We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“genuine Thai”

Choc Dee Thai Restaurant & Takeaway
Ranked #23 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Casual beachfront dining, central location with seating of approximately 84 pax, authentic Thai cooking by Thai Nationals. Very reasonable costings from approximately $10 to $32.00 for dine in patrons, also available the same menu for takeaway with costings from approximately $9 to $23.00. Very reasonable drink prices with a wide selection of beers and wines. BYO wine charge at $6.00/bottle. Choc Dee's specialities include Sunee's world famous Tamarind Duck, or my favourite the Seafood Pineapple Curry, all dishes may be ordered from Extra Mild, Mild, Medium, Hot or Thai Hot, but beware our spice levels are high.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“genuine Thai”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

For that special Asian taste you must try Choc Dee the staff will make u very welcome and the food is absolutely delicious great value for your dollar

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    130
    45
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thai-reffic”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Authentic Thai experience, with service served with a smile, and staff making sure your needs are meet. Food was excellent and I would recommend the Tamarind Duck with a coconut rice on the side. Any curry with a roti seems to hit the spot. Yum. Would come back.

Helpful?
Thank Desi_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious takeaway”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We got the seafood curry, medium for us and the satay chicken sticks for the kids to have with rice and steamed veggies back at our hotel room. We enjoyed our food and would have returned if we were not leaving Palm Cove the next day. The prices are higher than we are used to but comparable with Palm Cove. Next time we are in the area we will be back. Be sure you mention how 'hot' you would like your food, the staff will help with that.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kasc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Thai”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very good fresh Thai food and reasonably priced for Palm Cove. Ate dinner here with friends and everyone enjoyed the food and great service. Choice of how spicy you would like your dish was a good idea, allowing more options. Located at the beachfront, Choc Dee is very relaxed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grahamjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral UK
Level 6 Contributor
796 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“Fine food”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

On the seafront esplanade in Palm Cove. There are lots of restaurants to chose from, so prices are quite keen. We called in here early evening, as the sun was going down, so it was still quiet.

Plenty of the usual Thai dishes and a very handy temperature plan to chose from. I think it was something like A for very mild to E for very hot. So you chose your dish and then the temperature.

I had a lovely quid soup followed by an excellent chicken green curry. I'd advise you to chose one level hotter than you would normally have, as they air on the cautious side.

Service was friendly and very efficient. Prices for food and drinks were reasonable.

Really enjoyed our meal here overlooking the sea.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Choc Dee Thai Restaurant & Takeaway also viewed

 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Choc Dee Thai Restaurant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing