We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Nu Nu Restaurant

Nu Nu Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 60 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$76
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had our wedding reception at Nu Nu restaurant last month, they gave us a memorable wedding night! The staffs were very friendly and helpful, and the food was fabulous!
And we also had breakfast at Nu Nu during our stay at Alamanda Resort, even though we had a big group of 20 people, the staffs could still manage very well!

P.S. LOVE their beachfront setup!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MMeww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy E, Owner at Nu Nu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write some positive feedback.

We are really enjoying being a part of peoples special day...It is a truly magical location and when you combine that with the feeling of a wedding it is a perfect combination.

We hope to welcome you back to again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,055 - 1,059 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just moved to the only beachside property on the Palm Cove beachfront, so the location is perfect. We had read the reviews, however we are convinced that others are easily pleased OR Nu Nu still hasn't got its act together after the recent move. Earlier in the day, we visited to ensure Nu Nu had our booking (it had been made for Far Horizons - the previous tenant). The sign at the front said Nu Nu was "coming soon" (should have taken note of that), and was told that Nu Nu was "BYO". When we got there, we were told that Nu Nu actually didn't have its liquor licence yet - different story, given we had no wine. I can only say that, while the food is quite imaginative, it has some odd relationships on the plate. The best that my partner could offer was "try-hard food" ..... and the service was not that great, either. I can only hope it is the transition.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank KarateCronulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy E, Owner at Nu Nu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback to us - we appreciate it.

We have certainly faced some challenges since 'getting the keys' mid February - Not least of which was our liquor license. We took the decision to open without a license as we believed it was important to be able to service Alamanda guests - I can assure you we did absolutely everything in our power to obtain our license as quickly as possible - I apologise for any inconvenience caused by the confusion around a complex licensing situation.

When we moved from 'up the road' we grew from a staff of 10 to 30, so we have certainly had a lot of training to do.

We have operated Nu Nu for 10 years and are very passionate about our product, we are not trying to be anything but true to ourselves and will we continue to do so for many years in our great new location.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

On the Sunday after Cyclone Ita we decided to have a bite to eat at Nu Nu; had been told that the prices had gone down and more affordable since moving to Angsana.

We started with the spanner crab and avocado roll, $9 each.....the roll is a tasteless bun which took over the whole taste, although did not have much filling; nothing special at all after waiting 45 minutes in a not so crowded restaurant.

Decided to share a beef burger with chips, $18....the same bun as the starter (I would have thought the waitress would have brought that to our attention) the burger was small, did not cover the whole of the bun and was burnt, the chip,s french fries, sloppy and I would say cooked in oil that needed replacing....

When moving to the beautiful location to renovate months ago they didn't check that there liquor license didn't go with them so it's a BYO at the moment; probably good thing as you wont get ripped off on wine prices.

Overall an overrated restaurant, at least for lunch, being locals we will much prefer to go to many of the other great restaurants Palm cove has to offer.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank BeeGee256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy E, Owner at Nu Nu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thanks for your feedback - we appreciate you taking the time.

Our spanner crab rolls are made with our house made brioche, as is our burger - We certainly agree the fact that the same type of bun is used should have been brought to your attention and we have rectified this with our waitstaff.

Our standard practice is to replace our oil as necessary but it does not get used longer than two days - we have reiterated with the kitchen team and also brought to their attention the burnt burger - I myself had one two days ago and they do like to serve them quite well done - however burnt is not acceptable.

We 'got the keys' to our fabulous new location mid February and opened mid March and worked tirelessly to get as much done as possible - unfortunately it is not as simple as just moving your liquor license from one spot to another - would be great if it was!

We have our license now and are working on a really interesting wine list

I notice you have dined with us before and enjoyed it - I hope you can one day again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Where do I start. It's just moved to the Best location in Palm Cove, adjacent to the beach. Thoughtful menu.. Modern Aus-Asian .. Lovely decor and great open air or indoor layout for fine but casual dining. Pricing is just right for the quality of food. Staff were friendly and attentive. Didn't have a liquor licence at time of our visit, but that was a bonus as the bottle shop is 2 minutes walk away, so we chose our favourite wine with dinner. The whole concept was perfect and if you like good food, very few places on East Coast Australia will compare with this package. Don't miss it while you're in Palm Cove.

2  Thank Madonna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy E, Owner at Nu Nu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thanks for your feedback. We have a liquor license now, and are still putting the finishing touches on our fit out. Hope to see you again when we are all done!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

It is rare in Palm Cove to find a restaurant prepared to be flexible enough to cater to families. Not only was Nu Nu able to be flexible the head chef went so far as to
come out himself to ensure our needs were satisfied. If going for breakfast the red emperor croquettes and the cider donuts are a must try.

3  Thank Southern-foodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy E, Owner at Nu Nu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thanks so much for your feedback as we have you children ourselves and are always happy to accommodate families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nu Nu Restaurant also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Nu Nu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing