We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Questro Wilderness Park

El Questro Wilderness Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$771.67*
and up
Wandjina Country Air Tour from Kununurra Including Kalumburu Ground Tour and...
Ranked #4 of 34 things to do in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: An eco-holiday destination, this million-acre park is located in the heart of the unspoiled Kimberley region.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for the weekend in the main campsite at the Station and had a great time.

The sites are really well kept as are the bathrooms (loved the little ensuites with the open roof!!)
I was pleasantly surprised by how well equipped the shop and bar were considering the remote location.

I'd say the only thing that wasn't as great as it could've been was the outback BBQ 'Buffet', the food was nice and fresh but wasn't as exciting as we were expecting (we were thinking barra, Kangaroo etc and got chicken, snags and steak) and although it was a 'Buffet' we were all given the evil eye and made to feel uncomfortable by staff when we got up for seconds.

Aside from that it was a fantastic stay and well worth a visit if you can :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Wilderness Park, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Jacqui,

Thank you for your contribution to the Trip Advisor site. We really appreciate your favourable comments and are pleased that you found the camp ground to be a “perfect retreat”. We are glad that you noticed the effort that goes into keeping our guest facilities up to standard. We also do try very hard to have a great variety of items not only in our shop and bar, but our restaurants as well. We like that little touch of the city even when in the outback.

I am terribly sorry however that our Saturday night BBQ did not live up to your expectations. I do admit that that evening I received similar feedback, which is not normal for the Steakhouse chefs. Our BBQ does offer a variety of steaks, chicken and locally caught Barramundi and I take note of the request for Kangaroo, perhaps something we will add in future. We are also very happy for people to help themselves to seconds and have reinforced this with the staff, they shouldn’t make others feel uncomfortable again.

We hope that you have opportunity to visit again in the future.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    108
    39
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wilderness adventures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

A range of activities and accommodation. We had a bungalow at the township - comfortable and well-equipped. The restaurant provided excellent breakfasts and a fine dinner; very tasty food and reasonably priced. We did the explosion gorge tour - 4 hours on rough "roads" with a sunset drink at Branco's lookout: spectacular! El Questro gorge was a great experience and the hot springs were terrific. For sheer majesty, however, Emma Gorge was stunning!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Wilderness Park, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Gavin,
Thank you for providing such a favourable review of your time at El Questro. Our team works hard to ensure that guests like yourselves walk away from their holiday feeling like they have experienced something very special. It certainly sounds like this was the case with your time here. We are very glad to know that the restaurant food continues to be as much of a highlight as the numerous natural attractions. We hope to see you out this way once again.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Some will love it, others won't”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place has great scenery and natural beauty but it has pros and cons... it's not cheap compared to other Kimberley attractions. Campground was ok, too many people speeding kicking up dust. Ablutions have improved since our last visit, reception staff came across rude. if it wasn't so beautiful, we may have second thoughts about returning. Lots to see and do, so allow a min. 2-3 days.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Wilderness Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Linda,
It is great to know that this was your second visit and that you noticed some of the improvements we have been working on. I am however terribly sorry that reception staff appeared rude. This certainly is not the normal feedback we receive about our staff, in fact they are usually highly commended. I can only assume that they were busier than normal and their calm demeanor was slipping. My sincere apologies if this impacted on your impression of El Quetsro.

In the other hand, the attraction and facilities on offer to visitors do offer remarkable access to some of the Kimberley’s best sights. Keeping these attractions up to a standard for all guests to enjoy is where our Wilderness Park fees are spent. We realize that this may make us appear dearer than some other campsites, but we feel that there is a lot of value in what we offer, as it is not just another campsite.
We hope that you won’t be deterred from visiting and would look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACT
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth the cost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent two nights at the Station camp ground. Facilities good and even tho you double take at the cost per head it is good value for all the places you can get to while you are there. Many roads are graded but there are also 4WD tracks. Gorges are lovely esp Emma, Chamberlain and El Questro. Zebedee Springs relaxing if crowded. Everyone should visit at least once!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HAMACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Wilderness Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear HAMACT,
It is very pleasing to see that you used your time at El Questro to enjoy so much of what we have on offer. We too feel that the value for money is very good given how many things one can do included in the price of entry. Thank you for highlighting some of these attractions, we are glad that you were able to visit us and hope that it is more than once in a lifetime.
Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great camping spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Loved every minute! So much to do, great facilities for camping, (a little pricey for the camping) but we enjoyed our stay. Lots of walks close by and great place to meet fellow travellers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurenvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Litwack, General Manager at El Questro Wilderness Park, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Lauren,
It is great to see that you loved the camping at El Questro Wilderness Park. We do have a magnificent Park with so many attractions available to visitors which are included in the price of entry. As you say, it is a great camping spot, with all sites situated alongside the Pentecost River. Thank you for visiting and sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor.
Warm regards,
Lori Litwack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Questro Wilderness Park also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to El Questro Wilderness Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing