We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tropical paradise by the beach”
Review of Melaleuca Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melaleuca Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We arrived here on spec for a night but wished we could have stayed longer. This resort is located about 50 metres from the beach with tropical gardens with a great pool well shielded from the road offering privacy. The manager made us welcome and was very helpful and friendly. The personal service and smaller number of apartments set Melaleuca apart from the larger resorts. The rooms were spotless, airy and very well appointed. They could not be faulted. The balcony looks out over the garden and pool area with the beach just across the road. Palm Beach in my view is the best of the Cairns northern beaches for swimming, relaxing with the palm tree lined beachfront providing the perfect backdrop and shade if needed. A large choice of restarants can be found within a few minutes walk. Given the location and state of the apartments and gardens this is very good value for a luxury holiday. The pool area is splendid, clean and secluded with plenty of space to laze on the lawn or deckchair. At night the sound of the waves on the beach add to the ambiance. I highly recommend Melaleuca Resort for couples or families wanting to spend time at the beach or relaxing by the pool with the freedom to use this as a base for further holidaying in the Cairns area.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room with balcony. If you dont mind staris I would recommend this for a better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

We are sitting out on the balcony on our last night of 7 at Melaleuca, listening to the waves roll onto the shore. It's so peaceful here - the smaller resort size means you can get away from the weekend and school holiday crowds, yet still be on the water front and a very short stroll from some sensational places to eat. The pool, which is immaculately clean, sits between the apartments and the footpath, yet is completely private, nestled among a stunning tropical garden.

Any review you've read about how helpful the managers are is certainly no exaggeration. Margaret and Stephen are wonderful, yet unobtrusive hosts who will help you book the best tours based on your brief and give you so many insider tips that you can't pick up from websites. We were planning a day trip to Port Douglas on our first day. Margaret steered us straight and suggested some alternatives which turned out so much better than what we had planned. She even offered us a cooler bag to take on our day trip to keep our drinks and lunch cold.

There are many things that Melaleuca is not; full of partying 20 somethings, overcrowded, opulent, pretentious. And for us, a couple on the the other side of 40 who wanted to unwind and see the best this region has to offer, Melaleuca fitted us perfectly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AreDeeDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Myself, my husband, a friend and our parents stayed here in a few separate apartments in late August 2012. From the moment I made contact via phone to secure the booking, the managers were delightful. Upon arrival they gave us exceptional service and 'knew us', but left us alone. The location and apartments were fantastic, definitely worth the price. Nice and clean. The resort was quiet, homely, comfortable beds, good airconditioning, living, everything (and more) you need and the undercover rear parking was a bonus. The owners gave us great local dining & area advice and you get a discount at one of the restaurants up the road with your room key. Lots of dining, pubs, supermarkets are walking distance or a few mins drive to Coles etc. Beautiful place, loved listening to the waves straight across the road and we ALL will definitely be staying there again. Thank you for your excellent hospitality, very appreciated : ) I have been meaning to give them a raving review since, which I dont do often!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mejoka83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We have been staying at Melaleuca Resort for a week each year for the last 6 years and have enjoyed the hospitality immensely. The apartments are spotless, beds are very comfy, and the garden and swimming pool are a big feature of the resort.You are literally across the road from the ocean which can be seen thru palms from your ocean view apartment. It is situated within walking distance to some great restaurants in the area. It is a small resort compared to many which gives the Managers Margaret and Stephen more time to accommodate you and your needs.Buses run regularly to Cairns or Port Douglas from outside the resort. Any sight seeing tours we have been on do not have a problem in picking you up from the resort. Car hire is available just down the road and you can park your car underneath the apartments.If you are looking for a place to stay away from the hustle and bustle this is the place.

Room Tip: Top floor apartments have more of the water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We only had 4 days to spend near Cairns and really wanted a peaceful place to spend some time together. However, the hotel was not at all what we were expecting. The rooms were very simple, nothing broken, but not comfortable either. It was a cheap feeling without the accompanying cheap price tag. We both had to do some work while we were there so we confirmed twice ahead of time that the room came with wireless internet, and yet we were very surprised to find that the internet did not work in the room. Using the internet meant going outside, downstairs and sitting in front of the office. When we complained about the service, the owners were friendly, but only offered us meager compensation in comparison to the daily rate we were paying. The folks at the Reef House Resort (right next door) ended up letting us use their internet and hang out in their lounge - the room prices their were comparable, but the service and accommodations were a world apart from the Melaleuca. We would definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Burento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed in Melaleuca for 5 days. It was very sad to leave when the time came. Margaret was fantastic, very helpful and kind. The apartment is very clean filled with everything you need, including even candles and matches with a balcony and a water view. The garden and a swimming pool are amazing and the beach is just a step away. It is very convenient having a bus stop so close to the apartment. The bus goes every 30 min, there are 2 shopping centers on the way to Cairns and 3 small supermarkets in the Palm Cove plus numerous shops. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at Melaleuca for 5 nights and it was an enjoyable stay. The rooms are good size and have fans and aircon. We just had the fans going, because with open windows you get a nice sea breeze and it's good enough to keep you cool. The kitchen is well stocked, albeit it misses a few larger-size pots and pans, but the hosts are quick to provide you with what you need.

The pool is great and our one year-old daughter enjoyed it with us :)

As a minor downside, there was no reliable WiFi access from within the room, but I used my mobile for that. If Internet is important to you, check in advance.

We had a room on the ground floor (well, it's still up a flight of stairs) and the sea view was limited by the trees in front, albeit you could still bits of the see here and there. There's a second story as well, but I'm not sure if the view is better or not from there. Most, if not all, hotels in Palm Cove have trees in front, so I don't think you can find a better one anyway.

Overall, a great place to stay and to explore Palm Cove from.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,389 reviews
0 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
361 reviews
0 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
0.5 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melaleuca Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melaleuca Resort

Address: 85-93 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range: £57 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melaleuca Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melaleuca Resort is a Beachfront Four Star property positioned right in the heart of Palm Cove, 25 minutes north of the Cairns International Airport. Our Beachfront location is just a stone’s throw from the beach (45 paces) with quality restaurants, cafes and shops a short stroll away. Melaleuca Resort is surrounded by lush award winning tropical gardens with exotic Australian native birdlife and tropical fruits. Our walk-in salt water lagoon style pool is set amongst the gardens over-looking the ocean with three in-pool spas. Enjoy our FREE to use covered BBQ and outdoor dining area by the pool. We also have a guest library with games, FREE on site car parking and FREE WIFI through-out the property. All tour bookings can be with our extensive local knowledge at no additional charge. Our beachfront Palm Cove accommodation consists of 23 fully air conditioned self contained One Bedroom Apartments. Each Apartment features a separate bedroom room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melaleuca Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaleuca Hotel Palm Cove
Melaleuca Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing