We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never give a second chance!”
Review of Nu Nu Restaurant

Nu Nu Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never give a second chance!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I am a local who had eaten at the old NuNu location. I found the food average, the service slow and the price excessive. When I had friends up from Sydney they thought the new premises looked beautiful and wanted to try NuNu for dinner.
Against my better judgment I agreed. The Tapas fiasco is difficult to ascertain exactly what you are getting! The wine is overpriced and the food is pretentious.
My dish arrived with a mouthful of Chicken and a Chickens foot, Eeewww! The waitress had an arrogant attitude and didn't appreciate us asking questions. Needless to say NuNu won't be getting a third chance

Helpful?
3 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    252
    150
    106
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

A weakness of ours are the banana hotcakes with coconut icecream for breakfast which we have enjoyed on our trips to Palm Cove for the last 5 yrs or so. I warn you that its a generous serve! The service was A1 and a clear stand out from other restaurants in Palm Cove. Ps love the new location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely first rate”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wow. It's not easy to find restaurants of this quality in regional areas. My mum was visiting from Sydney and she loves to dine; I'd heard Nu Nu had moved up the road (awesome new venue, by the way) and figured it was time to book a table for dinner. I was a bit nervous after reading some fairly dodgy reviews, but it's always hard to know which ones to believe - plus, if the only thing you're looking for is a cheap and huge meal, then there are probably better options around. We wanted something a bit more special.

It's pretty obvious that a lot of effort goes into the dishes - cannily sought produce and carefully balanced flavours don't just throw themselves into a dish. Lamb stuffed olives make for a juicy and salty appetizer, crispy oysters with ginger caramel and green tea noodles are a cracking mixture of sweet and sour in a sort of homage to Japanese food, and the fried whole baby barramundi encourages you to chomp away on a fish frame and leave yourself with fingers greedily stained with turmeric. The desserts were equally impressive, though after a couple of rounds of cocktails and a lot of pinot the details didn't stay with me.

It's also a rare treat in Cairns to see a wine list with a few surprises on it... Oh and the cocktails are the best in town, too - not just random assortments of booze to give you a kick, but actually delicious concoctions with loads of fruit and shaved ice - very nicely done, Nu Nu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Junee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rip off”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Of all the places we ate in Palm Cove, this one rates lowest. Looking at the menu, we thought its prices were in line with others nearby, but when we sat down to order, we were told that the dishes are actually tapas size, so you end up paying the same as what you'd paid elsewhere for a main course for a TAPAS size dish! We were told that you'd probably need at least 3 for a main course, therefore they are charging 3 times more than other restaurants!
When the food arrived, it was difficult to figure out what we were eating. For one thing it was quite dark, for another the food was dark against a dark dish, and thirdly the flavours were so mingled that we couldn't identify some elements. Individual parts of the food looked like nothing we'd seen before, so we just swallowed and hoped for the best!
One dish arrived and the waitress informed my husband that it was raw tuna. My husband was a bit put out, as the menu hadn't said the dish contained raw fish, and he's not at all keen on anything raw.
All in all, we felt that the menu was misleading, they got us in under false pretences, and we ended up spending 3 or 4 times what we had planned. Be warned.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliftonbeach
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasteless and small”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Very disappointing meal, Tapas looks nice on menu but tasteless,mains small dont go if your hungry overpriced for inferior quality.
Being local we thought it might have changed with new venue but sadly even the atmosphere has gone from the restuarant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank robynCliftonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nu Nu Restaurant also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Nu Nu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing