We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean and friedly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean and friedly”
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed in Palm Cove on a last minute deal off-peak and got a great rate on this luxury hotel. We arrived well in advance of our check-in time but aware of the fact that we were travel-weary and desperate for some rest they quickly found us an alternative room which we found to be spacious and clean. There was a heated spa-bath on the balcony and a double-sized shower in the modern bathroom. The main hotel swimming pool was lovely with a white sand floor which sloped gently from the water to palm trees that surrounded it. The staff were cheery and friendly and very helpful. The only negative was the lack of free internet access; you could hire a laptop for the day but I just wanted somewhere to check my emails/banking and didn't want to pay over the odds for it. However I would definately recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iainrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,116
    641
    216
    54
    33
See reviews for
648
1,035
46
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Good quality hotel. Stayed in a one bedroom suite with a friend and enjoyed the extra space; a big living room, kitchen and small laundry. Also had balcony overlooking the lagoon pool which was awesome.
Staff were okay, not particularly welcoming but were efficient.
The hotel has the potential to be brilliant but was a little frayed arounfd the edges and could improve on little things such as the loungers by the pool were a bit worn and the blue towels a bit old.
On the plus side we tried two of the restaurants at the hotel which were brilliant, especially the Thai, fantastic food and service and a great price. My friend loved the spa but it was a bit pricey, but that was to be expected.
Palm Cove is beautiful, right on the beach. It has a few shops, hotels and restuarants and a pub. It was pretty quiet at night but peaceful if that's what your looking for. The hotel can arrange day trips etc.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyLaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

This resort has a lot to offer but is being badly let down by staff and management.
The grounds of the resort are above average. Having three swimming pools was great, and the 'beach' swimming pool is great for kids--although it is way too warm. We tried a couple of the restaurants attached to the resort and they were excellent. The rooms are perfectly okay. Nothing to complain about but also nothing to get too excited about.
The big problem with this hotel is the staff and the management. The hotel failed to note our request for a cot made at the time of booking and when we rang reception to ask for the cot for the second time we were told we would need to pay for a room upgrade. This only got resolved by a lot of shouting and a free upgrade after they acknowledged their error. The service didn't get much better from there. We resorted to leaving notes to the cleaning staff telling them what needed doing--i.e, vacuuming, changing bed sheets etc. Wait staff were dismissive at best. I don't expect to be fawned on, but i also don't expect to be ignored. Inclusive breakfast was one of the worst I've had. Their final act was to stuff up our transfer to the airport, but at least the concierge had the brains to sort it out.
All in all a resort that should be doing a lot better, especially given the amount of competition in Palm Cove (which, btw, is fantastic).

  • Liked — Three swimming very nice pools
  • Disliked — Staff and management
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppersManager, Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback. It pleases me to note you enjoyed the resort facilities including the pools and Lime & Pepper Restaurant.
I am disappointed to hear that the service you received did not meet your expectations as we receive many great comments on service and the friendliness of our staff.
I am regretful that I was not made aware of your housekeeping issues during your stay, as there are processes in place to quickly remedy any issues that may arise.
Once again we do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We have taken all of your comments on board and value your feedback as it is an integral part of our aim to maximise service to our guests.
Kind Regards,
Ryan Newton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Mids
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

Cannot believe the poor reviews for this excellent hotel. Our view was that it was the best but by no means the most expensive during our month in Australia. We booked a spa room but upgraded at very modest cost (less than £10 per night) to a Deluxe Spa Room. In any other hotel this would have been a very expensive suite - it came with separate bedroom, complete kitchen including laundry and spa (jacuzzi) on the balcony. Everything was very comfortable, modern and smart. Admittedly we did most of our own catering but with a room like that and after long days sightseeing or on the wonderful beaches in the area it was a real retreat/haven for the evenings. The hotel's pools are excellent and the gym was perfectly adequate for us - we train seriously 4/5 times a week and although it was small we found enough equipment for a good workout - what's more we always had it to ourselves which is a great bonus! The staff were always friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Bright, big and modern
  • Disliked — Stairs might have been an issue for some with no lift
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasonedTraveller055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jklmo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We booked a 2 bedroom spa suite for 4 adults and one baby. The room was clean and pleasent the how ever the living area was not quite big enough to accomidate the 6 person dining table. However it had a big private courtyard with pleanty of room outside.
The pool area was lovely - could do with more shaded areas for the kids. Great swim up bar and pleanty of sun loungers arround the pool. The lap pool was shaded and a bit colder - best for midday.
You could not ask for a better location and the resurant has great beach veiws to enjoy while you eat.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jklmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2008

I stayed at this resort when it was an Outrigger about 3 years ago and had a great stay. I really can't believe how run down it has become since then. To start with it is very expensive to stay even though the resort was about 30% full (as told to me by a staff member). On the surface the resort looks great but when walking around you can see how run down it really is from the pool area to the lobby but especially the rooms. Our room was barely cleaned during our week stay. We were even in the room when housekeeping came in and it took them a total of 3 minutes to clean. No change of linen or any new amenitites, no vacuuming of the floors. There was mould in the bathroom and on the walls but this was never cleaned. Luckly they provide a small broom so we did it ourselves. Not bad when paying over $300 a night. The restaurant was terrible. Overpriced and food very average. We went to the other restaurants in the resort which are run seperately and these were excellent. I tried to speak with Management but was told they are too busy to speak with me. Overall not good value for money. When i stay at a 5 star resort i at least expect my room to be cleaned every day. Alot of better resorts to stay at in Palm Cove which we will be doing next time

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewsimmo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2008

Palm cove is a beautiful place I recommend you visit, but please do not stay at Peppers ,do yourself a favor choose one of the other hotels located close by. Peppers is not good value for money and has no clue about providing customer service. We did not enjoy our stay at Peppers for the following reasons ; poor quality staff, unclean room, hotel amenities not what is shown on the web site, unsecure and unsafe room, poor room service choice, no hotel or local information provided in the room and complete lack of assistance from staff.
We tried in a friendly way on numerous occasion to speak to the mangement and were ignored we have tried following our stay to alert them of their poor level of service but again have been ignored.
Everyone has different stories to tell but going to Peppers just isnt worth the risk of what could otherwise be a fantastic holiday in a location that lives up to expectations.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service and amenities
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CorriganPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Cove
0.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
314 reviews
21.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Beach Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club & Spa

Property: Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Address: 123 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club & Spa is set in the heart of charming Palm Cove village in Tropical North Queensland offering the perfect place to indulge in tropical relaxation. This idyllic intimate beachfront destination is situated at the start of the beautiful coastal drive to Port Douglas and majestic Daintree Rainforest and only 20 minutes from Cairns airport. The resort offers a range of accommodation, from elegant suites and spa rooms, to one and two bedroom penthouses with private rooftop terraces, BBQs and a plunge pool or jacuzzi. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen and laundrette and takes full advantage of its surroundings with views to the ocean, pools, gardens or mountain ranges beyond. All rooms are serviced daily and offer guests free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, TV, FOXTEL, in-room safe, fridge, minibar and tea and coffee facilities. Our Serenity Wing has a selection of suites offering entertainment areas with gas barbecues on the balcony and a private rainforest pool. To achieve total relaxation you won't ever need to leave Peppers Beach Club & Spa. The beach lagoon takes pride of place, gently lapping against a white sandy beach surrounded by swaying palm trees. Swim up to the pool bar or dine overlooking the Coral Sea. Other diversions include tennis, lap pool, gymnasium, boutique shopping and the Salt Beauty & Spa, with its signature massages, revitalising facial treatments and soothing body treatments. Lime & Pepper Restaurant offers a combination of eccentric cuisine incorporating distinct flavours of the tropics utilising a variety of local produce. The visual appeal of the chef's creations complements Lime & Pepper's unique beachside location and uninterrupted views of stunning Palm Cove. The restaurant is open seven days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. On the Rocks Cafe Pool Bar is open daily for in-house guests (seasonal & weather dependant). Venture outside of the resort and will find yourself in the heart of Palm Cove. There's something for everyone, with an abundance of activities ranging from reef tours, scuba diving and deep sea fishing adventures to white water rafting, evening dinner cruises and rainforest walks. Embark on a day trip into Cairns or explore the wonders of the Daintree, Mossman Gorge and Cape Tribulation. Ride the famous Scenic Railway train to Kuranda or visit Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park. The resort is perfect for a memorable romantic interlude or second honeymoon, family hideaway, wedding, birthday or a well deserved break from the rigours of modern life. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival com au. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Peppers Beach Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Hotel Palm Cove
Peppers Beach Club And Spa
Peppers Beach Hotel
Peppers Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing