We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly not a resort room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa
Cairns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Certainly not a resort room”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We overnighted at Mango Lagoon last night. The room was very small and monopolized by the mother of all freestanding timber wardrobes straight out of AMart. The weather was not suited to swimming but we noted that use of a pool towel cost an extra $3 per person. Given that we booked well in advance, the place was practically empty and we could have got the room for $21 less on standby it would have been nice to look onto one of the pools instead of the back yard of the next door neighbors. When we left for dinner at 7.30pm we had to fumble our way down the stairs in darkness. Luckily the timer had kicked in by the time we returned and the outdoor lights were on. Given our experience the rooms would be adequate for a single night stay but certainly not for a weekend let alone a vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    186
    73
    52
    39
See reviews for
182
220
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

we arrived at mango lagoon on the 8th November it was great that we was helped with our suit case as it was very heavy we was looked after very well we found it was a long way to walk to our room but the room was very good i still have found no resorts have slip mats in there bathfooms which should be there as i have a bad hip but i put towels on the floor so i did not slip over because you have to walk so far to your foom it would be nice to have a small buggy denis brook Maureen fry

Room Tip: close to car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtainrobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The resort itself was very nice, and the pools lovely.
We didn't realise we only booked a room, not an apartment. It was very small and if you had planned only to sleep there it would be fine. Very clean and had everything you needed. But I had planned to lay around the pool and chill in our room. There was no where to dry your bathers or towels.
Breakfast was boxed cereal, toast and tea. Not what I expected at a resort.

Room Tip: Each room is privately owned so make sure you know what you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed in 1 bedroom apartment. Rooms are fantastic. Pools are great. Mango trees everywhere. Still trying to figure out how I'm going to get a mango down! Perfect for couples and family. Resort was quiet, just the way I like it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights in room 46a which is an upstairs one bedroom apartment with kitchen. We bought a voucher on eBay and paid just over $80 per night which is fantastic value for money. The apartment is very spacious and well set up.king bed very comfy,full lounge suite,full sized dining suite and big bathroom with full laundry faculties. Shame there is no balcony but the louvred windows concertina open so you can bring the outdoors in. We overlooked the huge lap pool which was very nice. Shower was not fantastic more like a hose squinting at you. Water goes every where as there is no screen or curtain.very pleasant stroll through back gate to beach and shops,4 pools all very nice. Was very quiet for our stay so we had the back pool to ourselves. Looking at other reviews I would agree that it's not a Wellness Spa. They should rename it Mango Lagoon holiday Apartments as there really are no services provided apart from part time reception and a package breakfast. For the price we paid we felt that this place was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbeer1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom self-catering apartment. It was clean and well-equipped, although it could do with some general maintenance e.g. the shutters on the window were broken and difficult to open and close, and neither the wall clock nor the clock radio worked. The air conditioning can only be turned on or off, with no other control available. There are a variety of pools with lounge chairs for swimming and relaxing down the middle of the property. The beach front and shopping is a 10 minute walk away. We organised a local service to deliver groceries into the apartment before we arrived, so it was nice to arrive to a fully stocked fridge. The bed was OK, though a bit on the hard side.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cageysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Upon arrival there was no one at reception - it was totally unattended and there was a phone to call someone if we needed to check in. Surprisingly the reception was unattended during our entire stay which is just crazy as guests surely like to be at least welcomed. The caretaker came and opened a safe and gave us the key to the room and apparently we were lucky to have caught him as it was his day off. Then the room - what a miniature little room and a complete rip off for what it was. During our stay they were advertising the same room for 30 percent less and when we enquired at checkout (there happened to be someone at the desk) she just shrugged and said there were rooms even cheaper than that. This made us feel completely ripped off. The massage areas have great potential but they are a bit neglected and the $8 breakfast is an absolute joke for a "health" resort. Little tubs of yoghurt in a fridge, cocopops and other cereals in those little kids size packets, no fruit, instant coffee - bizarre. This was terrible value and we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherrynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.4 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.3 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
0.4 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa

Property: Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa
Address: 81-85 Cedar Rd, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mango Lagoon Resort The resort spreads over 2.5 Acres of tropically landscaped gardens with meandering walkways surrounding 4 pools for your pleasure including a 50 metre Olympic sized lap pool and child friendly pool. Our extra spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments are fully self-contained and we also provide the option of studio/hotel room accommodation for guests. Other on-site resort features include a covered BBQ area, Continental Breakfast daily, sun lounges surrounding our 4 pools, on-site tour desk and Free Wi-Fi access is available to all guests throughout most of the Resort. As a perfect gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest. Mango Lagoon Resorts private, quiet location is your perfect place to stay and experience these natural wonders. Relax and stroll the award winning Palm Cove beach lapped by the Coral Sea or explore one of the many restaurants, salons, and boutique shops. Our friendly staff will be happy to tailor a tour package to suit your requirements and budget. Mango Lagoon Resort has a clear mission. 'We want to provide our guests with the best possible holiday experience in Palm Cove'. We look forward to welcoming you in paradise soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Lagoon Resort And Wellness Spa
Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Hotel Palm Cove
Mango Lagoon Hotel Wellness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing