We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4-5 stars for food, but could have been higher....”
Review of Nu Nu Restaurant

Nu Nu Restaurant
Reserve with
Nu Nu Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 58 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“4-5 stars for food, but could have been higher....”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

First of all, lets get to the point - the food is excellent. We stayed at Alamanda for nine days and breakfast at Nu Nu was included - although we tried others as well for variety. I heard from locals that Nu Nu was situated elsewhere and has recently moved to the Alamanda.

The outdoor setting in front of the palms and beach is awesome, whether morning, noon or night. Best setting in Palm Cove.

Having tried Nu Nu for breakfast, lunch and dinner - I can honestly say, we were never disappointed. The food was not your standard menu affair and extremely enjoyable.

Standouts were:
B'fast - Crepes
Lunch - Pumpkin with Ricotta and
Dinner - Any steak

So, why four star and not five. Well, the service....

Extremely hit and miss. Some visits, amazing, unbelievable. Others were dismal, disorganised and amateur at best. One visit, we kept asking for our sparkling water, which they took to the fridge on a hot day. Great idea in principle, but not in practice. Just bring ice bucket or leave out. On a hot day, its not going to last long anyway.

Another visit, I asked for Corona and kept asking for it. After 10 minutes, asked for it again to be told they don't stock Corona. Ok, I asked, what do you have instead? Waitress responded by saying she didn't think to ask if I wanted anything else given they didn't have Corona. Ok, if I ever own a pub or restaurant - I pretty confident you won't be on my 'hire list'.

Like other reviewers, we had a number of issues with orders being taken incorrectly and food coming out at different times i.e. mains 7-10 minutes apart. I personally think that by having a mix of servers, where their experience vary's so much - it magnifies the experience either way.

Given breakfast was on our list for 4-5 mornings, we politely gravitated to one/two servers.

I left rating as four star due to the food and would still recommend visiting Nu Nu for the food and setting if in Palm Cove. Like us, you will have to roll the dice on who serves you.

Shame though. Its an opportunity missed. We ate at seven other establishments during our stay and the service at all seven was excellent - although food quality varied.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NZBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    246
    146
    103
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Huge potential, but...”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had breakfast included here as part of our stay at Alamanda Resort. The location is absolutely incredible. We had breakfast here for 10 mornings in a row, and were a large family group of 16 people.

Unfortunately, the restaurant struggled every single day to get our orders correct. After the first few days of errors, we tried to assist them by writing down our orders and giving them to the wait staff-many mistakes were still made. We tried sitting separately on three different tables to see if that would help-more mistakes. We tried limiting our orders to the absolute basics-poached eggs and toast-the eggs arrived scrambled. To their credit, most of the wait staff tried their best to remain cheerful-the problems were clearly in the kitchen. On one occassion, three members of our group received their breakfast a full 40 minutes after everyone else. We started to think we were a very low priority because we were on a "breakfast included" package. If so, that is just poor form.

While these errors were really annoying, the food quality was generally very good most times. There were a couple of exceptions to this-I can never understand why a quality restaurant would serve a charred, blackened piece of toast to anyone.

The setting was so brilliant it almost made up for the problems we had. However, given that the restaurant had such a hard time dealing with our breakfast orders, we never had any other meals here. Other restaurants in Palm Cove, such as Bella Baci, Vivo, El Greko and the Rising Sun had no problems serving our large group.

We look forward to our trip to beautiful Palm Cove next year-maybe Nu Nu will have their issues sorted out by then.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFinale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We left before dessert as atmosphere was ruined”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were really looking forward to trying Nu Nu on our final night in Palm Cove. We took our 2.5 year old and decided to share 4 of the medium sized share plates. Of the dishes we tried my favourite was the red curry pork. Pork was very succulent and pulled apart easily. We were enjoying the food and each others company immensely until the table next to us with their 1 year old decided to pull out the ipad with peppa pig to "entertain and distract" their child. This was where the meal turned south. My 2 yo was completely absorbed by the screen on the next table and would no longer participate in conversation or eat his meal. We quickly finished our meal and decided not to stay for dessert as the atmosphere was ruined. I expect that the restaurant should not allow patrons to use TV in such a beautiful venue.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drJennyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had the best dinner ever at Nu Nu. Attentive service, fabulous food and wine to match.
A perfect setting and we found the food serves to be adequate. Loved it all and wish we lived closer so we could enjoy the beautiful setting and delicious food more often. Congratulations on your new venue. We were delighted to experience such an exciting varied menu and hope to be back soon

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 962Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Probably the nicest restaurant location in Palm Cove. The deck is almost under the palm trees bordering the beach. We've only been there for breakfast and found the menu innovative and interesting. We particularly enjoyed the spiced pineapple soaked muesli topped with mango purée. On the first occasion the coffee (long black) was a little watery for me though my husband enjoyed his cappuccino. The service was non- existent after our orders arrived and we had to chase the staff for more drinks. However, on our second visit the service was good and the barista knew his stuff so we were well satisfied. We plan to try an evening meal sometime - would be lovely watching the sea with a drink in hand!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nu Nu Restaurant also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Nu Nu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing