We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I have just learned a huge lesson - NEVER book accomodation without checking the reviews on Tripadvisor first! Firstly, the pictures on the website for Paradise on the Beach are very deceiving and misleading to say the least. What you see is certainly not what you get. As other reviewers have posted, we booked a "beachfront studio", walked in the room and were looking at a brick wall. The web pictures indicate you will have a large glass door looking out to the ocean front - not so! To see the ocean we had to go out onto a very small side patio through a small glass door, if you looked straight toward the ocean there was a very dirty tin roof right in front of the handrail, so you had to look to the left, but only just otherwise you were lookingat the rooms of the resort next door. The door frame leading to the patio was so dirty it obviously had not been cleaned for some time and you couldn't lean on the handrail for thick dust. The room itself had a very unpleasant musty smell which we thought might go once aired a bit but it never did, the bathroom (even though described as "luxury" on the website which is so not true) is very small with very little room on the bench top, a tiny bathtub with an old shower head over it which kept falling towards the wall so was difficult to have a shower. There was "body" hair on the bathroom floor, head hair stuck to the side of the bath and a few dead bugs in the bath. The floor throughout the whole unit felt dirty so we kept our shoes on at all times. Overall to me, it looked as though possibly this unit hadn't been used recently and then it wasn't swept out or wiped down in anyway before we got there. If that's not the case and it had been used just prior to us, then the cleaning staff are not doing their job properly. Perhaps the owners should be doing spot checks more often. Upon arrival at reception, the owner (Jan) appeared cool and unfriendly which is not a nice way to be greeted - it was very unwelcoming. I know I will probably cop a backlash from the owners because I didn't complain while we were there, but sometimes when you've worked hard all week and you're just so looking forward to this little getaway for the weekend (which we treat ourselves to only once a year at this time for our birthdays), the last thing you want is to get all worked up and face any sort of confrontation when really, we should have just got what we paid for in the first place and what the web pictures indicated we would get. We paid $185 which is so overpriced once you see it, and, the money was taken from my credit card the day I booked it directly with the owner (5 days prior to our stay) which I thought was a little rude as most places take your card details for security only and then you're not charged until check out. Another reason I didn't say anything while we were there was because I felt by the greeting first received by Jan, that any sort of complaints would probably not be looked upon favourably. Another reviewers comments have confirmed that for me. To say something positive about this place, the bed linen was nice and the pool area was nice and quiet. A suggestion to the owners - hop in the pool, go under the waterfall coming off the spa above and look up, there is a long crack which looks as though the spa floor is cracking and could come down at any moment - it looked very dangerous. We couldn't get the spa to work either, we pressed the button a few times but it wouldn't come on. So to anyone reading this, please take mine and the many other negative comments seriously and do not stay at this resort - you will be wasting your hard earned money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 2wishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    199
    34
    6
    6
See reviews for
96
377
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here for 4 days as part of our honeymoon trip. We had what should have been a lovely room at the front overlooking the ocean, but, the room was filthy! After showering & walking barefoot around the room for just a few mins our feet were black! We are forgiving by nature and appreciate that cleaners are only human & may have just forgotten to wash the floor, but, instead of receiving an apology, and a solution, by offering us an assurance that a cleaner would be sent to the room ...we were met by rudeness & a shrug of the shoulders from a lady in reception who couldn't care less....I told her we were on our honeymoon & she didn't even answer! She told us that there weren't any cleaners on duty until the day after tomorrow & that she couldn't do anything, then added that we would just have to 'get on with it!' The management need to teach their staff good customer relations...a situation like ours can be totally diffused by a smile and an apology. If we had been met by some empathy, a smile, & some basic good manners, I would not be writing this now. We left feeing that we had been duped & that they just didn't care what we thought. We love Australia & also love Aussies, finding them warm & friendly & with a great sense of 'fair play', so this encounter was a bit of a suprise.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripilty, General Manager at Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Hi Mollie, thank you for your comments. I take on board what you write, however I have no recollection of this incident, although on the dates you quote it occurred some 11 months ago. I do point out that February is our worst time of the year with Cyclones howling in on us and we generally have few staying with us at that time and in fact February last year was when we got belted by Yasi. It would have been helpful if you had requested to see me at the time, and perhaps I could have done something to make your stay more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Palm Cove is one of our favourite places and Paradise on the Beach is well positioned on the front.

We were a bit worried when we arrived to see the Apres Bar now fronting the resort and were pleased to find our room a 1 bedroom apartment was at the rear well away from any possible noise. The room was spacious and simple.

When we stayed there the pool area was very un-crowded and we always had a lounger with no towel race.

It is very close to a number of restaurants so no cooking is necessary but it was good to have our own kitchen and there is a little supermarket close by.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This was our second visit to this establishment and once again we have come away relaxed and refreshed from a week in Paradise. Our room was cleaned every day (except Sunday, as per the norm) with bed linen changed once and fresh towels when required. The location is so convenient- beach across the road, and central to many restaurants from inexpensive to haute cuisine. Supermarket is either opposite or a short walk further down road if preferred, where both have most essential items. We were not interested in catering meals but used them for minor items and food.

All the restaurants we visited were good - some better than others but no complaints. This year seemed busier with more tourists, particularly Europeans. Great to have them down under! Staff at Paradise were friendly and complimented the general atmosphere of the whole town.

We will definitely come back when next we visit the Cove!

Room Tip: Most rooms look onto the pool area. Noisy garbage trucks seem to visit the laneway every day but at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank statschap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripilty, Manager at Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Thanks you for your kind words -it makes us happy to know that another guest has enjoyed his stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We liked the design and it was clean and tidy.
The ladies at the desk were really friendly and helpful.
We loved Palm Cove and the calm and beauty of it. Fantastic beaches, clean and just a few meters away from the resort. You only had to cross the street.

It was a pity our rooms were located in the part next to the restaurants and shops on the left hand side of the resort, which meant that we heard quite a lot of noise coming from cars and trucks/lorries driving up the ally next to the hotel, delivering to the businesses there. Also, the kitchen equipment left to be desired. Very basic.

Apart from that, it was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena061010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripilty, Manager at Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you for your comments - I have to agree about the trucks. Although most of the drivers are fairly considerate and endeavour to minimise the noise, some yahoos spoil the serenity from time to time. Worst day is Friday, when all the restaurants in the area are stocking up for the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Having pre booked a sea front room,we were put into a side facing room.On complaining was told by the owner they only had two sea views rooms and that they were occupied."But you can see the sea from the room ,"We retorted Only if you lean forward on the balcony and look to the front..However was promised my booked room would be available following day.This did happen,but I felt a defensive and begrudging solution to our complaint was offered.I would also mention that bed linen was not changed over the four days in the room,and would also point out ,that the Hotel ,which advertised tea and coffee service in the room had strings attatched.
When the small carton of milk provided ran out,was told that any further supply had to be paid for.(65cents) .What a penny pinching attitude to take.Towards guests who had travelled half way round the world
On the whole I would suggest the owners are in the wrong profesion,and the title Hotel is a misnomer . Their attitude could have spoilt our visit should we have let it.

Room Tip: Demand you get what was booked and not a poor substitute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidlandsGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripilty, Manager at Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
We actually have 3 units which we advertise as beachfront - 1 is a 1 bedroom suite and the other 2 are studios. The 2 studios are identical except that the 1st floor one has a balcony overlooking Peppers Beach Club's gardens and entrance and down to the Beach & sand to the right. The second one is on the floor above and it's outlook is directly over the beach. Because both units have a clear view of the Beach - that is the way we describe them. Initially you were booked into the lower unit and when you complained about this after your 1st night here, we attempted to appease you, by rearranging our booking register (in peak season this is no mean feat) and moved you to the 2nd floor unit where we thought you were quite happy for the remaining 4 nights of your stay - at least you did not complain to me again. As an aside, the guest who subsequently ended up in your initial booking did not complain.
I cannot comment on your feelings of defensiveness & begrudgingness - that was certainly not my attitude nor I believe that of any of my staff - that interpretation is totally within your own personna.
With regard to the Tea & Coffee, our advertising states that tea & coffee making facilities and supplies are available in rooms for guests use - nowhere does it indicate that we provide any room service for these items although if asked I daresay we can make some arrangement. Whereas many places around here supply the tiny 'one-cup' plastic sachet doses of milk for their guests, we at least provide a fresh 200ml carton upon arrival. Most guests purchase additional supplies from the supermarket across the laneway along with their other grocery items. I have quizzed our staff on this and I understand one staff member has been charging for additional milks, although on this occasion you were resupplied at no cost. It appears that the practice of charging has come through from before my time here. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, and I have now put some policy in place on it.
As regards our qualifications for this job I can advise that our reception & management staff are all formally certified, qualified and licensed in all aspects of our positions here. It is a legal requirement of our profession that our certifications & licenses be publicly displayed, and in fact they are on display upon the wall beside reception. In addition this display also contains a copy of our industry complaints procedure, and it concerns me that you did not trouble to make use of this process.
Finally, on the hotel description. Although we do not describe ourselves in any of our advertising as a hotel - many booking agencies may well do so within their own terminology and classification systems. We do however satisfy all the requirements of a hotel, as we also do for an apartment complex, motel and even a Resort. If you feel really strongly about this, then I would refer you to your booking agency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We paid for a special deal to stay 2 nights at Paradise on the Beach which was still a substantial amount of money however it was a special celebration for us so we thought the extra money was worth it. When we arrived we were shocked.

The balcony of the room we were first shown was a tiny thing on the side of the hotel with a view of the hotel beside it and the ocean view blocked by a roof. The room was a motel room. Just one room with the bed and kitchen all in one. A small separate bathroom with a tiny bathtub was behind the kitchen. Definitely not worth the normal price - and definitely not even the discounted price we had paid!

We then looked at another room and although the deck was on the front overlooking the esplanade, the room was the same size - motel size. The suite had side deck overlooking an adjacent building.

The staff were wonderful and very helpful. Even though we couldn't get our money back (which was a management decision) we left and went elsewhere, losing A$300. But it was better than spending our wedding anniversary in a motel room.

Oh and there is a A$900 fine if you set off the smoke alarm in the tiny kitchen - which is obviously a building design fault and we don't believe paying customers should be penalised for that.

And no free cable TV!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jessandholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripilty, Manager at Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
We have been doing some searching to try and locate your booking records. If you are the persons we think you are then you stayed here 20th to 22nd June and before and after those dates you stayed at Argosy on Clifton Beach.
The promotion that you came here on was a Cudo bulk buy campaign - that offer was for 2 nights accomodation (value $380.00) in our complex with a bottle of bubbles on arrival (value $15.00), transfers for two from & to Cairns Airport (value $72.00) and dinner for two at Annies Upstairs Restaurant across the laneway (Value $125.00). The Campaign price that was charged to you by Cudo was only $295.00 from which Cudo take their cut, sending us the balance - from which we have to pay various suppliers for the above add-ons - at the end of the day there is little for us to make any refund from. That is why Cudo promote their vouchers as being unrefundable. The object of the campaign is promotion - not profit earning.
109 of these vouchers have been sold, of which approximately 50% have since been used and to date this is the only complaint we have received. We describe the unit as a Studio Room - which is exactly what it is.
The second room you were shown, was not a studio unit - it was a full-size Spa Suite with seperate bedroom and Spa - and about 3 times the floor area of the one you stayed in. I don't know of any suite that has a side deck and overlooks another building.
We also showed you a third room - again a suite, which overlooked the pool - but you make no mention of this.
With regard to the smoke detectors - I've said this to an earlier reviewer too - we make absolutely no apology for observing Fire & Safety legislation for the State of Queensland. The fine is $950 and is levied by the Govt - nothing to do with us! Our smoke detectors are wired directly to the Fire Brigade and the government issues fines if the brigade is called out on a false alarm. That is why we do not allow smoking in our building, and ask guests to watch their cooking. If that rankles a minority, then so be it in the interests of guest & community safety. We do not want to be the cause of emergency equipment being unavailable to attend real emergencies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.4 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 11 in Palm Cove
552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 11 in Palm Cove
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove

Property: Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Address: 119-121 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
34 beautifully appointed studios and suites situated in the beach resort town of Palm Cove. Walk across the road and your on the beach. Restaurants, bars and boutique shops are a short stroll down the Esplanade. Peaceful and tranquil pool area with a fully equipped BBQ in the court yard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing