We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous garden”
Review of Melaleuca Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melaleuca Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
sweden
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fabulous garden”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

had a very nice week in january. location is very nice. view from balconies towards the beach with fantastic sunrises is very good.
nice gas BBQ in garden and a fantastic pool set up with cool spa feature
Only negative is the VERY poor wifi. only works sometimes and never inside the apartments. you have to be in the garden or on the balcony

Room Tip: get a room close to the reception if you want wifi to work in room. and get a top room for the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sefranker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    103
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
69
277
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just completed a week's stay at the Melaleuca resort. Apart from the fact that it didn't seem to stop raining (it was the rainy season) it was a relaxing stay. However when it did stop we were straight in the pool. The apartments are not new but very well looked after. They are fitted out with everything you could possibly need. Beach front location is very central which was good as about half the restaurants were closed (because again its the rainy season) so we still didn't have too far to walk. Margaret and Stephen were very welcoming and always prepared to take the extra step for you. This is our second stay there and certainly not our last.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Good value accommodation in this delightful beach resort which has yet to be over-exploited by major players. The resort borders the tropical rain forest. Our room was comfortable and overlooked the garden and beach; washing machine and dryer facilities were a bonus given we were on an extended visit to Austarlia. Margaret and Stephen were welcoming and very helpful in providing advice and assistance with trips etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonGreenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelaleucaPalmCove, Manager at Melaleuca Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for your time to review The Melaleuca Resort. It sounds a bit corny but we take great pleasure in hearing our guests who have enjoyed our efforts. Now our quiet season is here we have started another round of upgrading. The first 2 apartments are being fully painted and will follow with another two and so on. All fly screens are being replaced and new refrigerators and air conditioners are installed as required. We have fully painted and re screwed the roof and have new guttering all round. New dinning settings and a coffee table will soon be matched to TV stands and corner table ( I now know as a, wot not)! Being on the beach also requires almost constant washing down and don't forget the garden. Margaret likes to upgrade a bed every so often, even if I think it looks great! (Must be why she is the boss!)
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We were in Palm Cove for 2 nights and Margaret and Stephen made sure those two days were packed full. We are on the go throughout the country for 5 weeks, so the washer and dryer was a welcome feature. We has a complication regarding our airport transfer and luggage, but Margaret called in her team of local tour folks who made sure all was handled with minimum fuss and maximum efficiency.

This area is not a resort in the sense of high-end, upscale resort hotels. Palm Cove still has a bit of the 70's hippie appeal to it, although larger, higher end places are coming in. The charm of the earlier vibe was very appealing to us.

Loved our stay and would definitely come back and recommend to friends

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hilldale604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new forest
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just returned to uk after spending 5 days at Melaleuca Resort.Very much a paradise location and the accn excellent in every way.MANY THANKS to Margaret and Stephen for a warm welcome and for the help in organising our trips,airport transfers and general info.Nicely situated close to all the local restaurants etc and this clean,well presented and reasonably priced accn for the area is well worth considering.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Expactiations may get high as you book yourself in to a recent Tripadvisor travellers choice awarded hotel, as were ours, but we were relatively disappointed in comparison with what we had expected.

Our main troubles were the ants that had invaded (including our food), that the WiFi included in the price worked for about 10 minutes of our entire stay (of 3 devices we had brought), and that the so-called ocean view we had paid for was nothing but the occasional glimpse of a wave between the trees. The apartment itself was beginning to seem a little worn down.

Staff (the couple that runs the place) were friendly enough, and tried to help with the internet, but these kinds of things just need to work, and it didn't. We were given friendly help on our day trips, for which they did receive a commision from the company.

Room Tip: Socalled ocean view is more of an ocean glimpse, but may be a tad better from the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank langloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelaleucaPalmCove, Manager at Melaleuca Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hello and thank you for your time to review us. We try to maintain a high standard with the accommodation, service and the grounds. Unfortunately some guests read our Very Good reviews and may see us as a five star property with five star services. We do try very hard but are, 4 star self catering apartments and are quite spacious. The property is now over 20 years old. We keep improving and updating but we can only do the best we can. We are very proud of our position on Trip Advisor. The internet we provide is free and we recently upgraded our download and have installed 2 repeaters. This has worked well in some areas but not others. We also find some guests with multiple devices and all online at once. To meet this type of demand would require much greater expenditure. We wish to keep this service free and as efficient as possible. Thank you, Stephen and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essendon, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We loved staying here as it was very relaxing. The apartment was perfect for us, very clean and with the views overlooking the sandy beaches, what more could we ask for. The location was perfect for us. Margaret and Stephen were more than accommodating, organising our airport locations and scenic day trips. We will definitely be back to these dreamy hollow of peace and quiet.

Room Tip: We were in Room 20 on the second level with views overlooking the stunning gardens and pool with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 11 in Palm Cove
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 11 in Palm Cove
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melaleuca Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melaleuca Resort

Property: Melaleuca Resort
Address: Melaleuca Resort 85 - 93 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melaleuca Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melaleuca Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaleuca Hotel Palm Cove
Melaleuca Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing