We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartments but appalling behaviour from management - let themselves in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island Views Palm Cove
Cairns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartments but appalling behaviour from management – let themselves in!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were absolutely delighted at the apartments - we used these for me and my bridesmaids to get ready in before my wedding and then as our wedding night. They are big spacey and open, but beware, the openness came back to bite us on our final night. The apartment has a beautiful big balcony with a barbeque. On our last night we had my family around for a barbeque. At 9pm the lady next door stuck her head over the balcony and screeched at us to shut up we talk too loud. Shocked by this and completed our meals we moved into the kitchen where my aunty was doing the dishes and the rest of us were talking and laughing about the speeches and cheering. At 930pm it sounded like someone was going to knock the door down, I answered to an extremely angry and abusive woman. She explained at the top of her voice with her finger in my face that she was management and owned the apartment and we talk too loud - our wedding was yesterday so move on. By this stage my aunty was packing away dishes, so there were dished clunking. The angry woman screeched we were trashing the apartment and stormed in! I have never been so invaded, we paid to be there and this crazy women just stormed in screeching. I had to yell at her get out! This really threw me as we had just been married, we had many valuables in the house and our 3yr old flower girl asleep on the couch right next to the front door, after I got her back out I had to tell her to calm down and explained I would sort the loud ‘talking’ out. Next minute I have her husband yelling at me her sister owns the apartment, by this stage we were well over the lies and abuse.
The next day we were very eager to check out when I returned the key, there were two ladies on the counter, I apologised for the loud talking and while one was understanding and happy to hear we had a good time at our wedding and palm cove. The other treated me like scum, she took the key off me and said she would be doing a thorough inspection. When I explained the crazy woman had let herself in I was told she owns a few of the apartments, like it was ok.
We will not be coming back. I wouldn’t recommend these to anyone who wants to talk to other people in the apartment it’s probably best for a solo traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KLam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueCollection, Manager at Island Views Palm Cove, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

This was no doubt an unfortunate incident, and while there are several different versions of the events of that evening (including from the Queensland Police, who attended in response to the noise complaint) we agree that the response you received did not assist in resolving the situation.

We are working with the relevant parties to ensure that they are aware of your feedback, and to put in place better strategies for dealing with noise complaints in the future. We are certainly disappointed that this situation affected your stay and your impression of Island Views, and take this opportunity to apologise to you and your family for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

While we could not have asked for a bigger or better-appointed apartment, or one that had a better view of the ocean, our experience at Island Views Palm Cove was lessened by the fact that there are problems with the building’s body corporate, which have a negative impact on holiday-goers.
Firstly, the so-called temperature-controlled pool was freezing. Out of the 12 days we stayed there, the pool’s temperature was only bearable on two occasions. This is not good enough for an alleged five-star property. It was actually warmer to swim in the ocean.
There appears to be a fight going on between full-time tenants in the building because on a few occasions when we went to check the pool’s temperature, because it was so cold, there were several threatening signs placed on the equipment. It sounded like this temperature problem had been occurring for some time.
Secondly, the Wi-Fi did not work during our stay, which was blamed on the body corporate by Boutique Collection staff. We eventually were told to “piggy-back” onto another room’s Wi-Fi, which gave us intermittent internet access at best.
Other annoyances included the fact the baby's cot was not put up correctly upon our arrival, which we then had to chase for several hours before it was fixed, the extra room servicing we paid for was not done until 4.30pm, which again we had to chase up for several hours, numerous lights did not work and a light fitting was missing from one of the bathrooms – all very slack for a property of this standard and the way it is marketed.
It is a shame these factors contributed to us not having the five-star holiday we were looking forward to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueCollection, Manager at Island Views Palm Cove, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have passed your feedback in relation to these issues on to the body corporate committee, and we understand that steps are being taken by the body corporate to resolve both concerns.

Please accept our apologies as to the other matters – we have used your feedback to ensure that all cots are installed with bedding for guests on arrival, and have noted your comments in relation to the service and maintenance issues. We hope to see you in beautiful Palm Cove again, and look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next stay.

Regards, the Boutique Collection team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed for 4 days in a third floor apartment for out Honeymoon post Ironman Cairns. It was perfect. An amazing apartment and the Boutique Collection staff were fantastic. The girl we dealt with had just started but was well informed and went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. The apartment was 5 stars. Beautiful inside and a perfect location. Couldnt have asked for more. There was one apartment for sale at the time and if it wasnt on the ground floor we were seriously thinking of purchasing it so we could return more often. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Spent 10 days in a one bedroom apartment, level 3. Superb ocean views only interrupted by a few beautiful palms. Beautifully appointed unit. Fantastic situation in the middle of the Esplanade, a short stroll from great cafés and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnno31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Island Views by far is the best beach front apartments I have stayed in, and that is comparing them to properties such as The Ritz Carlton Keybiscayne Miami.
The customer service was great, we dealt with lovely people.
The Apartments are 5 star with amazing desighn , layout and furnishings.
Great large kitchen two lounge areas with flatscreens and gorgeous leather couches, extremley comfortable bed and large bathroom with double shower and vanity.
They are also very well airconditioned which is a must in the tropics.
The best parts though are the Balconies ours had a 8 seater table on one side then a 10+ seater lounge on the other side.And a gas BBQ with sink and shelf space.
Watching Paradise is the only way I can describe the view ,with the swaying palms and the sight, sound ,smell of the ocean wich you can listen to while you sleep , Sunrise, Sunset
what more can you ask for.

Room Tip: I think all the rms would be great we stayed in 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katerina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

Beachfront (well, except for the road) and well located toward the middle of the esplanade. Self-catering, not a hotel. Fit out in the apartment we stayed in (10) was at a very high level, very clean, good supplies of cleaning products, good linen and towels. All of the apartments have ocean views, even the lower levels. Check-in through Boutique Collection was a bit disorganized, our booking made that morning in Wotif wasn't in the system, and the included welcome basket never appeared, but really, once you were inside looking at that view, didn't really matter.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank zoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantirna Victoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in Island Views apartments once again for 7 nights from 5th Feb to 12th Feb. We were not let down. The apartments are huge with fantastic big balconies which overlook the ocean. . They have your every need . They are kept very clean by The Boutique Collection and would highly recommend these apartments to anyone. Would like to thank Liene for her warm greeting . Checking in was done promptly and we were in our apartment within 5 minutes and shown around by Liene once again. We stayed in our favourite apartment on the 4th floor which we loved. Would like to thank Sara from FNQ apartments for booking our holiday and who was also very helpful with any need we had. We woulld book again through them without any hesitation. We had awesome weather for February and it only rained for 5 minutes one night and the rest of the time the weather was sunny . Island Views we love you

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Views Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Views Palm Cove

Property: Island Views Palm Cove
Address: 79 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Views Palm Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2008 Far North Queensland Builders Award! Island Views commands a superb position in the centre of Palm Cove’s leafy Esplanade. Just 16 beautifully designed and styled beachfront apartments make up this Boutique Property. Holiday seekers looking for quality, comfort and total beachfront views will not be disappointed and satisfaction of staying at Palm Cove’s best will be evident. Spread across four floors of luxury, each 3 bedroom holiday apartment is designed to easily switch into a 1 and 2 bedroom configuration if required. Each is fully self contained, with a superbly fitted kitchen including dishwasher and microwave, air conditioning and ceiling fans, and flat screen televisions. Guest facilities include two elevators, secure underground parking, beachfront swimming pool and a inviting sundeck. Imagine sipping a cool drink, settled on one of the generous balconies, looking out over the coconut palms to islands on the Coral Sea . Imagine how long you’d like to stay here! On the Esplanade. On the beach. On your holiday “must do” list! Apartments On entering any of the Island Views apartments, it’s immediately apparent they have been designed with every care and attention. Indeed, the choice of award winning designers Paulene Benko Interiors to oversee the fittings and decor of Island Views was an inspired decision. No amount of quality and attention to detail has been overlooked. The décor theme is best described as modern understated elegance with a subtle crisp feel of the tropics. This enhances the timeless architecture and the subtle colours, evolving into a structure which doesn’t confirm to fashion trends. Island Views is a very unique complex in that every unit has its own individual design theme – a rare aspect indeed for ocean front holiday rental apartments. The feature of each apartment is its large, inviting balcony space. Here, sunloungers and a comfortable, modern dining setting greet the sea breezes. A gourmet barbeque gives the perfect touch for fast and simple tropical cuisine. It’s all designed for living well….outdoors…enjoying the tropics and those beachfront views…. Inside, striking contemporary design with tropical hints continues to set a welcoming and relaxing tone. The large plush beds are set with designer linens, the kitchen cupboards open to reveal quality dining ware, the bathroom towels are soft and enfolding. Each apartment also features a cleverly designed, separate media theater area – watch a DVD or speak to the family! In the spacious bathrooms, a full sized spa bath or tub invites you to unwind and restore. Open the Louvre shutters through to the living area and you can see the sea and palms from the spa bath. At a generous 211 square meters, these are the most spacious and luxurious apartments in Palm Cove. The 3 bedroom apartment dwellings have a master king bedroom with an en suite bathroom, either a spa bath or a relaxing tub bath, and a second and third bedroom with queen and twin beds. A second additional bathroom is directly beside the 2/3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Island Views Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing