We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

this hotel has been top quality in the past. However our experience in may 2014 is that it has become tired. Whilst the suite was great, the lounge looked as if it should be on the tip. Clearing of twigs and leaves from the plastic covering of the restaurant areas appears to be non existant. to me a distinct fire hazard. No lifts in our area meant dragging our bags up two flights of stairs. Staff were great. Food great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool area toward the rear appear best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themansunshinecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear themansunshineco,

Thank you for your feedback.

Our soft room refurbishment continues with our final phase to be conducted in November - all wicker lounges are being removed and being replaced with a modern chaise lounge. The roof top cleans are currently stalled due to working at heights legislation - which will be resolved imminently.
Please return and thank you for mentioning the great food & service!

Best,
Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,784 - 1,790 of 2,462 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We were counting down the days until our holiday and unfortunately we were counting down the days until we left.

The only restaurant/cafe/bar was under refurbishment which is fine, but we were not told even though reception claimed to have sent us an email informing us. I said that I had received several emails reminding me to prepay but not about the refurb works. They didn't believe me however after talking to other guests they said they had lot received notification either. Just poor management and communication. To have no room service, no bar, no cafe, and only a five item pool bar menu available is not really five star and not what you expect when you are paying $400 a night!

Buffet breakfast was poor and overcrowded and was in their function room. The quality of food was 3 star and not really the ideal start to the day!

Wireless in the room was very slow and the "free movies" were just scheduled Foxtel movies and not something you should say was "included" in your package. Housekeeping daily service was simply changing over towels and not much more than that. Again, not five star.

We loved palm cove, but will stay away from Peppers next time, and warn other people of the same.

Stayed: June 2014
10  Thank Cooperspale69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Cooperpale69,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise sincerely.

Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Waste of money. 3 1/2 star at best but they have the nerve to charge 5 star prices. Restaurant under refurbishment so breakfast (foul) is in a conference centre. Horrid lack of service. Fruit old and tasteless (although neighbouring restaurants had lovely fresh juicy fruit). Only 5 items available for food during the day and none at night. Rooms dirty and "service" means new towels and a bench wipe. Did not enjoy sand in my bed as a result. Even basic AAA markers like a bin in the bathroom are missing. I have stayed in resorts all over the world and can say this is the first time I feel completely ripped off.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ajr1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Ajr1980,

Thank you for your feedback - there is no good time to renovate a hotel restaurant.
We are renovating due to a number of factors, one of which is the historical feedback we have received from our valued guests on the restaurant from sites such as TA. We look forward to presenting a great new space on June 26. In the interim all our guests are being catered for as best we possibly can given our options.
I apologise that you felt we did not meet the basic standards on this occasion.

Sincerely,

Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Management of this hotel should be ashamed to charge what they do, and treat guests so poorly. The hotel restaurant was under refurb and we were not told. When we complained, the staff made it sound like it was OUR fault for not getting the communication sent to "everyone". They later admitted some guests were not informed. I have never seen a hotel call a guest a liar. Pity all the other families by the poor were also not told. There was a triathlon on and again, we were not informed. So we were trapped at the hotel with all roads closed. Rooms are well appointed but there are no blinds on the windows so both bedrooms were lighter than broad daylight - all night. It is now day 3 of no sleep. WE arrived at 11am and were told our checkin would be prioritised. We watched circa 40 people get checked in before our room was ready (and reception had to go help housekeeping get it ready) - so clearly they had NOT prioritised our check in. There were two weddings on the weekend and it seems that is all the hotel cared about. So unless you plan on having an event here, do not stay. You will be treated rudely, you won't sleep, and although SOME of the staff are friendly, you will have to look pretty hard to actually find out. A resort run cheaply to maximise profit for the owners, not to enhance guest experiences.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Julie R,

Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated and valued.
Iron man brings some 27 million to our region and our restaurant was in dire need of refurbishment.
I apologise that you did not receive communications on each of these as our intent was to ensure all our guests were made aware of same.
All guests were able to leave the resort on the Sunday with the trip to Cairns taking just on one hour -only some 20 minutes more than normal.

Kind regards,

Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We are lucky. We have stayed in a lot of resorts over the years, throughout south east Asia, the Pacific and in Australia. Peppers Palm Cove has a great "pool beach" and some of the staff excelled, but overall we felt that the standards were not as high as should be expected for the money.

On arrival we were greeted by reception with relative coolness. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't sharp but it wasn't smiley friendly as you might expect.

We had a two bedroom suite and the rooms were fantastic in size with big comfortable beds and good furniture and a fully kitted out kitchen. But little things just weren't spot on. When we arrived, housekeeping had left a prior guest's dirty towel hanging on the bathroom door. The floors were still gritty and the in-room mini bar and tea and coffee facilities hadn't been properly restocked. It may be nit-picky but the glassware seemed to be of the cheapest variety possible. Other places have such things of better quality.

We had a toddler in tow and she absolutely loved all the pools. Our room backed onto the Serenity Pool and it was quite special to be able to walk out of our spacious living area and onto a personal deck beside the pool. The spa on the other balcony was a nice feature (that we didn't actually use). It was unfortunate that either someone before us or staying in a room above us felt that it was OK to flick their cigarette butts onto the deck, leaving us to clean them up.

Breakfasts were OK but not spectacular. There is no "cooked to order" hot meals and we found the French toast and pancakes not as fluffy as should be and the pastry and fruit selections light on.

The gardens were beautiful and the beach pool had ample room for everyone to find a spot to play. Every morning of our 5 night stay was spent wallowing around in this feature and this alone was worth the price of admission for the 3 year old.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank tony_mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear tony_mo,

Thank you for your feedback. Our restaurant & kitchen are currenlty undergoing major refurbishment, we look forward to showcasing our all new food & beverage offerings.

Chef will also be releasing a new menu on July 1.

Kind regards,

Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was our third return to Peppers at Port Douglas. A fantastic location close to Macrossman St and restaurants and a quick walk to the main beach out the back if the resort. We were in a lagoon ground floor room with pool access from the room. We like the dedicated lounges which is a must in peak time. During March lounge access is not a problem so if you can go for a ground floor with pool access through the garden - better priced option. We didn't take the breakfast option as prefer to cook our own or walk into town - no pressure on time then. If you arrive on a Sunday watch the restaurant is not open - we were caught out on the first night. Room itself is very clean and spacious with all facilities - the in room washer and dryer makes the trip easy and you can load and leave ( which is not possible when using shared facilities). More time for going out and the beach. Overall a great place to stay and the service is good. As with all reviews watch the car park, going slow down the very steep ramp makes it easy.

Room Tip: If you want to not worry about a sun lounge, book a ground floor swim out lagoon room. They have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Gary M,

Thank you for your feedback on Peppers Port Douglas I have forwarded this onto Jeremy the GM.

Kind regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Peppers in Palm Cove for a weekend retreat in May. The resort is very pretty and the location is wonderful. Within walking distance of restaurants and bars. The staff were very welcoming and professional. I had an early morning flight from Cairns so my shuttle to the airport left the resort at 3.45am. The night manager was exceptional when I checked out,made me a great coffee and kept me company until my shuttle bus arrived. Also the resort has the most beautiful paper bark trees I think I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrywhitaker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear kerrywhitaker23,

Thank you for your feedback we appreciate it very much.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon - thank you for acknowledging our great overnight team - they are often forgotten in 'hotel land'!

Kind regards,

Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
359 reviews
21.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.7 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club & Spa

Address: 123 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: £103 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peppers Beach Club & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club & Spa offers a range of accommodation, from elegant suites and spa rooms, to one and two bedroom penthouses with private rooftop terraces, BBQs and a plunge pool or jacuzzi. All rooms are serviced daily and offer guests free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, TV, FOXTEL, minibar. The beach lagoon takes pride of place, gently lapping against a white sandy beach surrounded by swaying palm trees. Amenities include tennis, lap pool, gymnasium, Salt Beauty & Spa and Lime & Pepper Restaurant. The restaurant is open seven days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. On the Rocks Cafe Pool Bar is open daily for in-house guests (seasonal & weather dependant). Venture outside of the resort and will find yourself in the heart of Palm Cove. Embark on a day trip into Cairns or explore the wonders of the Daintree, Mossman Gorge and Cape Tribulation. Ride the famous Scenic Railway train to Kuranda or visit Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Peppers Beach Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Hotel Palm Cove
Peppers Beach Club And Spa
Peppers Beach Hotel
Peppers Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing