We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melaleuca Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$369
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$263
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarayi Boutique Hotel(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Amphora(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$104
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Beach Club & Spa(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa(Kewarra Beach)(Great Value!)
US$246
US$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Palms(Kewarra Beach)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
311
106
17
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
106
17
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadthe managerswashing machine and dryerport douglasbooking toursself contained apartmentundercover parkingperfect locationprivate balconywonderful hostscoles supermarketsea viewapartment was very cleanpalm treeslovely poolspent a weeklaundry facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We chose this resort as our base for discovering the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree. The apartment was spotlessly clean, very well equipped and perfectly situated across from the beautiful beach.The pool based on the nearby Mossman Gorge was superb.Margaret the proprietor is an excellent hostess and she really made our visit by giving us expert advice on the most suitable tours for our family group.We felt we really made the most of our short visit.She also went out of her way to assist us in many other respects-we have not been looked after so well anywhere else.
We sincerely hope to make it back there one day

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidtravllerWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Melaleuca Resort for five nights on our honeymoon. We based our decision mainly on reviews on TripAdvisor, and we defiately were not disappointed. The resort was exceptionally clean and very well appointed. The rooms were actually quite modern and the gardens - AMAZING. A truly tropical oasis. Margaret and Steve were always welcoming and eager to help, and when they found out we were on our honeymoon, they made the stay even more lovely.

The resort is directly on the beach and the views from the room are excellent - overlooking the beautiful gardens, pool and across to the beach.

Excellent value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowdy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My husband I took an extended vacation to New Zealand and Australia this summer. We ended it in Palm at Melaleuca Resort and it was amazing. The room was well equipped and roomy. The pool was absolutely gorgeous and the beach was just across a small street. The owners were very nice and even took us to the airport when we overslept and missed our bus. I hope to make it back there someday.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaseyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Palm Cove is a lovely resort and the Melaleuca is right in the middle so perfectly located. There are supermarkets in the resort which are adequate and a larger store around a kilometre away. There is a good selection of restaurants too but as other contributors have noted are quite expensive. If you are a meat eater then the quality of steaks I found were first class.
The Melaleuca will organise transit from the airport for you and is an offer that should be taken up. Reasonable at $22 pp.
Reception is a very relaxed affair which was a relief after a long flight from the UK followed by 3 manic jet lagged days in Melbourne. Service is very good when asked for. Indeed the proprietor helped us out beyond the call of duty when our tour bus didn't turn up for an early morning trip.
The appartment was well appointed if not a bit functional. The kitchen has everything you will need. The shower was very good as was the very adequate sized bed.
My gripe was that my room (no 7) was sold as a sea view which was pushing it a bit as the main view was of the side of the reception building. If you pre book a sea view then make sure you request one on the upper floor.
The gardens are a lovely setting to catch up with your reading and soaking up some afternoon rays. My suggestion if you are having a lazy day is beach in the morning then gardens in the afternoon.
The beach is fantastic and is no more than fifteen metres from the front door of the hotel. A big selling point for me.
Overall I think the hotel and the resort is a little expensive but I didn't feel cheated because of the proximity of the beach and I was blessed with a week of fantastic weather.
Finally if you are after swinging night life then forget it. Lights out seem to be about half nine in Palm Cove!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannyglennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We spent a week at Melaleuca in May 2009. The apartment had everything we needed - cooking and washing facilities - which we found invaluable, and we found it clean and comfortable. Margaret could not do enough for us and we found all the local people friendly and very polite. The location of the apartment was amazing just a moment from the beach. The only downside we found was not being able to just wander in and out of the sea at will as you would do in the UK. Our fault for not doing our homework properly! The choice for eating out was amazing, even catering for vegetarians!. If you are into scuba diving, a visit to the reef is a must, however do choose carefully who takes you there as the quickest journey out to the reef may not be the most pleasant experience! A visit to Kuranda is also a must as is getting there on the skyrail. We had the time of our life and should we be lucky enough to return one day we wouldn't hesitate to return to Melaleuca Resort.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PickieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews