We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Exceptional Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We selected this hotel as it was beachfront - absolute beachfront for a three night stay. The three-bedroom apartment was a home away from home - extremely large and spacious with high-end appliances in the full kitchen, and enough crockery to hold a dinner party for 16 (as well as the room). The apartment was poolside, and ground floor and was extremely quiet and relaxing. The staff were happy to assist with any of our needs. They had a small in-house DVD library to select a movie to entertain a 3 year, as well as a good selection to entertain adults. This is an exceptional property for families or a small group of friends who travel to Far North Queensland and want to cater themselves or have the option to dine out and about.

Room Tip: Poolside and ground floor closest to the largest pool. Although further back from the beach, the lit...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluefur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Why is this the best ocean aspect in Palm Cove? Because all the other hotels either have a road in between the accommodation and the beach, or have a large buffer of swamp land between the accommodation and the beach (I am talking about you Sea Temple). We stayed in a 1-bedroom ocean view on the first floor. The room had been partially renovated in the last few years - lovely new kitchen and bathroom, but original and dated builtin lounge and flooring. Fantastic aspect from the balcony and living. Balcony a bit on the small side and not suitable for eating or entertaining. For a 1-bed unit it was very large by modern standards, so quite suitable for longer stays. Pools are on the small side and again quite dated, except for the ocean side pool. Great service from reception who showed us the room when we were a late walk in enquiry. Probably not worth staying here unless you can secure one of the ocean view rooms. Our bedroom was not on the ocean side of the building so a bit of mechanical noise at night. Would have been nice to have some green or black tea bags, rather than a single unusual type.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor ocean view as minimal privacy. Check if bedroom is on the ocean side if that is...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebony71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, General Manager at Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Ebony,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.
We are very proud of our absolute beachfront location.
I can assure you the Pool view rooms are just as nice as the room you stayed in as our main pool and beautiful gardens although not the ocean are also a very attractive view.
Thanks to your feedback we have now improved the complimentary teas and coffees available in the room as we are using T2 products with English Breakfast, Earl Grey and a couple of others now available.
Look forward to having you back.

Regards,

Ty Goulter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Alamanda Palm Cove for our wedding anniversary in a poolside one bedroom suite. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Standard of cleanliness was excellent. The Alamanda is in a prime position right on the beach so is quite perfect to make the most of this great location.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ozitourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We only stayed one night for a break from a Cairns holiday but could have stayed a week.
The 1 bedroom apartment was an ocean view with a verandah looking out through the palm trees to the ocean. In the evening after a meal at NuNu we walked along the beach as the sun went down . The service was 5 star, the apartment was huge,and it was so blissfully quiet that we slept so well. It had everything you could possiby need including washer/dryer, nespresso coffee machine and was spotless.The Javanese massage that I received from Aui was amazing. Highly recommend Alamanda Palm Cove as a holiday destination to remember. We will definetly be returning again, but for much longer next time.

Room Tip: Try for a room that faces the ocean
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julianandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nts here and can thoroughly recommend the property. I had a 1br Suite overlooking the beach and pool and it was huge, beautifully laid out and well stocked with anything you could possibly need - full kitchen, laundry, bathroom plus ensuite, large lounge/dining plus a 'retreat' area with sofa and TV attached to the bedroom.

Staff are friendly, relaxed and helpful. The restaurant NuNu is definitely the best in Palm Cove with a highly creative, imaginative menu and excellent wine list.

Only possible suggestion for improvement would be to dedicate one of the three pools to adults only :).

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, General Manager at Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for the feedback on the Pools, as we have now made our ocean front pool Adult Only.
Look forward to having you back with us soon.

Regards,

Ty Goulter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

this property has recently changed hands and is now known as "Alamanda Palm Cove." It is a really pleasant place to stay and you can walk to everything in the village.The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are more like suites and very comfortable. The grounds are very lush and tropical plants are everywhere.The restaurant is being renovated but the hotel is connected to a great little cafe called "The Rising Sun" which is also great and staffed by very friendly staff.Would recommend both the hotel and their affiliated restaurant to anyone visiting this most incredible tropical paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank westcoastcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Photos definitely do not do this place any justice. You really have to experience it for yourself. There was not one thing that we didn't enjoy about Angsana. The staff were very friendly, rooms were very modern and spacious (we stayed in a 1 bedroom suite), and having immediate access to the beach was fantastic. Sunbaking by the beach pool was fabulous, it actually felt like we were in a movie. I loved Angsana so much and feel that people like to fuss over tiny details that they find negative which is why Angsana probably isn't getting the recognition that it deserves. However, I could not find anything negative about the place and would love to go there again. The pricing was also extremely reasonable and we definitely got more than what we paid for. I 100% recommend it to anyone going to Palm Cove! (I also recommend staying in Palm Cove over Cairns)

Room Tip: Definitely choose a Beach/Pool suite if you have the money :)
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tayla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, General Manager at Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Hi Tayla,

Thanks for the great review. As the new Alamanda Palm Cove since the name change, we have tried our best to raise the bar with our product. Glad you enjoyed your experience and look forward to having you back.

Regards,

Ty Goulter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
21.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore

Address: 1 Veivers Rd | PO Box 40, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Angsana Great Barrier Reef)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: £143 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore is the epitome of tropical island heaven. The only property on Palm Cove to have unrestricted access to the beach front, all that stands between you and the ocean is stretches of white sand and palm trees. The jewel in the crown of Tropical North Queensland, Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore combines the elegance of tropical interiors with all the comforts of modern living. Offering a selection of 69 incredibly spacious (room sizes from 85m2) one, two and three bedroom suites plus the luxurious four bedroom Alamanda Suite. All suites are fully self-contained, featuring everything you will need to ensure your stay is as simple and stress free as possible. With floor to ceiling glass doors opening onto wide balconies overlooking the Palm fringed beach of the Great Barrier Reef, the tropical gardens and resort swimming pools, guests can enjoy the refreshing sea breeze all day long. With ideal accommodation and features to suit every need, bliss out in the day spa while overlooking the private plunge pools, the resort pools are ideal for children and the restaurant offers up the most delectable creations to reflect tropical living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Great Barrier Reef Hotel Palm Cove
Angsana Resort Palm Cove
Angsana Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing