We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emma Gorge Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kununurra(Kununurra)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimberley Croc Motel(Kununurra)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wunan House(Kununurra)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
91
63
21
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
63
21
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstented accommodationel questrogibb river roadtwo singlesbreathtaking sceneryqueen bedswimming poolworth the effortbreakfast and dinnermain restaurantpleasant stayrestaurant foodamazing placedry seasonbeautiful spottentsensuite
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our two nights at Emma Gorge Resort were delightful, squeezed in amongst a week of "real" camping. The tented cabin was sparse - just three beds, power, lighting and a bathroom - but perfectly adequate, although I would have liked a little more room in the shower so I could actually move. The evening restaurant was sensational, with great food, lovely staff and a beautiful setting. Waking to the plentiful birds each morning was lovely. Buffet breakfast was excellent.

The only downfalls at all were on the last morning. A tour group had arrived the night before and were given priority at the breakfast. We were quite rudely told to come back later, or to sit well away from the breakfast area. We were shocked by this attitude of preference, like we were second-class citizens. Then we were not afforded even 1 hr late checkout. How ridiculous that we had to stick to a 10am checkout when checkin is 4-5 hrs later!

Overall, though, still a 5-star rating because we just loved it.

Room Tip: For the best view of the range to the west (lovely at sunrise/sunset), ask for Cabin #2. Cabin #3 also has a nice view of the range, but with a boab tree in the foreground also.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Grm69

Thank you for the terrific review of your stay at El Questro Emma Gorge. We love to see great feedback for the resort and particularly the food at the restaurant. We strive very hard to achieve a high level of quality in our restaurants and we are pleased that the food met your expectations. Unfortunately, it appears that some of the service you received was not up to the same standard. I am truly sorry for the lack of consideration you were shown on your last day. Whilst it is true that the large buffet tables are reserved for groups, we in no way should have turned you away from breakfast as there is lovely seating in the al fresco area. We also work very hard to accommodate all requests and again I must apologise for not looking after your late check out. These issues have been discussed with the team and they now understand how they could have been more helpful. I believe that future visitors would have a better service experience.

We hope that you have opportunity to be a visitor once again in the future.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

It is remote - 80km from town. It is not a motel - it is upmarket camping. The tented cabins have power & light, a real bathroom, insect screens and flow through ventilation. They do not have anything to keep food or drinks cold and no jug for a 'cup of tea'. However the staff are very good and obliging and if you have a thermos/vacuum flask, you can have an early morning cup of tea in your tent.

The restaurant has everything and the food is excellent - its not cheap but it is not extravagant either, especially when you consider how far it is from 'city' facilities.
It is very 'eco tourism', immersing oneself into nature.

Road access to Emma Gorge resort is all weather bitumen except for the last 2km and you do have to cross a creek to get there. 4WD recommended. Road access to El Questro 'town ship' and more tour facilities is via 28 km of corrugated unsealed road with several river crossings, anything other than 4wd would be 'quite risky'.

The scenery around the area is 'huge' ...this is truly a big big country of magnificent colours.. but almost impossible to get the feeling on a photo or video.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear sbadert,
Thank you for sharing with others, you have really captured the essence of Emma Gorge with your review. It is a fantastic opportunity for visitors to experience the serene environment whilst still enjoying some creature comforts. We understand that our cabins would benefit from fridges and kettles, unfortunately our current power generation plant does not allow for these types of appliances.
We are pleased that you enjoyed and hope you get back to the Kimberley once again.
Warm regards,
Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at ELQ Emma Gorge on Saturday evening and had dinner and Breakfast at Emma followed by lunch at the Station. The evening meal was very expensive with very small servings. The breakfast was very well appointed by seriously let down by the flys?? Surely a large industrail type fan could be used in the breakfast area to blow these flys away. Could not even drink the coffee as each one we made another fly would land it in. Spoke to another local who said this was normal ?? Had lunch at the Station which was excellent only to be let down by unhappy, grumpy staff. I may add the staff at Emma were amazing, happy, friendly and very accommodating.
The tents are fine considering where you are and they are clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Well T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Well T

We appreciate your feedback on all aspects of your stay at El Questro and understand how some of the little details you have highlighted could impact the overall enjoyment of your time here. The flies are a recurring problem for us in the latter half of our season. We have tried several solutions and will look further into ways that we can minimize their affect on the dining experience.

It is pleasing to read your praise of the Emma Gorge staff. They excel at making guests feel welcome at the resort. I am surprised that the Station staff appeared less friendly as they too receive many good reports. My sincere apologies if they were off putting.

Thank you for visiting and sharing your trip with others.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a two night stay at the resort staying in "tented cabins". Although comfortable we had stayed in far more superior tented cabins in the Kimberley. The bathrooms are cheaply made and little room although the sleeping area was roomy. Our tent had holes in the roof, thankfully there was a second overall cover. Not that it rained but it looked poor. I must say the food was excellent and the pool great. An average stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Takeiteasytheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Take it Easy,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at Emma Gorge. It definitely helps us recognise where our guests feel that we need improvements. I do understand that the much newer tented accommodation in the Kimberley is quite ahead of ours in terms of space and fittings. Emma Gorge was one of the very first to offer this style off accommodation 21 years ago and the cabin was quite unique and ahead of it’s time then. Unfortunately we are in need of refurbishment to some of the cabins and certainly do have this in our sights in our future plans.
It is good to hear however that the food in the restaurant delivered to our high standards. We are very glad that you enjoyed this aspect of your time at Emma Gorge.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was a very nice place to stay a few nights. The rooms are in the bush and although those Eco tents you don't hear much from the neighbours. I don't like the fact that you cant lock the doors. The rooms have power but no fridge so if you want a cold drink on a hot day you have to buy one from the shop. Rooms a clean and restful. ill be back again.

Room Tip: Bring your own fridge....
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_JohnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at Emma Gorge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Traveller_JohnR,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at Emma Gorge. It is good to hear that you found the stay restful and appreciated the ambiance of the eco tents. I understand your concern regarding the lack of locks on the doors, this is something we are looking to change in response to our guest feedback, although in all of our time operating, we have never had a theft problem.

We are unable to run fridges in the rooms due to the power that we generate ourselves, it is not sufficient enough capacity to allow for appliances like fridges which draw a fair mount.

We do hope that you can return and will look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Lori Litwack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews