We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some will love it, others won't”

El Questro Wilderness Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$766.49*
and up
Wandjina Country Air Tour from Kununurra Including Kalumburu Ground Tour and...
Ranked #2 of 35 things to do in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: An eco-holiday destination, this million-acre park is located in the heart of the unspoiled Kimberley region.
South Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Some will love it, others won't”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place has great scenery and natural beauty but it has pros and cons... it's not cheap compared to other Kimberley attractions. Campground was ok, too many people speeding kicking up dust. Ablutions have improved since our last visit, reception staff came across rude. if it wasn't so beautiful, we may have second thoughts about returning. Lots to see and do, so allow a min. 2-3 days.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Wilderness Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Linda,
It is great to know that this was your second visit and that you noticed some of the improvements we have been working on. I am however terribly sorry that reception staff appeared rude. This certainly is not the normal feedback we receive about our staff, in fact they are usually highly commended. I can only assume that they were busier than normal and their calm demeanor was slipping. My sincere apologies if this impacted on your impression of El Quetsro.

In the other hand, the attraction and facilities on offer to visitors do offer remarkable access to some of the Kimberley’s best sights. Keeping these attractions up to a standard for all guests to enjoy is where our Wilderness Park fees are spent. We realize that this may make us appear dearer than some other campsites, but we feel that there is a lot of value in what we offer, as it is not just another campsite.
We hope that you won’t be deterred from visiting and would look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    115
    40
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ACT
Level Contributor
149 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth the cost”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent two nights at the Station camp ground. Facilities good and even tho you double take at the cost per head it is good value for all the places you can get to while you are there. Many roads are graded but there are also 4WD tracks. Gorges are lovely esp Emma, Chamberlain and El Questro. Zebedee Springs relaxing if crowded. Everyone should visit at least once!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HAMACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Wilderness Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear HAMACT,
It is very pleasing to see that you used your time at El Questro to enjoy so much of what we have on offer. We too feel that the value for money is very good given how many things one can do included in the price of entry. Thank you for highlighting some of these attractions, we are glad that you were able to visit us and hope that it is more than once in a lifetime.
Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great camping spot!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Loved every minute! So much to do, great facilities for camping, (a little pricey for the camping) but we enjoyed our stay. Lots of walks close by and great place to meet fellow travellers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurenvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Wilderness Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Lauren,
It is great to see that you loved the camping at El Questro Wilderness Park. We do have a magnificent Park with so many attractions available to visitors which are included in the price of entry. As you say, it is a great camping spot, with all sites situated alongside the Pentecost River. Thank you for visiting and sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor.
Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery, fantastic facilities”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The campsite at El Questro is great!!!! It's like having en suite facilities in the little double bathrooms, proper shower screens too!

We ate at the Steakhouse one night which was yummy and very reasonably priced (have realised how expensive Perth is when you can eat out at a really nice place in the middle of nowhere for less!). We also enjoyed the bar in the evening.

We went into Emma Gorge in the morning (having arrived the night before) and then I went horse riding in the afternoon which was fun. Christian who took us out was really nice and informative and we had a few drinks at the end of our ride in the bar. The following morning we went to Zebedee Springs for a dip before heading off

Great laundry facilities here (really needed by this stage in our trip!).

I'd definitely recommend a night or two here.

I was travelling as a solo traveller with Kimberley Wild.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Wilderness Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Sarah,
We very much appreciate your recommendation of El Questro to other travelers and holiday makers. It sounds like you had a fantastic time, your adventures were great choices. We certainly strive to provide this kind of experience for all to enjoy and we do pay special attention to our restaurants to ensure the quality is at a high level, as you experienced. Thank you for sharing with others and we hope you get to enjoy our hospitality again in the future.
Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Oasis in the WA wilderness”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were a couple travelling on a Kimberly Wild tour in August 2013. We had been travelling in bush camps and had chosen to upgrade. Nothing prepared us for this thrumming hive of activity. So many people having fun from young singles, families to retired couples. It is incredibly beautiful in each of the areas of the park. We stayed at the Station and travelled to Emma Gorge, Zebedee hot springs, and Elquestro Gorge. Each of these places are outstandingly beautiful. We will definitely be returning to cover more of the activities that we had no time for.
Be prepared for a long and rough drive in to the beginning of the park, but once in you won't believe your eyes. All levels of accommodation are well catered for and so comfortable after a few days of basic camping. You need to plan to stay because it is too remote to drive in and out in a day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank silvertailvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Wilderness Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear silvertailvixen,

It is indeed an oasis. Thank you for providing such a complimentary insight into your stay at El Questro. We are pleased to be one of the highlights included in Kimberley Wild’s excellent itinerary. You have certainly captured the essence of the park in your review, it is this variety that we pride ourselves on. We hope that you do get that opportunity to return and tick the other attractions off of your list.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Questro Wilderness Park also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to El Questro Wilderness Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing