soft and pillows uncomfortable.
On the plus side, there is some great walking and birdwatching.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dear Penny S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Emma Gorge on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the resort and found it to be too big and impersonal. While it does have a large proportion of guests arriving on coach tours, it also sees a lot of independent travellers and families. The staff are normally very accommodating all types of travller, so again my apologies that they seemed to miss the mark when serving your meals during your visit.

We look forward to making some improvements to the cabins over the coming wet season and hope you will have opportunity to experience Emma Gorge in a new light.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
General Manager, El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had an OKish experience in Broome so we were really hoping staying at Emma Gorge would get us closer to the 'real Australia'. I must say after the confusion of arrival [they need more signs to reassure possibly lost tourists on the dirt roads] and looked inside the tired tents our hearts sunk a little. But on awaking to a gentle forest breeze, to the sound of amazing bird chorus things were on the up. Over the course of the next four days we had a truly unforgettable experience. From soaking in the springs to walking through the midday heat to Champagne Springs and having the most deserved swim in history, our families truly found what we were looking for. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank DC1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dear DC1Sydney,

Thank you for letting us know what a wonderful time you had at El Questro's Emma Gorge. It is good to get the reviews from our guests and we love to hear such positive feedback. We are looking forward to uplifting some of the tented cabins over the coming closure period and hope that all who visit int he future will find the experience to be an even better one.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
General Manager, El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had three nights in this hidden treasure, the cabins are basic but comfortable and the restaurant is great, the food fresh and tasty. The staff are so helpful and great for a chat. The prices on everything is inflated, but you are in the middle of nowhere. We did not partake in any tours or activities on offer as we were travelling by helicopter, allowing us to explore the wildness park from a different perspective. El Questro Wilderness Park absolutely blew my mind; I have never seen anything like it and would highly recommend a visit, even more so if you are an Australian. This place gives you a view that we only hear or read about, it is untouched and natural, a very special part of the East Kimberly.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank L_E_W_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dear L_E_W 111

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Emma Gorge experience. It is a truly amazing part of the worls, and one of the finest sopts inthe kimberley. It may seem that the prices are on the high side, but as you say, it is in teh middle of no where and everything comes to us from a minimum of 4,000 km away. We love to hear good feedback about the staff and appreciate you telling us your thoughts. Hopefully you can enjoy a stay here again in the future.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
General Manager, El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

A great location and well worth visiting but poor value for money in our view. The accommodation was expensive but the tents - as other reviewers have commented - did not match up. No fridge, no reading lights and no where to hang clothes or put cases. Compared to other safari tent accommodation we stayed in this was distinctly second rate. The biggest disappointment was the restaurant; service was friendly but chaotic; they'd run out of lots of the menu items and kept saying they were waiting on the truck to come; the food distinctly second rate; breakfast was a fight to get to the rolls and croissants before they ran out. The restaurant at the main El Questro station was infinitely better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiselleEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear GiselleEdin,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide feedback about your stay at Emma Gorge resort. I am very sorry that you experience was not up to standard at what is indeed a great location. There are definitely some issues you have raised that I am able to address immediately with the staff. As such, I would expect that the shortages on the buffet at breakfast, the quality of the food and the service standard will be addressed and improve straight away. We do pride ourselves on delivering quality food and the inconsistencies you encountered are really not our normal operating standard.

The amenities in the cabins are due to be improved, we will look at your other suggestions during the process and I hope that we can also address these concerns with our future plans.

If you have occasion to visit the area again in the future, I would be pleased to see you at El Questro once again and personally ensure that you have a special stay.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
General Manager, El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We are from perth so wonderful to see the beauty of our state.Spent 2 nights in the wonderful tent .Got to resort mid afternoon after driving from kununurra to wyndham(croc farm a hoot).Was lovely to relax around pool.Delicious buffet meal then sleep and awoken by beautiful bird chorus.Walk to emma gorge great fun and had a lovely long swim and got back to resort for lunch.and a repeat of the day before (swim/read/relax /eat).
The tents were roomy for a family of 4 with great bathroom,food and staff also faultless.
We got a great deal -accommodation and breakfast for 4 for $249/night.
then the next day we drove to the station for 3 nights in a bungalow which were also stunning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Jenmax,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of El Questro's Emma Gorge Resort. It is most appreciated that you have shared your good experience with the Trip Advisor readers. We certainly agree that Emma Gorge offers a wonderful family holiday destination, but it is always good to get that affirmation from our guests. I am pleased that the staff provided such faultless service, they are a real asset to the guest experience, much like the birds (who come back year after year, even without a work contract!!!)

We hope that you will have the opportunity to come up from Perth again and further explore El Questro and the East Kimberley. We would look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack, El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

A huge disappointment. The safari tents were okay, but lacked reading lights for the beds, there was no fridge, no jug and no toaster. If you stay there you are completely dependent on the resort for meals - and frankly the evening menu was very limited. We were lucky that the night we ate dinner there, there were 2 groups staying and a buffet was on offer. There was complimentary tea and coffee available at the main reception area, but our tent was at the farthest point from that and we had to park our 4-WD vehicle near reception as there was no car space at our tent.
The gorge itself was interesting, but the track is difficult in places. The highlight of our two nights there was leaving at 6.30am to reach Zebedee Springs on the road to The Station before 7.00 am. We were there when the ranger arrived to open the gate and had the hot springs to ourselves for an hour. Bliss!

Room Tip: Make sure you can park at your tent and that your vehicle is equipped with a camper stove and fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear Toni V,

Thank you for taking the time to review El Questro's Emma Gorge Resort. I would like to apologise to you as I can read that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

We do work very hard to ensure that provide guests with a memorable holiday experience, through your feedback I can assess where we need to improve and plan where we need to invest our attention.

The cabins at the resort are meant o be a wilderness experience, thus they were designed with limited electrical infrastructure. Whilst a good idea at the time 20 years ago, guests expectations have outgrown this design and we do recognise that having a fridge and tea and coffee in the room is a standard need. We are working to a solution for this however it is a long road as we would be required to refit all exisiting electrical infrastructure to make it happen. We are looking at a quicker solution and hope to have a form of communal tea and coffee facilities for each cabin group in hte near future.

On the other hand we have been able to change immediately the restaurant menu and are providing a broader range of choices. Thank you for pointing out that it was not sufficient enough for your liking.

We hope that the Kimberley has captivated you as it does so may visitors and that you take the time to explore it further if you have the opportunity.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
GM El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

.We went to El Questro and went for a walk at Emma Gorge a few weeks ago and we were made to feel so welcome. Not only was the scenery wonderful but a lovely blond lady with glasses bobbing around in what looked like an oversized green lawnmower stopped and spoke to us. We were after water and she took us to the Boab tree so we could fill our bottles up with Boab water. She told us how lucky we were to have had the rare experience of drinking Boab water as El Questro was the only place that had this water from the tree. I still think it was a yarn but not sure. We asked about the cane toad box and she went back with us and gave a mini lecture and what El Questro was doing to try and stop these horrid creatures. We were not guests and she had a pile of bedding in the back of this mower yet she took the time to speak to us. We went up the Gorge and it was magnicifent. We are a fit couple so it was an easy walk for us. The middle pool was so blue and its an experience that I will never forget. On our way out of the Gorge we saw this staff member again. We asked her about Zebedee Springs as we wanted to go there but unfortunately if was closed for the day.. We are still struck by her and she made our visit that much more special.

One day we would like to return and stay in the Tent cabins here.

I highly recomend a visit to the Gorge.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kingston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Dear Kingston B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback about El Questro's Emma Gorge and your interaction with one of the housekeeping team. It is a wonderful guage for us to see how we are living up to visitor's needs and expectations.

You highlighted the cane toad initiative and it is worthwhile that you mentioned this. We have been attracting great interest from the science community who are now using the natural attraction of cane toad fence to monitor and survey other species of wild life at Emma Gorge.

We hope that in the future you get the opportunity to come and stay for a longer visit.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack
GM El Questro Wilderness Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.6 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.0 mi away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
0.5 mi away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Questro The Station
El Questro The Station
#6 of 17 in Kununurra
248 reviews
55.4 mi away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#5 of 17 in Kununurra
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emma Gorge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emma Gorge Resort

Address: 75 Coolibah Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price Range: £173 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Emma Gorge Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden within the fiery red of El Questro’s Cockburn Ranges lies the spectacular Emma Gorge Resort, with excellent facilities for the whole family. Emma Gorge Resort offers comfortable tented cabins, each with their own private facilities. Shaded pathways link the tented cabins with the restaurant, pool and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Emma Gorge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emma Gorge Hotel Kununurra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing