We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite as good as Trip Advisor rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as Trip Advisor rating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Having read the rave reviews on Trip Advisor, we had high expectations, despite the low price tag of this accommodation.

The rooms are well equipped, with a nice bathroom with spa bath, a very comfortable king bed, and pleasant outdoor kitchen/dining area. However, the room was little cramped.

The pool area (which includes a very nice spa pool) is nice enough, in a rain forest type setting, but has limited sunbeds. We were a little disappointed that there was no cafe/bar on site, from which to purchase drinks whilst at the pool. This would be a welcome addition to this venue.

In summary, the Reef Retreat is a perfectly acceptable apartment complex, but in our case, we wished we just spent few more $s and chosen a superior resort.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your couple of days here in Palm Cove for us and others.

We are sorry that your weekend did not get off to a good start as you arrived very early in what is a very busy time of year and appeared unhappy that the room was not available, however we did manage to check you in a few hours before actual check in time although you did have to wait 45 minutes which clearly upset you.

We have no control over the rankings on TripAdvisor and are saddened that you had formed unrealistic expectations of what a 4 star self catering apartment in Palm Cove could offer which is unfortunate. As you mention in your latest assessment the aparments are well equipped,clean and comfortable and we find that guests usually enjoy this together with the benefit of having their own kitchenettes so that they have the option of storing their own food and drink which can be consumed on site. We also have a liquor license and sell a comprehensive selection of beer and wine on site however as we are only a small family run operation we do not have the resources to serve drinks by the pool.
Thank you for staying at The Reef Retreat.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    128
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
99
327
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We spent 2 nights here in August. Unsure where to book we took a punt on this place and we were not disappointed. Lovely, well equipped, modern, spotless and great value for money. Its not beach front but is only a few steps away. The room had a lovely little kitchenette so if you wanted to have nibbles and a wine (or cook in) before going out for the evening, it was perfect.
We would definitely stay here again rather than pay twice as much for a 5* resort - you just don't need to.
Lastly on another note, one night for dinner we ate at The Reef House, it was beautiful - great service and gorgeous food. Enjoy ....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyLenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience here at The Reef Retreat with the TripAdvisor community, it is good to hear that you enjoyed your brief visit and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

A gem of a resort with lovely rooms and very helpful owners. The BBQ area is exceptional with every tool, condiment & even paper towels provided. It is a very short walk to a host of restaurants and the beach. A good place to relax after days touring the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Reef Retreat and pleased that you made good use of the BBQ, we love the photograph that you uploaded!

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We ended a three-week tour of Australia in a campervan with four nights of luxury at Reef Retreat, Palm Cove. What a brilliant recommendation by Trailfinders. Lovely clean and well-equipped rooms, nice pool, good laundry and excellent customer service. Clive and Mary are brilliant hosts and very helpful. We loved being slightly tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main street, but near enough to access good restaurants, cafes and the beach of course. Would recommend Reef Retreat to anyone staying near Cairns.

Room Tip: Stairs to second floor so not good for people with walking difficulties. However, we loved the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetteB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, it was good to hear that you and the family had a good time unwinding at The Reef Retreat after your Campervan adventure around Australia. Thank you for your kind comments and for staying with us.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

A lovely resort tucked away behind the main drag. Clean rooms & good self catering facilities walking distance to loads of lovely restaurants. Very friendly helpful staff with good local knowledge and free advice.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattandhannahoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a very nice stay at reef retreat. It is well located in palm cove. The rooms are well equipped and the BBQ in the outdoor area was well utilized by us and others staying there. Our hosts were very informative, helpful and obviously enjoy their hosting. On the negative side out room was dark and we had to have the lights on and the spa pool could of been hotter. However it is good value for money here, and the service provided was without fault.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csey2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I stayed here for seven nights in late July with my wife.As this is our fourth trip to the region we did not do many touristy things but came to chill out and relax.This is just what we got at the reef retreat,our room (no28) was just fine with a balcony/kitchenette overlooking the pool and b.b.q area although we did not use those facilities as we came for the nice cafes and glorious beach.
The grounds had a mini rain forest feel to it all very pleasent.The price was also right.
As no review would be complete without a minor negative to add so i would just mention that the pool remains open for one hour too late 11.00pm(and some people were staying there well beyond this time) as the noise echos into rooms and makes it hard for those who want to sleep early.
But all in all i would certainly recommend the reef retreat to any one wanting to chill out in palm cove.

Room Tip: book the spa rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Retreat Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Property: The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Address: 10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful rainforest setting, amongst the majestic paperbark trees you will find THE REEF RETREAT, Palm Cove. Just a 30 second stroll, 50 meters to idyllic Palm Cove beach and restaurants. Palm Cove is the jewel of Cairns Northern Beaches, a unique, quiet and relaxing village by the sea where centuries old "paperbark" Melaleuca trees line the casual Esplanade. Just a 25 minute drive north of the Cairns International Airport. The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is a low rise four-star boutique suite style resort set amongst a lush rainforest setting of palms and majestic Melaleuca paperbark trees offering a choice of accommodation from studios, spa suites, 1 Bedroom Suites, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartment. Every room is lovingly laid out and designed to give you all the comforts of home complete with bedroom, bathroom, living area TV/DVD Player, Ipod docks, kitchenette with stovetop and micro-wave, FREE Cable TV, FREE WIFI and spacious private balconies, with views of the pool, lush tropical gardens and the lush green mountains. The Apartment is fully self-contained with laundry facilities. The Resort offers complimentary barbeque and entertainment area for guest use and is licensed to sell Beer, Wine & Spirits for consumption on site. There is a heated salt-water pool and Spa Pool presenting an idyllic Billabong scene, FREE undercover car parking, FREE WIFI and on site guest internet station, Guest Laundry and tour desk services all within a secluded, lush rainforest setting. Reef Retreat can offer you all the personalized, home-style service and facilities that you need for a truly memorable Australian holiday. Ideal holiday getaway for couples and families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing