We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloha Bar And Grill - CLOSED

Aloha Bar And Grill
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had a simple lunch here the staff were friendly and helpful. We had the chicken hamburger it was lovely not overlooked and dry as is sometimes the case. Great place for a simple lunch

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    12
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oh noooo”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Don't even bother. Service is grumpy with no smiles and food took over an hour. Really, how hard can it be to prep some pancakes and poached eggs. Juice was bought, milkshake had not one single strawberry in it, coffee was a disgrace and food arrived cold. Would never go here again even though the view is fab.

Helpful?
Thank Travel_and_try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Australia
1 review
“Avoid this Restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were unfortunate to decide to dine here after seeing the lovely photos of their food on the billboard at the front of this restaurant. We decided on scallops for entree (5 for over $17) which were undercooked and tasteless a chicken parma and the twice cooked lamb shank for main.Our meals arrived in minutes so must have been pre cooked. The chicken parma was heart shaped like what you get at safeway and tasteless. The lamb shank was nothing like their picture and was covered in a thick tomato sauce, it was dry, tasteless and tough.A few mouthfuls later and I felt a sharp object at the back of my throat embedded in the meat, after nearly choking a 4 cm long fish bone was revealed. The waiter must have witnessed my distress and I showed him what I nearly choked on. After much deliberation amongst the staff he came back apologised and offered me a free desert.I declined and reiterated how serious this could have been. He went back and did not charge me for the $28 lamb shank, aplogised again but stated it was not a fish bone but a bit of plastic. It definately looked like a fish bone to me .There was no apology from the Manager or Chef. This was our worst experience during our magnificent once in a life time holiday in Palm Cove. I felt sick for the rest of the night. Do yourself a favour and don't risk this restaurant there are plenty of great restaurants in Palm Cove. Wish I had have googled these reviews before going there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Avoid at all costs. We went because they had a decent menu and what seemed to be reasonable prices. The food was horrible and barely edible.

The steak was poor quality and not well cooked. The prawns that accompanied my steak were clearly frozen shrimp. Such a crime when fresh tiger prawns abound in QLD!

My parents food was equally poor, with my mum having to spit out the fish that was in her seafood platter.

Go next door to the Beach Almond if you want an amazing meal!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobMeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Deep fried and frozen fish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Blah, you're beachside so you would expect better. Don't bother and try something else.

Left with an oily taste in my mouth.

Helpful?
Thank GoodieAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aloha Bar And Grill also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing