We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done again Accor :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

As a member of Accor since 2007 we have learnt not to get too excited about club properties. The reason for this is regarding the aspect of the room not so much the room itself. At Palm Cove quite a few of the units have a nice aspect, especially the ones on the first and second floors facing east, but many are not as pleasant. That aside we were extremely disappointed to find that there was no barbeque either on the balcony or even a communal one. I have since read (in another review) that there is one at the Grand Chancellor we could have used (had we asked/been told). Hardly satisfactory. The pool and pool area were another disappointment. We chose not to swim there after venturing in on the second day and finding it unappealing and desperately in need of a refurb.
We believe that Accor Vacation Club does not represent value for money and if we had our time over again we would not buy a membership (ours is platinum). We would certainly not recommend a membership to anyone as it is very obvious that Accor is not at all concerned about their members, it is simply about fleecing people for their membership fee and annual subscription.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

"Dear Jenny T,
Thank you for taking your time on posting your review and feedback on trip advisor. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the issues you encountered whilst at the property and we have taken your comments on board. On arrival we like to inform all our guests of the facilities available, one being the communal BBQ at the Grand Chancellor and we apologise if this information was not passed on to you but we do thank you for making us aware that it was not implemented so it can now be addressed. All staff have been reminded and made aware that they need to communicate and advise our guests of these facilities within the area.
In regards to the pool area we will arrange an audit to be carried out so we can look into future refurbishment plans.

Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

I must start this review off with a congratulations for Cora, the Desk Manager and also other tasks which seem to be many and keep her very busy. Without the help of Coral when I rang to check on the access for my Mother-In-Law in telling me that the 1 Bedroom we had booked for 4 people would not be very comfortable. She informed me that the adjoining studio next door was vacant for the week we were there and so I rang Accor Bookings who told me they do not give out the Studio on its own which I then proceeded to ring Head Office about. The person I spoke to in head office said they would get back to me when they could find out what was going on, sadly they did not ring back, but the booking service in Singapore called saying we could have that Studio room added to our booking. I still feel I deserved a call back from the person I spoke to at Head Office as a member of Accor Vacation Club! Well Done Cora, we would of had a terrible holiday except for you and the invaluable information you gave us. I think Head Office needs to take a leaf out of your book regards member service!

I had the chance on the Sunday to catch up with Brad Jones the liaison rep for Accor vacation club. We have been members since 2007 and he has been the only person to spend considerable time to show us how to use our membership could work for us after I complained of our experiences to date. We have found him to be a man of valuable information in respect to the club and worth a weeks stay here just for a chance to talk to him. He is the first person I have spoken to in Accor Vacation Club who did not make me feel like I was been fleeced for some more money. He showed us our to get the most out of our membership and some extra information as well which is sadly lacking when attending the normal membership training days. I think the people running these courses would be well served to have some training given by Brad and maybe people would see some value in the membership.

As for our stay, we liked the adjoining rooms and had a very comfortable stay. My only suggestion would be some barbecues to be added as the weather is perfect for outdoor activities and as this is a club property, I think it silly that you have to go a kilometre or so just to use one when there would be much better use made of some below in the ample grounds. This Club Property could be first class with a little tender love and care + better and cheaper Internet, although I used my own Telstra 4G with no problem in my room. Also some hand safety rails into the pool for the elderly would help a lot also as the pool steps are quite steep and deep. This would be a cheap addition to aid the older members who are not as agile as some.

Room Tip: Third Floor Rooms would have better view if needed. Looking out other side of building may of been b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoldar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Zoldar26,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review for The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast. We are pleased that Coral & Brad were able to assist you with your accommodation & information regarding the Accor Vacation Club respectively. We are pleased that you had a very comfortable stay & thank you for your feedback in regards to the property facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We are Accor vacation members and this is our third time in four years we have been here. The first time it was excellent, the second involved a little deterioration but the third time the cleaning was poor. For example a urine like smell was coming from the air conditioning , there was mould on the curtains and on the ceiling, the doors were dirty and the skirting boards and bed head were dusty and there were cog webs in the wardrobe. The whole apartment needed a good clean. This is not the fault of the cleaners but the failure of management to allocate sufficient time for them to clean the rooms properly and to maintain the apartments correctly including the air conditioners etc. another glaring deficiency is that their needs to be some barbecues because if their is smoke in the room then the alarm goes off. Should we be paying for such Soddy cleaning.

One shining light was brad jones the liaison rep for Accor vacation club. We have been members since 2004 and he has been the only person to spend considerable time to show us how to use our membership properly. We have found him to be a man of integrity who prides himself on providing a service above and beyond the norm. He is not a man who takes your money and provides a minimum service to maximise profits which unfortunately is all too common. The management at Accor vocation club should take note of how to run the business to maximise customer satisfaction and subsequently grow the membership and the profits.
Paul and Sandra negri

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Paul N,
Thank you for taking your time on posting your review. My apologies for the problems encountered whilst at the property. This is not typical of the level of service we strive to achieve at the Coral Coast apartments and will look into the issues you have encountered. We are pleased that you were happy with the service provided by Brad and will pass this excellent feedback onto him. I apologise again that in this instance we did not meet our service commitments and I will ensure that your feedback is used constructively to ensure we deliver a consistent level of service and quality in the future. Moving forward, we hope that your next stay with us is care free and relaxing.

"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and as mentioned in the other reviews Brad and the front desk ladies truly are the BEST part of this facility. We had issues with connnecting to the internet and often had to sit by the lobby check in in order to gain access. Our AC unit leaked in our room, hallway lights turned on/off at their own discretion - all of which was told to the front desk staff who tried to fix it but we were basically told thats how it is. Bug issues as well and entire place needed a good detailed cleaning. Most places in the near Esplanade closed early and lack of options on BBQ locations was disappointing. Dryer on the main floor did not work and had to use the dryer in a vacant room in order to get our laundry done. People in the room below us dragged their furniture CONSTANTLY and we could hear it.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

"Dear Mary G,
Thank you for taking your time on posting your review and the feedback for Brad and the front desk staff. We apologise for the issues you encountered whilst at the property. We have been in touch with the internet service provider and are looking at different options to try and fix the connectivity to the wifi network. In regards to the air conditioning leaking we also have a technician that will be coming to the property to fix the issue and will have maintenance also look at the hallway lights. Our apartments are regularly sprayed for pests which should alleviate this. We will organise for maintenance to fix the dryer and for the furniture dragging perhaps the chairs will just need some rubber on the bottom of the legs that will help with this. Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We checked in and thought this place was amazing. Our room was nice, clean, and comfortable. Our first problem: the internet, you can only get access for 24 hours of 100MB, this doesn't last long if you are planning on uploading pictures or doing any sort of business on the internet. Beyond the limited MB, the connection is inconsistent, you some times have to use a new code within 10 minutes of entering one. The next issue was the phone, we aren't from Australia, so don't have mobiles to use, so not having a phone was an annoyance, especially when you needed internet codes. Our other gripes were a leaking AC unit for 5 days, the only real advice I was given to remedy, was to place a towel under the leak. The dishwasher also didn't seem to work, despite 3 goes at the wash cycle. This place is good, the facilities are nice, but maybe because it is off season, the service didn't seem amazing. The location is great - Palm Cove has a great beach, and you are about a 10 minute walk from the beach, but again in the off season, things tend to close very early.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear SpineII,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast. I would like to apologise that you had such a poor experience at the property especially regarding the service which has been addressed.
Due to the feedback we have received from members and guests we are pleased to advise that the property is scheduled for refurbishment in 2015 and this will include a full upgrade of all facets of the room. We hope that you can return to enjoy the area and the refurbished rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Sebel in Palm Cove is an amazing hotel to go to, because it is very big and your kids will love it there. At the Sebel there is a crocodile pool there that is very fun to play in, there is a spa at the crocodile pool that is very relaxing. SO MAKE SURE YOU GO THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Make they give you a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Michael M,
Thank you for your fantastic review! We look forward to welcoming you back to the relaxing spa at the crocodile pool soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.6 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast

Address: Coral Coast Drive, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range: £63 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast offers 37 spacious apartments near the Great Barrier Reef, 30 minutes from Cairns. Retreat to the privacy of a self contained apartment which is serviced at the end of your stay. Located a short stroll from the beach, close to the boutiques, bars, cafes and restaurants of Palm Cove Village; this modern complex offers easy access to the golf course, swimming pools, sports centre, tour desk and gym, with an airport shuttle available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sebel Palm Cove Coral Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing