We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nights entertainment with my Son. Up close & personal”
Review of Cairns Night Zoo - CLOSED

Cairns Night Zoo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have a long standing reputation for offering our guests a great Australian night out! You get the opportunity to experience nocturnal wildlife in the tropics at Cairns' one and only Night Zoo.Our guides will greet you at 7.00pm sharp at the Night Zoo entrance and escort you to our famous Aussie BBQ. Enjoy a delicious barbeque dinner of steak, sausages and seafood with fresh garden salads followed by a dessert. Relax with a drink from our licensed bar.After dinner, our guides will provide you with a torch and lead you into the darkness to meet the creatures of the night. Learn how owls hunt, touch a possum and pat a koala. On clear nights our guides will take you star gazing. See the Southern Cross, the Big Dipper and other well known constellations.Follow our guides as they lead you safely through the crocodiles' lair. See the croc eyes glow in your torchlight.In the Aussie bush, there's always a chance you will cross paths with a "Swaggie" (an original Australian bushman). Join our hospitable Swaggie and enjoy billy tea and damper with him by the campfire. His friends, the kangaroos, will come down to say G'day and maybe even share a bite to eat!After complimentary cold beer or wine, join in the fun as our guides teach you some famous Aussie Bush Dances. Dance and sing along - it's more fun than you can imagine!
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great nights entertainment with my Son. Up close & personal”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a lovely night at Cairns night zoo. Firstly we had a food buffet, the food was nice enough, lots of it too, traditional Aussie entertainment and songs. We then had a walk around the zoo with torches. We seen lots of lovely animals and had the opportunity to hold a Koala and purchase a picture (this is at an extra cost). There were kangaroos roaming around and were very friendly, allowing us to stroke them. Then back to another area for singing and dancing. Was a really lovely fun evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KirstyH444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    33
    12
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great dinner and experience”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Came alone on a short trip and thought I'd do the tour, was excellent.
They served dinner in an open patio that was dressed up like an old woolshed.
Food was great inc soft drink, juice, wine and beer on tap.
Well worth going for the experience, see the animals and sing and dance to a few bush songs at the end of the night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous night out”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Return Courtesy bus picked us up at our hotel for what was to be a fun and entertaining night. The night started with welcome drink and then a great Aussie BBQ dinner. Staff where very entertaining and always made sure your glass was full. After dinner we had a tour of the zoo. Crocodile feeding, Billy tea with the kangaroos.
Then more drinks, singing and dancing. This was a great family night out.
Not to be missed when in Cairns!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Director of Sales at Cairns Night Zoo, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi Sal. On behalf of our family and staff thanks so much for such positive feedback. Much appreciated indeed. Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Small groups and interactive”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was one of the highlights of the trip. We had only about 40 people in our group. The evening included dinner and drinks including wine/beer/soda. We got up close with koala's (there is an extra fee for the photo), kangaroo, crocks, etc. At the end there was music and dance - with almost everyone getting involved. My only complaint was that there was a large group of individuals that did not speak English. The interpreter was so loud he made it hard to hear and often drowned out the information from the presenter. Not really sure how it could have been done differently but it was a distraction.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank leopardgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Director of Sales at Cairns Night Zoo, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Lovely to see you're great review. Our supervisors do check the Tripadvisor feedback and we know who you're talking about. We'll make sure they have a word in his ear as he sometimes gets a bit excited, so much appreciated. Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The cairns zoo is excellent. Clean. Fun and family friendly. Lots to see and the staff are excellent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F, Director of Sales at Cairns Night Zoo, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
A lovely short sweet review and thanks for visiting us from Townsville Rick. Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cairns Night Zoo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing