We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, best suited to under 30s”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA
Canberra
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Noisy, best suited to under 30s”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Advantages: Budget prices (for Kununurra), pleasant internal courtyard with palm trees, clean rooms except where other occupants in a shared room happen to be messy, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Disadvantages: on many nights the central courtyard becomes a lively socialising place for younger guests - travellers and seasonal workers - from late afternoon till after midnight. All the rooms face the central courtyard so there is no way to escape the noise of loud conversation and music. Although management has a written policy that music must be turned off at 9 pm, one night-manager explained that this was interpreted as 'the music has to move to the verandah area' (about 10 metres away). In addition, on Friday nights, the pub across the road has live, amplified outdoor music till midnight. We cancelled our return bookings and moved to more expensive and much quieter accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuietlyRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaSpackman, Owner at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi there,
I am glad you enjoyed the facilities, i am sorry that it was noisy for you both, as it is our policy to limit noise. The issue with the noise has been rectified, due to a change in Night Caretakers and will not occur again.
We hope you join us again in the future, or our budget motel (Kimberley Croc Lodge) may be better suited to you. It is only a lot quieter, although a little more expensive than the Backpackers for the en-suited rooms.
We hope you will stop in again when you are next traveling through Kununurra.

Safe traveling and warm regards;
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
1
4
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Staff were super friendly and helpful, and flexible with checking in around my busy tourist schedule! Dorm was basic, but clean and with good aircon. Close to a few lovely cafes, and good base for seeing all of the amazing stuff around Kununurra. Also offered a shuttle to the airport much cheaper than local taxis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank -eprkr-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaSpackman, Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put on a review for us - it is appreciated by myself and the team!
It is our aim to exceed our guests expectations.
We all wish you the very best and safe traveling!

Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I spent 8 days there just on holidays and if you're a backpacker I definitely highly recommend the place, it's the best you could actually stay at, especially if you're on your own.
The staff is not the frendliest I have come across (not really prepared to consider specific cases or making exceptions about the overall rules) but yet they're helpful and nice when you have precise questions. There is a fair amount of strict rules to be followed (I was taken back a bit at first) but they're probably necessary as well given the large amount of guests.
Most important: it's packed with nice travellers (most of them on working-holiday visa), the tables outside are big and lovely to hang out, kitchen is big as well. I also enjoyed the pool, especially since it gets so hot.
Good showers, YHO generally very clean apart maybe from the bathrooms which could do with some more regular cleaning.

Good one overall!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaSpackman, Owner at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA., it s great to receive feed back from our guests. Especially that you enjoyed our facilities and interaction with other guests, the team works hard to ensure your enjoy your stay.

I am disappointed to hear that you found the staff unfriendly at times. This is not how we like to present to our delightful guests. As we don't like to hear of unhappy guests, If you get a chance, could you possibly call the hostel on (08) 9168 20702?
I would like to hear from you.

Regards
Lisa Spackman
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

When people think of backpackers accommodation their heart usually drops. However, Kimberley Croc was beautifully kept, rooms were serviced daily, staff were always available and helpful on many if not all topics and the friendly vibe, swimming pool and locality to town made my stay beyond easy. They have thought of everything (there is even a shuttle service provided for guests to and from the main airport that can be organised by phone). Great stay.

Room Tip: Travellers wanting a little more sleep and added comfort for a little extra there is the option of g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tubyrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaSpackman, Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA.
It is great to hear you enjoyed our room and facilities. All the staff work hard to make our guests stay enjoyable.
I will pass your comments onto them, as it will make their day!
Regards
Lisa
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Kimberley Croc Backpackers is phenomenal!. The facilities are excellent including a well maintained pool, BBQ, fully equipped kitchen, and all of this is within a short walking distance to supermarkets, cafes, pubs and local attractions - including the magnificent Mirima National Park. The staff are very warm and professional which makes for a very homely atmosphere - perfect after a long day working or hiking. The rooms are very clean with comfortable beds and ample space for luggage and secure lockers for valuables. All of this makes the Kimberley Croc Backpackers the ideal place to stay while you experience all The Kimberley has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaSpackman, Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay with us at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us as well.
Safe traveling and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Warm Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I can't recommend this place enough. I spent all of March there and it has to be the cleanest, friendliest and most accommodating backpackers I've had the pleasure of staying in. The pool and bbq area are perfect for relaxing after a tough day of work; or socialising on a Friday night. 5 stars!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamHammond87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaSpackman, Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank-you for your review Sam - it was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us. We hope to see you again one day. In the mean time, good-luck with your endeavors and safe traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is absolutely my favorite hostel, I stayed here for 7 months where I spent a wonderful time, the staff is really friendly and helpful.
The rooms are cleaned daily and are equipped with useful security lockers in which you can even put a large suitcase.
The kitchen is equipped with almost everything, the only things you miss are a large oven and a freezer, this is cleaned twice a day.
The location of this hostel is perfect, situated in the main street and close to everything (Coles, IGA, Pubs, etc. ..)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Federico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaSpackman, Owner at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
It was a complete pleasure having you stay with us Frederico. I can not believe it was 7 months altogether, that went quickly. From all of us, we wish you all the best in your future traveling!
Kind Regards; Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
92 reviews
1.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
60.7 mi away
Home Valley Station
Home Valley Station
#3 of 17 in Kununurra
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA

Property: Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA
Address: 120 Konkerberry Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kununurra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA in Kununurra, Western Australia is perfect for travellers on a budget. Awarded Most Improved WA YHA Hostel in 2011, we offer the best accommodation services for our backpackers, with facilities that are first-class, clean and trendy. Centrally located at the heart of Kununurra, we provide our backpackers a relaxed atmosphere for their Kimberley Aussie outback experience. We offer resort-style accommodations with a wide range of options available to suit any budget. From dorm rooms with modern bunk beds and luggage lockers, up to double rooms with queen sized beds, we combine luxury and affordability to pamper our backpackers. At Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, our friendly and professional staff are always ready to serve. We can also arrange airport pickups and bus transfers, as well as tour bookings that pick you up directly from the hostel for a hassle-free travel experience. Kununurra offers many activities and attractions. Just give us a call and we'll happily arrange everything for you. Rooms and Facilities: We provide spacious, clean, air-conditioned rooms that are suited for backpackers, couples, families and large groups looking for quality but budget-friendly accommodation. All rooms are set amongst landscaped tropical gardens with direct access to the swimming pool, BBQ facilities, reception, internet cafe, outdoor lounge and TV area. Our Location: Kununurra is the gateway to East Kimberley, making it ideal for backpackers wishing to get around the region. Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA is centrally located at 120 Konkerberry Drive in the centre of Kununurra, making it accessible to restaurants, shops, and attractions without compromising your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing