We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter respite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just returned from 7days at Alamanda Palm Cove. What a wonderful place, and a wonderful week. The resort is perfectly located, right on the beach (the only one in Palm Cove) right down one end of the beach. It has three lovely pools, although the unheated ones were a bit chilly. The vibe is very relaxed and tropical. Great gardens, and lovely setting.

The apartment was spacious (we had a 3 bedroom). Well appointed kitchen with plenty of plates etc. Cooktop, oven fridge etc all full size, so easy to cook for yourself. Warning: make sure you cook for yourself before you eat at NuNu which is the restaurant on site - once you eat there, you will want to go for every meal.

Bed very comfortable and at the back of the property so very quiet. Excellent bathrooms and nice cosmetics.

The staff are extremely helpful and obliging, and the reception had movies to borrow and lots of helpful information. There are books to read, and lovely little wedding chapel.

The only downside was the slow and intermittent internet connection. I think they are still working on it.

Make sure you have at least one breakfast, lunch and dinner at NuNu. It is right on the beach, and the food is sensational. Had the best lunch ever, in the sun, with little tasting plates, and couple of glasses of wine. Perfect day made it the best. We even received a complimentary plate because they had run out of the salad we ordered.

There are also plenty of other places to eat in PC, in easy walk. We also paddled kayaks around the island, and went for a couple of drives in the hinterland, but mainly read, slept, walked and rejuvenated before facing the wintry blast of Melbourne in July.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, General Manager at Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Hi Richard,

Thank you very much for the review.
We are extremely apologetic for the Wi-Fi issues during your stay.
We believe we found the issues after a very long process of elimination and all seems to be working fine now. Touch wood.
Look forward to having you back.

Regards,

Ty Goulter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I got married here last August was a really good experience.
The hotel staff were spot on, we had 90% of the guests stay here and everyone really enjoyed the stay.
Rooms were amazing. Huge big apartments, plenty of room to cook, sit and host little get togethers.

The only thing that was missing was a big bbq area near the pool. Went to visit my Uncle in the hotel just behind and they had an outdoor bbq area with a pool which could be accessed all night.

The restaurant at the time was awesome. Really nice food no complaints.

Would definitely stay again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mrpotato13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, General Manager at Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the resort.
It is disappointing you missed them, but our Ocean Front Pool has 2 large BBQ's and tables and chairs for enjoying the fresh ocean breezes and views while you eat. An experience that can not be match by any other resort in Pam Cove.
We do have 3 pools and we are a large resort, so we possibly need to do a better job of pointing them out on the map for arriving guests.
We are also also adding one to our heated family pool area very soon and are just waiting on the furniture to arrive.
Very sorry you missed out using them as they are a great place to relax with family and friends.
We look forward to having you back and inviting your Uncle over to enjoy the views as well.

Regards,

Ty Goulter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We booked the night before and got a great deal (half price). I think we were upgraded too when we were there, getting an apartment with two bedrooms.

The room was huge. I think our house could have fit in it (sure we have a small house, but really, it would have). Everything about the room (the two bathrooms, walk in robe, balcony, lounge, kitchen) were perfect.

It would be a fantastic place for families, or perhaps a couple of couples.

We had a swim in the heated pool and spa. Loved the waterfall. There was a private function (wedding?) at NuNu so couldn't try the restaurant, we went there for breakfast though and it was great.

Would love to stay there again but I'm not sure we'd pay full price just for ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anaussiemusicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

All the reviews already written are true to their word! Exceptional service and standards made our entire stay a wonderful experience. Right from the very start when we were offered a cool drink at reception whilst checking in, and having Gary (or Greg - sorry I can't quite remember his name) help us to our room with our bags, we knew we had chosen the right place to stay! Room was exceptional overlooking the pool, clean, fresh, bright. What a bonus for us to have a bathroom each in a one bedroom unit. And as a previous guest has noted, exquisite Australian made toiletries were very much appreciated. I can only sing your accolades Alamanda. And the girls at reception are gorgeous too, always happy to help.
Thank you and we will visit again - without a doubt!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusandPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, General Manager at Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you very much for the feedback.

Two bathrooms in every suite does make a difference.
For families you never have to wait for the kids and as a couple you get a his and hers.
Appelles are a magnificent product and we have numerous positive remarks for our toiletries, so much so we now sell gift packs at reception.

But without doubt, the jewel in our crown is our staff.
For our future guests: Never be worried to ask for something as we wish to make everyone's stay perfect and everyone's definition of perfect is different, so make sure to tell us yours so we can do our best to make it happen.

Regards,

Ty Goulter
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We are on Day 4 of a 14 day stay & just loving it. Not sure what we love the most......is it the super attentive staff who simply cannot do enough for you & happily go beyond the call of duty, huge huge well appointed unit, enormous bedroom, super comfy king-size bed, 2 bathrooms for a 1 br unit, most amazing shower & water pressure, all European appliances, wonderful daily servicing of rooms, complimentary newspaper at your door each morning, units that are clean clean clean, dishwasher unpacked for you, beach towels provided, top quality complimentary Appelles bathroom products, heated saltwater pool, beachfront location or free wi-fi????
For families it would be a wonderful location. For couples it may get noisy in school holiday time but there are many guests here now & you would never know.
Soooo pleased to be here.

Room Tip: Best advice is to ask reception about rooms. We did & have a pool view which is fine. Depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BushtoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We've stayed here in the past and came back again because of it's position right on the beach. It's location means that whilst it's secluded and away from the noise and cars, its never more than a few seconds to the shops and restaurants.

And because there's no road in front of the hotel you can sit on the balcony or have a bottle of champers in the restaurant and there's nothing to see or hear but palm trees and ocean - perfect. (Although not an issue for us, it's also safer for children as they can play out the front without concern.)

My previous comments still remain - spacious apartments, well appointed, comfortable, etc. However it appears to be under new management (hence the name change) and they've really upped their game since we were here last. We really thought the staff were excellent.

Overall this is the best place in Palm Cove to chill out and blow out the winter cobwebs.

Room Tip: Beach front by choice - but they are all nice. It has a really nice tropical feel to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zax F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, General Manager at Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hi Zax,

Thanks for the great response.
Happy you have enjoyed our service model.
We are very much now about the guest experience and have a "yes we can" type motto.
The location sells itself and with the smallest room at 85sq metres, so do the rooms.
Some could say my job is a little too easy ;o)

Look forward to having you back again.

Regards,

Ty Goulter
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just got back from a four might stay at Alamanda. The resort is right on the beach and our huge room had gorgeous views of the palm trees and beach and was right near the cute little wedding chapel within the lovely gardens and next to the beach. The staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
13.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore

Address: 1 Veivers Rd | PO Box 40, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Angsana Great Barrier Reef)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: £155 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore is the epitome of tropical island heaven. The only property on Palm Cove to have unrestricted access to the beach front, all that stands between you and the ocean is stretches of white sand and palm trees. The jewel in the crown of Tropical North Queensland, Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore combines the elegance of tropical interiors with all the comforts of modern living. Offering a selection of 69 incredibly spacious (room sizes from 85m2) one, two and three bedroom suites plus the luxurious four bedroom Alamanda Suite. All suites are fully self-contained, featuring everything you will need to ensure your stay is as simple and stress free as possible. With floor to ceiling glass doors opening onto wide balconies overlooking the Palm fringed beach of the Great Barrier Reef, the tropical gardens and resort swimming pools, guests can enjoy the refreshing sea breeze all day long. With ideal accommodation and features to suit every need, bliss out in the day spa while overlooking the private plunge pools, the resort pools are ideal for children and the restaurant offers up the most delectable creations to reflect tropical living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Great Barrier Reef Hotel Palm Cove
Angsana Resort Palm Cove
Angsana Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing