We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouldy ceiling & poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
4  Thank Ross I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank simonstevens3911
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here recently in a two bedroom suite with our teenage children. Located right across from the beach and in the center of the beach strip, you can't do better for location in tiny Palm Cove.

What stood out about this hotel was its "plantation-home" feel, with white window shutters and an airy open feel, and the service of its front desk. Special kudos to Mark, who checked us in late in the evening when we arrived and went out of his way to get us comfortable, including scrounging up some snacks for our kids as the kitchen had already closed, and an ice bucket for us. He was superb throughout our four-day stay.

Our suite was very comfortable and quiet; other rooms that we saw had nice spacious balconies. The heated and cold pools were both lovely and clean. Food at the restaurant was excellent.

We found a web-special with a significantly discounted room rate. Would highly recommend this hotel even at the regular rate.

Room Tip: Nothing gets done quickly in Queensland, known for operating on "Queensland time." (Think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hugow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Hello hugow,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the Reef House. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us.

I will pass your comments onto the team and Mark and I am sure that this will encourage them to keep up the service that you were provided with.

We hope to see you and your family stay with us again and look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Kind Regards

Brett Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was my second time back to the Reef House Palm Cove and could not be happier with my decision. Our two bedroom apartment with ocean views & balcony was great. Our daughters were thrilled with their bedroom set-up and so were we. It was handy to have a kitchenette.
All staff were friendly & helpful, but special mention the restaurant & bar staff who were always ready to cater to our drink requests even when not on the menu!
We enjoyed lovely lazy mornings lounging on the deck with our morning coffees after b'fast. Their continental b'fast was great value w the added hot dish on the side.
Best of all loved the colonial charm of the Reef House with its beautiful shady trees surrounds.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WBKate183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello Catherina C,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Reef House Palm Cove. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards

Brett Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Winniemi2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Over the past two decades we have enjoyed 14 winter holidays at Palm Cove -- 11 of them at Reef House. There are newer accommodation alternatives along the beautiful beachfront which is shaded by centuries-old giant melaleucas, but Reef House, ageing gracefully, retains a special charm and character. The new owners Accor are refurbishing the rooms, and the grounds and the two pools (one heated) are well maintained.
We prefer to stay in a Verandah Room, overlooking the larger pool. During our recent two-week stay we dined three times in Reef House's open-air restaurant, which faces the sea. Excellent menu -- the crispy skin barramundi and the scallops on pork belly are the highlights. Continental breakfasts are also served in the restaurant.
Great staff and a special thanks to Brett, the general manager, and to Gemma, the reservations manager, for being so welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MelbourneHalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello MelbourneHalls,

We at the Reef House resort would like to thank you for your comments on the property.

I would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel to stay at every year and I am glad that we can make your stay enjoyable and relaxing so that you keep choosing us to stay with.

I will pass your comments onto all the team and I am sure that this will motivate them to keep up the standards of service that keeps you with us.

Kind Regards

Brett Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which housed 2 adults and 2 kids perfectly. The welcome on arrival was great and something you only get in this boutique environment. We looked forward to the 5pm drinks and canapés at the Brigadiers Bar where we met others staying and played the board games with the kids.
The restaurant area is amazing in the way it almost seamlessly merges into the front paved road and beach. It was very pleasant spot for breakfast and the dinners we had were magnificent, the quality of the food the best in Palm Cove and there is plenty of strong competition!
The staff were great and very friendly again a feature of the boutique nature of the resort. The worst thing is that we had to leave after just 4 nights!
We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ben1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello Ben1997,

I would like to thank you for your glowing comments on trip advisor about the Reef House. I am glad that the service and the property made your stay more enjoyable with us.

I have passed your comments on to our team and I am sure that this will encourage the great service that you experienced during your stay with us.

We hope to see you in the future and for more than 4 nights next time.

Kind Regards

Brett Skinner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,151 reviews
21.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Address: 99 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Sebel Reef House)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: £131 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 25 minutes north of Cairns in the secluded Palm Cove, an upscale boutique beachfront experience awaits guests at Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection.The resort offers a warm, personalised service for all guests and together with its comprehensive range of resort facilities, The Reef House is the perfect getaway for couples seeking romantic bliss or simply a holiday in sheer relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef House Hotel Palm Cove
The Sebel Reef Hotel
Sebel Reef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing