We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in November in a spa apartment. The apartment was spacious, very private, light-filled, breezy, quiet at night-time, and well appointed with a huge spa bath, balcony amongst the trees, king sized bed and kitchenette on the balcony. The pool is simply gorgeous and so quiet. The photos don't do it justice as it is surrounded by towering paperbark trees which provide dappled light all day. The service improved 10 fold when Clive returned from holiday. He's friendly, enthusiastic and bubbling with information; almost the opposite of the service when he was absent. Hiring a car was easy as the reef had a hire car in their carpark.

I know some reviewers have found the appartments dark. With the plantation shutters open (something you can't do with aircon on) and being an apartment on the end of the building, we had few problems with light. If it was slightly dark a couple of times, we turned the lights on (!). In terms of noise, because we had an apartment on the front corner, we heard occasional traffic noise during the day but this is a tiny town so it's not bad. At night-time with the shutters closed and fan on, we didn't hear a thing. We also got little noise from the pool - an occasional teenager being excited - and heard nothing from neighboring apartments. Unlike other reviewers we were surprised with the low level of bugs for the tropics - a couple of ants inside for a brief visit. Weekly servicing was all we needed.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MELtoUnknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had a fantastic 5 day in early sept, at this amazing little place. Room's were great had a nice view of beach from our bedroom. Relaxing balcony with pool views. The pool & spa were used each day and only once did we have company. Great facilities & BBQ are a perfect, all you needed for a mix of self cater & nights out. Easy walking to many restaurants. Clive was great help to book our reef trip . We really enjoyed our stay and have recommended to friends as a fantastic spot. We look forward to staying with you again. Catherine

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Only new on this Trip Advisor but I couldn't wait to get writing my review.
Firstly, the place is just devine! We stayed not in the actual apartments but rented one of the townhouses out. (Directly across from reception) We had a large individual garage which was great as we had rented a car and worried about where we could park. The house itself was in immaculate condition. Big, spacious and very very homely. Washing machine, dryer the works! Over-all very clean. Balcony was spacious enough and we could relax and have dinner without a worry in the world. The amazing beach is about 30 secs walk away with plenty of public BBQ's. Always something to do. If you stay for a week and don't fancy eating out all the time you can simply drive to Coles 5 mins away- everything being close to the Reef Retreat. The staff welcomed us with open arms and were always very helpful. I walked past the pool it's that hidden away with all the beautiful trees surrounding it. Like a tropical rainforest. The jacuzzi my daughter loved! We were supplied with all the equipment to have a BBQ one of the evenings. The gorgeous light fittings and a wine in hand, what could be more relaxing! Over-all the best place I've ever stayed and my Irish in-laws cannot wait to visit next July again! Until next time- you stay classy!

Stayed: August 2013
Thank AlannaMcGivern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Many thanks to Clive who made our stay so relaxing and peacfull, will recomend the (tree house)
experience, my wife and i stayed here for four nights and days, very enjoyable, would strong recomend a visit,thanks Clive and best wishes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Fancied a short break and settled on the Reef Retreat. So glad we did. We wanted somewhere quiet and that was exactly what we had at the Reef.
Mary was very helpful when I called to make the booking advising on the best choice of room for us. We wanted upstairs and they delivered on their promise. Our room was plenty big enough for two with kitchen facilities, which we used sometimes for breakfast. We sat outside on the large balcony overlooking the pool for our afternoon drinks. The shutters keep the room airy and there is a/c and two ceiling fans. The bed was comfy and the bathroom although not large had a big shower. Toiletries and hair dryer are provided. The rooms are only serviced every 3 days but that was not a problem for us. Bath and hand towels are provided as well as pool towels. These can be changed within the 3 days at Reception if necessary.
The pool which has sun or shade was a nice alternative to the beach, along with large spa and a number of loungers. There is a BBQ which we didn't use along with adequate undercover parking.
The Reef Retreat offered everything we needed for our 6 nt stay. 2 mins walk to the beach, plenty of restaurants and cafes right outside the door.
Clive and Mary booked a transfer from the airport for us, which we charged to our room. They also recommended a car hire company, took delivery of the vehicle and arranged for payment through them. This saved us a trip into Cairns to collect it.
All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Reef Retreat and would recommend to anyone wanting a "boutique" style small complex. They offer personal service and value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evertravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Reef Retreat was perfect for us. Perfect location, beautiful heated pool which we swam in every night, the light show at night was a lovely touch. Our room was spacious, comfortable and very clean and had everything we needed. Clive, Mary & Sarah are brilliant hosts, always going that extra mile to ensure your stay is easy and relaxing. They have great tips on all the tours in the area and organise everything without you having to lift a finger.
The location is great, we found the beachfront could get quite windy, so it was always nice to come back to the resort and be sheltered. The whole resort had a lovely, peaceful atmosphere and you don’t hear the road noise that you would get if you stayed on the front.
The gardens are kept immaculate and we saw lots of butterflies, kookaburras and little bandicoots throughout our stay, it was lovely.
We would recommend anyone to this beautiful place in paradise and we cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAS_215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at The Reef Retreat in October 2013 and had found the property to be beautiful, tranquil and just what we needed. We were looking for somewhere away from the hustle and bustle where we could replenish from a trying year and we found it! The management was extremely helpful and couldn't help us enough and very friendly. The rooms were big, clean and very comfortable - we loved the 'tree house' feel of the retreat and the plantation shutters in the room allowing in fresh air (yay, no flies up in Palm Cove!) and the large balcony was great! The pool and spa were just right and not busy so you felt like it was private and just for you sometimes! The BBQ area was lovely and we utilised this a lot on our stay. We would most definitely return to stay at The Reef Retreat on our next trip to Palm Cove which we hope won't be too far away!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jus_and_Stef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
0.2 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Retreat Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Address: 10-14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range: £70 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful rainforest setting, amongst the majestic paperbark trees you will find THE REEF RETREAT, Palm Cove. Just a 30 second stroll, 50 meters to idyllic Palm Cove beach and restaurants. Palm Cove is the jewel of Cairns Northern Beaches, a unique, quiet and relaxing village by the sea where centuries old "paperbark" Melaleuca trees line the casual Esplanade. Just a 25 minute drive north of the Cairns International Airport. The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is a low rise four-star boutique suite style resort set amongst a lush rainforest setting of palms and majestic Melaleuca paperbark trees offering a choice of accommodation from studios, spa suites, 1 Bedroom Suites, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartment. Every room is lovingly laid out and designed to give you all the comforts of home complete with bedroom, bathroom, living area TV/DVD Player, Ipod docks, kitchenette with stovetop and micro-wave, FREE Cable TV, FREE WIFI and spacious private balconies, with views of the pool, lush tropical gardens and the lush green mountains. The Apartment is fully self-contained with laundry facilities. The Resort offers complimentary barbeque and entertainment area for guest use and is licensed to sell Beer, Wine & Spirits for consumption on site. There is a heated salt-water pool and Spa Pool presenting an idyllic Billabong scene, FREE undercover car parking, FREE WIFI and on site guest internet station, Guest Laundry and tour desk services all within a secluded, lush rainforest setting. Reef Retreat can offer you all the personalized, home-style service and facilities that you need for a truly memorable Australian holiday. Ideal holiday getaway for couples and families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing