We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very clean and quite. great pool at night with laser lights and a large BBQ area the managers Clive and Mary where very helpful this is a very friendly place to stay and relax. Just a short walk to some of the best restaurants in cairns

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for posting your review Stephen W, we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Absolutely no complaints about this rental. Had a couple issues (electrical breaker flipped and washing machine was acting weird) during our two week stay, and the property manager was extremely quick to help. It's about a one minute walk from the beach. Quiet location. It felt like we were staying in a tree house with all of the trees below us (we were on the third floor).

Room Tip: Stay up on the third floor and you will feel like tarzan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the tree tops Dean C, and relieved you managed to resist any Tarzan swings! It is a lovely spot to relax and watch the birds.
Thank you for staying and for your review.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at the Reef Retreat at the end of a 4 week holiday in Australia to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Last is certainly not least when it comes to this accommodation. We asked for a room on a higher level as recommended by other guests who have posted reviews, and you certainly feel as though you are eating in the rain forest. You also get a little more privacy. The rooms are well equipped and clean and the gardens are an absolute sanctuary. Other reviews say it all. Clive and Mary have a wealth of knowledge of the surrounding area which they are happy to share. We were glad to have their advice particularly in choosing between the many tours to the Great Barrier Reef. It was spot on!
We were just leaving the resort at the time of the recent cyclone and Clive went out of his way to check our flights through one of his contacts. It was a difficult 24 hours and it is a pity that some of the guests at that time, chose to leave negative reviews. We can only speak as we find and we found this to be a 'little gem'. We hope it will not be too long before we come back.
Thank you both for a wonderful time
Brian & Rosemary H.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianH0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Our thanks Brain & Rosemary H for sharing your positive experience at Reef Retreat and for choosing us as your last stop in Australia while on your special 40th Anniversary holiday. We were very happy to be of assistance. Wishing you many more happy anniversaries and hoping to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Reef Retreat in April 2014. The room was neat and clean, had excellent kitchenette facilities on the porch, and a quiet and lovely setting. The melaleuca trees, palms, and foliage added to the tropical resort ambiance. The pool, hot tub, barbeque area and laundry facilities were very much appreciated. And the excellent selection of wines available was a bonus. Location in Palm Cove provided a short walk to the beach and access to many wonderful restaurants. Clive and Mary are outstanding hosts and provided lots of valuable information on local sites, tour packages, and transportation to the airport. Thank you for a wonderful vacation at the Reef Retreat in Palm Cove.

Bob & Sue B.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Sunny Greetings Bob & Sue B and our thanks for taking the time to post your review, we are very happy to her that you enjoyed your stay your kind comments are much appreciated.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

As a family with three children, we look for somewhere that all can have their own space, with separate TV's, close to shops and restaurants, own cooking facilities and nearby restaurants depending on how we feel about catering each day and finally, a heated pool.

The latter may sound mad since Palm Cove is a relatively warm location however from April to about September the swimming pools at most resorts are below the temperature we are used to at home! Why? It is rare for pools at resorts in this area to be heated. They rely on the sun alone (not solar heating per se).

As the daily high is often about 28 degrees during much of this time, and nights lower, the pools run at around 25 degrees, especially in the mornings.

We have stayed at numerous places between Cairns to Port Douglas over the years. It's the same outcome. Relatively cold pool means family won't swim as much, they then get bored, etc.

The great news is Clive and Mary are passionate about their resort. The pool is heated with heat pumps. The sun helps, like most places, but the heat pumps ensure the pool is great for swimming in all day, every day! We all loved it. It is a pool surrounded by beautiful trees thus the shade means we all could play or relax in a deck chair around the pool without the normal risk of sunburn.

We found the resort very clean and very good value. Some apartments are better structured than others, noting furniture is uniform across all, thus ask Clive or Mary about which layout they recommend for you for your needs. We ended up in an apartment they recommended for us. Be aware a number of rooms have no elevator, rather require the use of stairs. Lest this put you off, there are plenty of lovely ground level apartments. For us, we needed the exercise after the constant dining!

They were most helpful on all occasions and very attentive, caring, flexible and personal. Unlike the flashier places we have stayed, this had that something extra in human touch because they are not staff like the big resorts have, rather they are owners.

I note the two terrible reviews recorded. We are familiar with the circumstances that led to these. Firstly, they are both by the same people using different names. Secondly, their expectations were unreasonable and unrealistic in the circumstances. Finally, they have form. This was not the first place they sought refunds etc after they changed their mind after arrival, lest the facility receive a terrible rating. Have you ever struck someone whom you gave a present only for you to then be criticised by them because they expected two presents and why aren't they larger, etc. You get the picture.

In summary, it was our first visit here to this facility and we all loved it. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you Scott D for your kind and helpful review. We have strived over the years, and will continue to strive, to give our guests the best experience that we can. Swimming is an important part of any holiday for a lot of people which is why we heat our pool so that our guests can enjoy swimming year round, we were pleased to see you and your lovely family enjoy the facility.
Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our second visit to the reef retreat and it won't be our last. The rooms are well fitted out, clean, and welcoming and great balcony. The tropical garden is spectacular and the pool is area is very peaceful. Central to all that is on offer at palm cove but still a little sanctuary on its own. Hosts and staff very welcoming and helpful. Definitely a winner for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Many thanks Julie H for posting your review following your second stay at The Reef Retreat, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were so fortunate to stay at the beautiful Reef Retreat in Palm Cove prior to and during Cyclone Ita. We had not made a prior booking but intrigued by the retreat's ambiance and beauty we just walked in off the street looking for accommodation. We received a warm welcome, and Clive showed us two apartments from which to choose. We were thrilled and excited to see such lovely options. We much appreciated Clive's patience and flexibility especially when we had to prolong our stay day-by-day as the cyclone approached, even though we were double-booked farther north. We felt totally comfortable and safe in our apartment, and secure knowing that Clive was monitoring the weather and taking an interest in our safety. Also Clive and Mary helped us in every possible way - booking excursions, recommending restaurants, answering all our questions politely and respectfully. (And we had many questions...being Canadians we had never before experienced a powerful cyclone.)

The next morning after the cyclone had passed we were pleasantly surprised that the clean up from the extensive tree damage was well underway making it safe for us to venture out.

In addition to excellent service, Reef Retreat is set in absolutely lovely surroundings and the resort has much character. Our one bedroom with a well-equipped kitchenette was perfect: spacious, immaculate, crisp decor, and very private. Our large balcony overlooked the common area and pool which really should be featured in a magazine it is so pretty. Just like living in a village tree-house surrounded by lofty melaleucas, palms, and foliage. As well there is a good collection of DVDs to watch during cyclones!, an excellent selection of wine, a laundry facility, and internet available. The location is very convenient for strolling around the village and beach.

In retrospect, we experienced an exciting and memorable time at Reef Retreat, our favourite accommodation by far during our holiday in Australia. In truth we did not want to leave and hope to return one day. Until then we will highly recommend to our family, friends, and anyone listening that they stay nowhere else. Thank you Clive and Mary for your kindness and professional attitude; our initial three-day-stay extended to a one-week-visit was the highlight of our three month holiday Downunder. With luck we shall return!

Heather and Jim Graham

Room Tip: Try for Apartment 13 or one with a balcony overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Our sincere thanks Heather & Jim for your kind and very detailed review. It was our pleasure to be able to accommodate you when you wandered in and we are happy that you felt comfortable and secure at Reef Retreat during your stay. We very much hope to welcome you back.

Warm regards

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Retreat Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Address: 10-14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range: £80 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful rainforest setting, amongst the majestic paperbark trees you will find THE REEF RETREAT, Palm Cove. Just a 30 second stroll, 50 meters to idyllic Palm Cove beach and restaurants. Palm Cove is the jewel of Cairns Northern Beaches, a unique, quiet and relaxing village by the sea where centuries old "paperbark" Melaleuca trees line the casual Esplanade. Just a 25 minute drive north of the Cairns International Airport. The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is a low rise four-star boutique suite style resort set amongst a lush rainforest setting of palms and majestic Melaleuca paperbark trees offering a choice of accommodation from studios, spa suites, 1 Bedroom Suites, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartment. Every room is lovingly laid out and designed to give you all the comforts of home complete with bedroom, bathroom, living area TV/DVD Player, Ipod docks, kitchenette with stovetop and micro-wave, FREE Cable TV, FREE WIFI and spacious private balconies, with views of the pool, lush tropical gardens and the lush green mountains. The Apartment is fully self-contained with laundry facilities. The Resort offers complimentary barbeque and entertainment area for guest use and is licensed to sell Beer, Wine & Spirits for consumption on site. There is a heated salt-water pool and Spa Pool presenting an idyllic Billabong scene, FREE undercover car parking, FREE WIFI and on site guest internet station, Guest Laundry and tour desk services all within a secluded, lush rainforest setting. Reef Retreat can offer you all the personalized, home-style service and facilities that you need for a truly memorable Australian holiday. Ideal holiday getaway for couples and families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing