We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort, but noisy...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband, 15 month old son and I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite at Peppers Palm Cove for 3 nights in June. The suite was HUGE and fully self contained (including laundry, full kitchen & BBQ on the balcony). It's actually more than 1 bedroom, as there's another room off the bedroom, which has a sofabed in it (and can be completely closed off - great for our son to sleep in!).
We hired a portacot from Peppers, saving us the hassle of taking ours along. We stayed in the 'Serenity' wing, which was supposed to be the most peaceful as furthest away from the reception/ main pool. Unfortunately the bedroom has a full wall of windows facing out to the hall, and as there are voids through to all levels, noise from guests walking on any of the levels was very clear (as there wasn't a sound barrier). There were also fixed louvre screens, which let light into the room from the hall, so the rooms were quite bright all night (I ended up putting towels over them to try to keep some of the light out, as reception couldn't do anything else). NB: this wouldn't be an issue for the spa room, as they are separated from the hall by the suites.

The staff are all very friendly.

The breakfast was lovely - a full buffet breakfast with a great range of items (I'm not sure why some people have made less favourable comments about it - I couldn't fault it!).

The pool was absolutely wonderful. It isn't heated, so it relies on lots of sun to keep it warm, but we were happy swimming in there in late June. They have loads of toys for guests to use, so great to keep the kids entertained, and best of all it's protected from the winds that can cause havoc up there - it was blowing a gale on the beach and we didn't notice it at all in the pool! The pool bar has a good selection of drinks (Cocktails!) and food, although service is a little slow...

Overall we enjoyed our stay - just be mindful to be specific about your sleeping needs when booking.

Room Tip: If you have young children, ask to be away from the reception venue, as they have lots of weddings t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sydneysummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Sydneysummer,

Thank you for your feedback it is valued. We always try to please our guests and sleeping preferences are always challenging!
Thank you for recognising our great breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,622 of 2,330 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We got a great 2 bed apartment for a one week stay here. Perfect setup for a family. There are two large pools, around which most accommodation faces in to. We saw a quiet tranquility pool at the rear of the hotel which looked a good option if you were kid-free. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are good generally. Free parking was helpful. Only negatives were the breakfast, which was ordinary, slow free wifi and the shortage of sun chairs when it was busy - however I would recommend this place if you have young kids.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Colin D,

Thank you for your feedback it is valued.

We look forward to welcoming you & your family back again as soon as you can make it.

Kind regards,

Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We recently had a family trip to Palm Cove and stayed in a 2 Bedroom Apartment at Peppers Beach Club.

This is a lovely resort, good size rooms/apartments, great pool and all of the staff we dealt with were very pleasant. I would recommend this property to families as you have kitchen facilities to prepare some meals if you wish to.

The only things I didn't like (and these are personal, it didn't spoil our trip) - the apartment we stayed in was quite dark as we had to keep the shutters closed so that people couldn't see in as they were walking past. The living area also didn't get much light either. Also they didn't have any mats at the doors so if you had been playing in the lagoon pool or beach then you would bring it into the apartment.

Good resort and a great location if you want to be close to all the restaurants in Palm Cove.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BjhTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear BjhTravels,

Thank you for your feedback it is valued. We are currently reviewing the lighting.

We look forward to welcoming you back again - soon.

Kind regards,

Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spend 3 nights in the Pepper's Beach Club as part of a family reunion. We shared a 2 bedroom apartment with our eldest son and his 3 year old daughter. The apartment had one front door, but the here were two more entry doors to each apartment, one was a studio room with a deluxe spa bath on the balcony. The 2nd apartment was equipped with a full kitchen, dining- and sitting room with balcony (the 2 balconies could be made into 1), a separate bedroom with en suite and laundry. As a family we could use both apartments, which made it very comfortable. There are many different apartments ( our daughter had an extra room with a old-out couch and her friend had a penthouse with an extra floor for entertaining including private swimming pool. Most of the apartments are situated around the beautiful lagoon pool, some of them are in front with Ocean view. The building keeps out the cool afternoon winter winds from the Ocean, so the temperatures around the pool was lovely, water a bit cool. Mainly younger families, but us oldies also had a wonderful time.

Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AWCostless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear AWCostless,

Thank you for your feedback it is valued.

We look forward to welcoming you back again. Peppers is ideal for a family reunion!

Kind regards,

Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent three nights at Peppers Beach Club Palm Cove in the June/July school holidays. The resort was at full capacity during our stay and is clearly popular with families. We had the pleasure of staying in a 2 bedroom apartment on the second level overlooking the serenity pool. The apartment had a "wow" factor on entering, was very spacious and nicely furnished. The spa bath on the deck and bbq added to the enjoyment of our stay. We had breakfast included in our stay which we enjoyed each morning along with that wonderful view. The lagoon pool had a lovely setting but it was disappointing on our walk to breakfast each morning to see ALL of the sun lounges had been reserved. There were hardly any people making use of the pool at this time, however towels and belongings had been laid out by selfish guests so they could secure their spot for the day. This is a problem at a lot of resorts in Australia and around the world and is no doubt an awkward situation for management to deal with. The pool was lovely to swim in and the sand bottom felt lovely underfoot. As mentioned the resort was at full capacity and it was full of families. I think the resort suits both families and couples however I would suggest if you are not the type of person who loves children do not go during the school holidays. We travelled with our 7 year old son and even my husband on our return said he would certainly return to this resort however it would be out of school holidays.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the serenity pool were quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neepfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear neepfamily,

Thank you for your feedback it is valued.
The 'sun lounge' issue plagues many resorts world wide as you kindly note - thank you!
Any solutions can be direct to me via the resort.

Kind regards,

Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here for a week with two older children (11 and 14). As other reviewers have said, this hotel is very popular with younger families and the preschool crowd were out in force. The lagoon pool with its beach is great for kids and the swim up bar is great for grownups, but we really loved the serenity rainforest pool at the back of the property. It was pretty cold for swimming in July but I can imagine the shady tropical setting would be fabulous on a hot sticky day. It is also a serene, child free zone, unlike the lagoon pool.The lagoon pool was heated just enough for swimming in July and the formal pool next door was one or two degrees warmer.
We had a lagoon spa two bedroom suite which was very well equipped as we self catered several meals. The spa bath on the balcony is a nice touch and the wooden louvres every where give that tropical feel. Decor is tastefully neutral with dark wood accents.
Had a massage at the spa which was fine but nothing special and a meal at the in-house Lime and Pepper restaurant, ditto. Reception staff were helpful printing off a map for our self drive trip to the Daintree and the concierge came promptly to try and fix our units clothes dryer when it broke.
We paid around $300 a night on a deal through Entertainment Books, which seemed a good deal. I cant believe some people would pay the regular $5-700 a night, which seems slightly crazy.
If you are a couple looking for quiet, ask for a room in the serenity pool wing, away from the kids out front.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for the serenity wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saskiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Saskiwi,

Thank you for your feedback it is valued. Glad you enjoyed the serenity pool!

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards,

Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had 8 nights in Palm Cove to escape cold wintry Melbourne. Temperature was 25-27 degrees which was pleasant - though some of the locals said it was cooler than usual. Ideally located 25 minutes from Cairns International Airport and across the road to the beach. As a 5 star hotel it has all the facilities - 3 pools, one of which is a serenity pool (no children in this area), also swim up bar which was busy with cocktail making. Tennis court, air-conditioned gymnasium, spa and conference centre, undercover car park, newspaper delivered daily to your door (if you ask). It is a large complex (3 storeys high) and during school holidays (parts of July and Sept) it is very busy. Outside this time the pools are populated by parents with pre-school age children - cute. We had a 1 bedroom with kitchen/lounge and balcony. Kitchen was compact, dining/lounge was comfortable and TV had cable channels, also a DVD player. Balcony had table, chairs and comfortable lounge. Bathroom was large with a sliding door offering a washing machine/dryer and sink. Plenty of room inside the bathroom with walk-in shower (with a slightly awkward door mechanism), lots of mirrors, basin, toilet and some storage. Shutters in the bathroom were good for ventilation and didn't seem to let in many insects. Their main dining area is called Lime and Pepper and we had a pleasant meal there and some nice wine. All the cleaning staff were extremely friendly and Reception was efficient.
This is our third visit to Palm Cove since 1986. Palm Cove is still a quiet, peaceful location, though more holiday accommodation is being built. The rule of no buildings taller than the brilliant stringy bark eucalypts and palm trees means buildings along the esplanade are a maximum of 3 storeys high. There are mini supermarkets along the esplanade or 2Km away to Clifton Beach for a large Supermarket. Plenty of restaurants on offer. NuNu's and Reef House for fine dining, Il Forno for pizza (but not cannelloni), The Rising Sun for casual dining and our favourite Vivo (for breakfast, lunch, dinner and great coffee). There are some good quality shops in front of Peppers - Lamu for jewellery and Etre for lovely shirts/dresses etc.

We had a lovely quiet break this visit but in the past we have enjoyed sightseeing to Hartleys Crocodile Farm, Skytrain, Daintree River/Cap Tribulation area, Quick Silver out of Port Douglas to snorkel Great Barrier Reef etc. Either way you look at it Palm Cove is an ideal holiday location. Heather C - Melbourne

Room Tip: A room at the back of the complex which doesn't overlook the two main pools is likely to be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Heather C,

Thank you for your feedback it is valued. We look forward to welcoming you back again and are delighted you enjoyed all the touring options North Queensalnd has on offer.

Palm Cove is a gem!

Kind regards,

Chris & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
353 reviews
21.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.7 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club & Spa

Address: 123 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: £134 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peppers Beach Club & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club & Spa offers a range of accommodation, from elegant suites and spa rooms, to one and two bedroom penthouses with private rooftop terraces, BBQs and a plunge pool or jacuzzi. All rooms are serviced daily and offer guests free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, TV, FOXTEL, minibar. The beach lagoon takes pride of place, gently lapping against a white sandy beach surrounded by swaying palm trees. Amenities include tennis, lap pool, gymnasium, Salt Beauty & Spa and Lime & Pepper Restaurant. The restaurant is open seven days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. On the Rocks Cafe Pool Bar is open daily for in-house guests (seasonal & weather dependant). Venture outside of the resort and will find yourself in the heart of Palm Cove. Embark on a day trip into Cairns or explore the wonders of the Daintree, Mossman Gorge and Cape Tribulation. Ride the famous Scenic Railway train to Kuranda or visit Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Beach Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club And Spa
Peppers Beach Club Hotel Palm Cove
Peppers Beach Hotel
Peppers Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing