We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for about 8 days in March and it was great. Only afew others at the resort, it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. Never anyone else at the pool. And spent a couple of night's under the shade sails in the common area - fish&chips, a bottle of wine, candlelight as the rain poured down. It was perfect. Thanks to our hosts. They were lovely & really helpful in advising us on day trips and helped us to choose a brilliant day out on the reef. - Organised all out transport and bookings. We didn't have to do a thing . If you want to stay somewhere private, quiet, no kids, a minute walk from everything...then stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you Christine S for sharing your experience, March is a lovely time to come here and get away from it all it is a very peaceful time of the year in the region. Thank you for your personal comments, we appreciate it and were very happy to assist in arranging your activities. We hope to see you back.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
There are newer reviews for The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Fantastic position, management couldn't try harder to make sure we enjoyed our stay !!
Always been Port Douglas fans till now - Palm Cove , less hassle to get to -- restaurants aplenty , much friendlier atmosphere --- can't wait to return !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seamunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Our thanks Seamunkee for posting your feedback, we are pleased to hear that you are converted to Palm Cove and we look forward to delivering a warm welcome when you return.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We didn't realise we would be in a virtual tree house & was worried at first the amount of steps up to our I bed apartment but got used to it quickly
This is a totally different experience & the rooms were very spacious & clean however the windows have no glass but do have screens & timber shutters
Because the couch doubles as a bed it isn't very comfy to sit & watch TV for long
Great BBQ area & nice pool & hot spa
The biggest downer was not being able to close out noise (with glass windows) from neighbouring guests who 1 night decided to be boisterous on their balcony till the early hours 2.30am!!!!
The managers here were absolutely fabulous but we didn't want to wake them at 2.30am to deal with these mature!! Guests with no regard for fellow guests
Fabulous position close to everything

Room Tip: It's a good idea to check with any North Qld property if any maintenance will be happening durin...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you Bette N for sharing your experience at Reef Retreat. Glass would be great for a few months of the year but the timber louvres are a god send throughout most of the year when the temperatures go above 25 degrees as they allow the apartments to breathe with the cross flow breezes. We are sorry that you were disturbed by noisy guests one night, it is not something that we are used to here as our usual clientele are respectful of the peaceful nature of Reef Retreat and the quiet enjoyment of fellow guests.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were greeted at the reception by the manager Clive, who was very welcoming and interesting to chat to. I love that because you know they (he and Mary) are very "hands on" with everything. We stayed in an apartment located at the far end. Our only advice is to ask not to be over the top of the car park. We were woken every morning at dawn by other guests who drag their bags crashing down the stairs past our apartment then underneath our apartment the cars are revving in and out. The car park is not enclosed so the noise and fumes were an issue for us throughout our stay. But we loved everything else. So just ask to be away from carpark and you will love this wonderful place. Everything else in other reviews is all true, its a great place.

Room Tip: Not over the top of the carpark.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank utopiablokeQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you utopiablokeQld for sharing your experience, were are pleased that you found Reef Retreat to be as others have kindly said on TripAdvisor. We were alarmed by your comments regarding early morning noise from the car park and disappointed that you did not bring the issue to our attention while you were in house. After investigating the matter we found that during your stay our usual linen delivery driver was on holiday, the replacement driver was bringing the van into the car park and leaving the engine running while delivering the clean linen and picking up the dirty linen. We have spoken to the laundry who have now altered their delivery time to a more acceptable 8am and also promised to park outside the property and bring in the laundry from there. We are sorry that you did not say something at the time so that we could have addressed the issue earlier and made your stay more enjoyable.
Thank you for staying, we hope to see you again.
Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is an excellent place to stay while in Palm Cove. It is NOT a hotel. This is an apt like facility. They only clean the room and change linnen every 5 days. Hence know this before booking. The rooms are large and clean. The pool is delightful and the Staff are very friendly and helpful. They will help you book your tours and give you the straight scoop on which are the best tour companies and arrange everything for you. It is about a block from the beach, but the rates are better because of it and it is wonderful to get out and walk to the beach and the village.

An great place to rest and relax and enjoy a vacation and go see the Great Barrier Reef

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munro1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner / Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review Munro1954, it is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in a studio apartment at Reef Retreat. As you point out the Reef Retreat ( like most other properties in Palm Cove) is an apartment style property as highlighted in all our advertising and marketing. When staying for 4 nights or less as you did a service is not included however guests can change towels free of charge or choose to include a daily service in the room rate for a nominal fee. Rather than opt for a weekly service schedule like most other apartment style properties at Reef Retreat when guests stay for 5 nights housekeeping fully service the apartment on the third day. Housekeeping information is available on our website on the FAQ page.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the pool area, it is a lovely spot.
Many thanks for staying and for sharing your experience.
Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I found it a nice relaxing place to spend our week exploring Cairns and the surrounding areas. The room was comfortable and we slept well each night. There is an open area outside that is under cover with lounges and an nice BBQ area that we used one night. The laundry which consists of a washing machine and dryer was very useful and easy to use. The management was helpful the whole time we stayed here, always friendly and happy to chat. The only thing they could not do was control the weather as it rained most of the time we were here. So we did not go to the reef, but we had seen it before so no great loss. It is in easy walking distance to the beach and all the restaurants in the area. It is a nice place to relax and feel like you are on holidays.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience Peter L, we are glad that you had a comfortable stay at Reef Retreat and were able to have a good explore of the region. We have had a strange weather pattern over the past month or so, with rainy days on and off, very strange and not usual at all, looking good today though so fingers crossed things are back on track weather wise.
Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This resort is amazing! Firstly a big thanks to owners Clive and Mary for accommodating an early check in for us as our flight from Perth arrived very early! They also enabled us to have a late check out, which made our day much easier. Big thanks!

Clive, Mary and Gerry were very honest and helpful when it came to booking our tours. Gerry was able to tell us what day the weather looked the nicest and she organised our booking with a highly recommended company. All of our tours were booked through reception who ensured we always got the best available price.

The rooms and facilities at the resort are impeccably clean and modern throughout. We had a second floor studio overlooking the pool and it was lovely to sit on the balcony and watch the lights dancing around the trees at night. As other reviewers have noted, it's like being in your own little treehouse! Perfect accommodation, perfect location, perfect hosts and staff, I have nothing negative to say and will be recommending to everyone I talk to!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Breanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Many thanks Breanna H for your review, we do our best to assist with early/late check ins when we can and are glad that we were able to arrange for you, we really appreciate your thanks.
Thank you for staying and for your kind comments.

Clive & Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
0.2 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Retreat Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Address: 10-14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range: £81 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful rainforest setting, amongst the majestic paperbark trees you will find THE REEF RETREAT, Palm Cove. Just a 30 second stroll, 50 meters to idyllic Palm Cove beach and restaurants. Palm Cove is the jewel of Cairns Northern Beaches, a unique, quiet and relaxing village by the sea where centuries old "paperbark" Melaleuca trees line the casual Esplanade. Just a 25 minute drive north of the Cairns International Airport. The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is a low rise four-star boutique suite style resort set amongst a lush rainforest setting of palms and majestic Melaleuca paperbark trees offering a choice of accommodation from studios, spa suites, 1 Bedroom Suites, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartment. Every room is lovingly laid out and designed to give you all the comforts of home complete with bedroom, bathroom, living area TV/DVD Player, Ipod docks, kitchenette with stovetop and micro-wave, FREE Cable TV, FREE WIFI and spacious private balconies, with views of the pool, lush tropical gardens and the lush green mountains. The Apartment is fully self-contained with laundry facilities. The Resort offers complimentary barbeque and entertainment area for guest use and is licensed to sell Beer, Wine & Spirits for consumption on site. There is a heated salt-water pool and Spa Pool presenting an idyllic Billabong scene, FREE undercover car parking, FREE WIFI and on site guest internet station, Guest Laundry and tour desk services all within a secluded, lush rainforest setting. Reef Retreat can offer you all the personalized, home-style service and facilities that you need for a truly memorable Australian holiday. Ideal holiday getaway for couples and families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing