We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Okay, this is not the cheepest place to stay in Palm Cove
But the suites a real huge, great ocean view, differently pools
The service on reception desk is helpful but could be sometimes little bit more patient.
The breakfast in NurNur is of very high quality, but we stayed 5 days. At the end we had more or less every morning the same breakfast. With the typical breakfast buffet we would have more choice.
The coffee sometimes arrived 15 min before the breakfast, sometimes 10 minutes after the breakfast. And that a second coffee costs extra is not appropiate for the price we payed for the hotel.

Room Tip: ocean view is a must
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mapli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Having spent the best part of a month travelling in Australia, staying in the most luxurious hotels in Singapore, Perth, Melbourne and Sydney, we chose The Alamanda Palm Cove as a final relaxing leg of our tour. This claims to be a 5* luxury hotel. To be honest it is at best a 3* self catering complex.
We had booked a one bedroom ocean view suite which was very spacious including two bathrooms and a fully equipped kitchen. The cleaning was hit and miss and we had to ask for our suite to be cleaned properly twice. The cleaners were in and out in five minutes, not even bothering to clean the floor!
The 'hotel' has no restaurant or bar to speak of. It has the Nu Nu restaurant next door which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Just be aware if you have paid for breakfast to be included you will be given a limited menu. We chose this option but were told on the second day that we couldn't have fruit AND toast, had to pay for an extra cup of coffee and that our menu didn't include the FRESHLY SQUEEZED juices.
We popped into the restaurant one evening for a drink but the waiter told us it was just a restaurant and had no facility for just drinking.
There seemed to be no hotel service, the front desk was run by very young people that didn't seem interested in making our stay special or comfortable.
If you are looking for a spacious self catering complex where you can cook and clean for yourselves then The Alamanda is perfect. But if you are looking for a luxurious hotel that includes hotel amenities this is not the place to choose!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Mazzaranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, General Manager at Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hi Dave,

Its hard to know how to reply to such a review.

Firstly I apologise for the fact that you had a less than perfect stay with us and that you do not feel as every other guest who has ever taken their valuable time to review our resort. I am very disapointed that you did not raise any of your concerns or dissatisfaction during your stay with us, as it would have given us the opportunity to perhaps improve the quality of your stay. I did try to contact you when I saw your feedback form, but as you used a UK booking agent who then used an AU in-bound agency to make the booking and they have failed to provide me with your direct contact details. We did try to send you an email but as it was not clearly readable on your feedback form our several attempts simply bounced back as invalid addresses.

I believe that everyone is of course entitled to their opinions, but it is rather disappointing that when every other review highlights how great the facilities and staff are, that you did not feel the same way and as such have posted what I believe is a very misleading review, not at all representational of our resort.

We are certainly not a 3 star self service apartment complex and of course are a fully serviced resort which also provides the benefits of room fittings such that guests can self cater if they wish with our smallest suite being 85 sq metres, high end brand products throughout, full laundry and kitchen facilities complete with dishwasher & coffee pod machines etc.

Nunu's our restaurant is 'on-site' and connects directly to the rear of our reception, so certainly not next door? All meals etc can be billed to your room as well as room service etc as one would expect of any resort restaurant. They do have a small bar section at the beach front of the restaurant, but as we are in peak season the area has table seating to be able to handle the volume of guests. We believe guests would be more disappointed with being turned away from being able to sit for a meal, than a seat at a bar. As we have an amazing beach front with beach recliner chairs and tables only a few metres from the front of the restaurant we believe this was a better use of the space during this period. I apologise you did not get a bar service feel during your stay and will discuss this with the staff to ensure that guests are not made to feel as you did.
Breakfast packages are not full menu a-la-carte and I don't assume anyone would expect they would be. We prefer to offer a two course a-la carte breakfast with several options available for each course, rather than a buffet style which I don't believe would suit the resort or the fact that Nunu's is a five star restaurant.
I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and most humbly apologise for this, but I hope that this single poor review does not mislead future guests as to what to expect from a stay with us. I sincerely hope that readers can take this review in context with the multitude of positive and encouraging comments left by every other guest who has taken the time to give a review of our resort.
As a reminder for future guests, please do communicate any issue you may have during your stay so that we can do as we always do, try to maximise the pleasure of your stay and make your time with us as perfect as it can be.

Regards,

Ty Goulter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Couldn't have asked for more on our holiday to Palm Cove! From the moment we arrived we were impressed. We were initially greeted by the lovely & friendly Kasey in reception who throughout our time in Palm Cove made our stay such a pleasure. We stayed in a beachview Suite and found it had everything and more to make our stay an enjoyable one. Thankyou for making our stay such a memorable one for all the right reasons. We can't wait to return to the beautiful Alamanda Palm Cove!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Raychiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Strangely this place has grow on me since I left it... I think this is because Palm Cove itself wasn't quite what I expected and this coloured my initial thoughts on Alamanda. We stayed in a two bedroom pool view suite one level up in July 2014 for three nights. The living area is huge and the couch/sofa the biggest and best one I've ever had the pleasure to lie down on! The balcony was lovely because of its view over one of the three pools although slightly annoying to have only two sun loungers when four people likely to be sitting on the balcony. We dragged chairs out of the apartment but would have been nice not to have to). The two bedrooms were not huge but perfectly fine. The beds were super comfortable. Our children didn't like their beds being on wheels but that really is a minor point! Alamanda tell me not all their single beds are on wheels :-) The kitchen had decent appliances and there was a good laundry next to it. The place itself is all whitewashed and stone and so very pleasurable to look at and be amongst. One pool was heated, one not. It was a shame the other wasn't as it was a bigger pool but we enjoyed the smaller one with its waterfall and spa. Didn't try the adults only pool but was situated across from the beach and looked nice. Didn't try the restaurant so can't comment. There was a big undercover sitting area for reading papers/relaxing etc which looked lovely but I never got the chance to use. Room service staff were friendly and efficient although I must say seeing black plastic bin liners outside some rooms and bottles of cleaning fluid each day all day annoyed me a little. I'm being picky though and you can see I gave it five stars. I think this place would perhaps be at its best in the warmer months when the coolness of the whitewash and the stone floors outside and the pools would be very inviting indeed. It is close to everything including the local pharmacy which might be a factor for some travellers.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms get people walking by but have nice little stone seating areas. Go up a level...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jill832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, General Manager at Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hi Jill,

Thank you for the great feedback.

In regard to the balcony furniture, we only have two recliners due to not wanting the deck to be too cluttered. If you had asked, we could have brought additional ones to the room for you. For future guests, please don't be bashful in asking for additional items that would increase the enjoyment of your stay. If we can we will.

Again our apologies for the bags and as mentioned in an earlier review reply, we are sourcing some nice baskets for the future.

Palm Cove is not for all, as any place isn't, but it is never surprising how it grows on people and they remember the absolute beauty, tranquillity and uniqueness of this amazing little hideaway. Only 20 minutes from the buzz of Cairns if needed, it is nothing short of perfect.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again next year.

Regards,

Ty Goulter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Alamanda is in a great location on the waterfront at Palm Cove. If you can, its worth booking a beachfront room, as there is just sand and Palm Trees between you and the sea. It appears to be the only hotel in Palm Cove which has beech front access.
The rooms are excellent and very well kitted out to a high standard. Including Miele kitchen equipment including an Oven. Microwave, Ceramic Hobb, Dishwasher etc. There is also a Nespresso Coffee Capsule machine which is a nice touch. (The capsules are much cheaper at Coles nearby then reception!). The apartment is huge, with an upstairs leading to a bedroom and two bathrooms - one with shower, the other with a jacuzzi bath.
The hotel has an in house restaurant NuNu's which we didn't use (too pricey). But given the lovely view from our balcony and great kitchen facilities, we cooked ourselves most nights.

Palm Cove waterfront is just outside the hotel with lots of restaurants, and shops. There is a small (expensive) supermarket along the front, however if you have a car, Coles is close by in Clifton Beach.

The restaurants on the waterfront are expensive. Further back there is a Tavern which has affordable meals, there is also a Chippy, Italian & great Thai restaurant next to Coles which are far more affordable.

Having a car is very useful, Saves a fortune on using the overpriced excursions from the travel centres.
To see the Daintree Rainforest, just go to Mossman Gorge, its free and if early, you're on your own in the forest, just wonderful.

So why not 5 stars? Just a few (small) issues stopped a five star rating but don't let these put you off the Alamanda.
1. There are three small swimming Pools, only one is heated, and full of kids! Would be nice of the Adults only Pool (nice idea) was heated as well.
2. We had a number of occasions outside our room dodging mattresses and linen left in piles for a few days at a time.
3. The reception, though meaning well, often gave us wrong info regarding local attractions! Such as saying there were no public buses to Kuranda on Sunday - there are!
4. We had a few small items (lights etc) in the room which didn't work.

In all we had a great time in Palm Cove and the Alamanda, and would recommend it.

Room Tip: It is well worth getting a beachfront room. At times you think it is just you on a Pacific Island!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAFCDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, General Manager at Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

Great detail of the local area which I am sure will help many of our future guests.

In regard to the issues during your stay, we have the only heated pool in Palm Cove, as we are aware, and in such a warm tropical environment we only use it for a few months a year. We have considered the possibility of heating the adults only pool on the beach front but this is not as easy as it may sound considering its location to our heating system. This is not to say its impossible, but a little improbable in the near future anyway.

I apologise for the short inconvenience you experienced with the mattress delivery to the room near your own, but I believe this reflects our desire to satisfy guests additional requests rather than a disturbance one would expect on a daily basis in our resort. I assure you bags are never left for days outside in the hallways. These are there for a short period during a room change-over as we of course can not use standard hotel trolleys due to the stairwells. Of course in peak season there are numerous room change overs. I am of course apologetic they detracted from the enjoyment of your stay with us. We are now seeking some nicer cane baskets so as they will be more aesthetic.

I can only apologise for any incorrect information you may have been given on the local bus service to Kurunda on Sundays. We have sought new schedules and will do so on a more regular basis in future. As you can imagine there are a myriad of possibilities and options for tours etc and they are forever growing and our staff unless contacted with updates from providers, present the information on these as per the brochures etc that we have at hand. We will now have a more regular review of these in future, so thank you for the heads up so to speak.

We replace lights and anything else not operating correctly whenever we are aware of an issue. This would generally be done when the rooms are changed over, or if a guest informs us they are required during their stay, which we would have done immediately for you had we been aware. For all future guests, please make sure to let us know of any issue in the room during your stay and we will do our best to rectify it immediately. We certainly don't want such a simple correctable issue to create a point of dissatisfaction with anyone's stay with us.

Overall we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your time here in Palm Cove. It truly is an amazing place on earth. Thank you for all the useful feedback and it was a pleasure to take care of you during your stay.

Regards,

Ty Goulter
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

So happy with the Alamanda at Palm Cove. Our 2 bedroom suite was fully self contained and the hotel is beautifully situated on the beach and our included breakfasts at NuNu were delicious. The staff assisted us with all our tour enquiries and bookings and arranged all of our transfers. The heated rock pool and spa were a hit with us and the kids. We would stay again and recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank GinaZougs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here before (albeit 10 years ago) and once again it was lovely. The studio apartment was huge, the kitchen well-appointed, two televisions and two bathrooms, two closets and a washing machine & dryer.
The coffee maker requires pods, unfortunately none are provided free of charge (I would have thought the first 2 would be on the house) and have to be purchased from the front office at more than double the price you buy them from Nespresso. Hint: take your own if possible.
Cleaning is well done and efficient.
The swimming pools are lovely, unfortunately only one is heated and if you want it for exercise you need to hop in early before the kids takeover.
I would happily stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WallysMissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, General Manager at Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hi Louise,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

We had already been considering whether to provide a pod or two complimentary to guests and will now do so, so thanks for the suggestion. We have now ordered a large batch and are awaiting their arrival so we can provide some with the small complimentary packets of dishwashing liquid & washing powder etc on arrival.

We certainly could not match the bulk buying power of a behemoth like Coles and sell them at a fair price as a convenience which we believe is a benefit to our guests. They are certainly not double the price we pay from Nespresso & I think this was a little harsh a description of our prices.

We are happy to have as we understand the only heated pool in Palm Cove and glad that you enjoyed it during your stay.

Thank you again for your suggestion with the pods and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next time you head to our little slice of paradise.

Regards,

Ty Goulter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
21.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore

Address: 1 Veivers Rd | PO Box 40, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Angsana Great Barrier Reef)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: £142 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore is the epitome of tropical island heaven. The only property on Palm Cove to have unrestricted access to the beach front, all that stands between you and the ocean is stretches of white sand and palm trees. The jewel in the crown of Tropical North Queensland, Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore combines the elegance of tropical interiors with all the comforts of modern living. Offering a selection of 69 incredibly spacious (room sizes from 85m2) one, two and three bedroom suites plus the luxurious four bedroom Alamanda Suite. All suites are fully self-contained, featuring everything you will need to ensure your stay is as simple and stress free as possible. With floor to ceiling glass doors opening onto wide balconies overlooking the Palm fringed beach of the Great Barrier Reef, the tropical gardens and resort swimming pools, guests can enjoy the refreshing sea breeze all day long. With ideal accommodation and features to suit every need, bliss out in the day spa while overlooking the private plunge pools, the resort pools are ideal for children and the restaurant offers up the most delectable creations to reflect tropical living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Great Barrier Reef Hotel Palm Cove
Angsana Resort Palm Cove
Angsana Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing