We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You want privacy at Mantra Amphora forget it.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Amphora
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You want privacy at Mantra Amphora forget it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Our initial response when opening up the door to our ground floor ocean view room was "wow". The view from our wide panoramic windows was good considering we were on the ground floor. We then noticed that the curtains for this room were only light and transparent with no block out for our privacy at night or the morning light.
Considering the general footpath was only metres away from the front window I thought this was poor. We asked if we could look at another room, the lady at reception was very helpful and offered another room. The second room was not of the size or standard of our original room. We then asked about a refund policy which we were told no problems but you would have to wait at least two weeks to get your money back from head office. We reluctantly then accepted our original room back.
We went for a stroll on the first evening and noted to our amazement that all rooms at the Mantra Amphora had the same issue being at night you can look directly into all living areas.
We noted from our walk that the Amphora was the only place in Palm Cove that did not have the ability for customers at night to shut blinds or draw curtains. This also had issues in the morning when it became light.
Mantra management it surely is not a hard ask to have some curtains or blinds at least for the ground floor ocean view rooms, when you consider what it costs per night to have one of these rooms.
Other than this one issue that really put a dampener on our long awaited holiday we found Palm Cove to be great. You must go to the local hotel meals are great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    376
    146
    47
    30
See reviews for
307
495
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at this resort for 5 days and found the amenities , the gardens and our room first class. We locked ourselves out on one occation after hours and found a aftre hours phone outside reception and contacted the manager who was there within 5 minutes and very obligingly let us into our unit with the utmost courtesy.
The views from the balcony over the pool and a glimps of the sea were very good ,my only gripe is that we had to climb 3 flights of stairs each time we left and came back to the unit, but of course we then have lost the view of the sea.
The spa in our bathroom was huge and most relaxing.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Manta Amphora and I'm sure if I had requested no stairs it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amber4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham-Oliver, Owner at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear Amber,

We do appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us. It was greart to read that you enjoyed our facilities and the fanatstic destination.
It is also important to mention that as the onsite managers of the property we are able to provide the full range of services to our guests. Ensuring that our guests have all of their needs catered to as promptly as possible to make their hoiliday experience as hassle free and relaxing as possible.

Amber, thak you again for chosing to stay with Mantra Amphora we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Graham Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had a few disappointments with accommodation on our North Queensland holiday, however we were not disappointed with this resort. It is in a lovely location about 1/2 hour from Cairns.We bummed out with the weather though, so we didn't get to enjoy the beach or pool. The weather was pretty wild and windy. However, we really enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and spacious with nice modern furnishings and appliances. The bed was large and comfortable. Nice balcony area. There was a spa bath to enjoy as well. The only gripe really was that the bathroom was very small and you had to be aware of privacy as bedroom and main living area looked out over the pool area and many other people's apartments. Minor gripes though. The pool and garden areas are lovely. We particularly enjoyed looking at the pool and spa all lit up with lovely blue and coloured lights in the evening. Very pretty. Lots of great restaurants to eat at in the evenings. Very nice to go for a stroll to pick and choose where to eat for dinner. Also, when we were there, the resort's spa had just opened and there was a great deal going for a 90 minute session which was fabulous. The best massage I have ever had. Spa highly recommended. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewandjoanne2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham-Oliver, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear Andrew,

We do appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us. It was greart to read that you enjoyed our facilities and the fanatstic destination.
It is also important to mention that as the onsite managers of the property we are able to provide the full range of services to our guests. Ensuring that our guests have all of their needs catered to as promptly as possible to make their hoiliday experience as hassle free and relaxing as possible.

Andrew, thak you again for chosing to stay with Mantra Amphora we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Graham Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Our one-bedroom apartment was ideal for a lazy week in Palm Cove. It was spotlessly clean, had a great balcony overlooking the pool, own laundry, full kitchen with dishwasher & microwave, ceiling fans, safe, plasma tv etc.

The pool area was lovely and sheltered with plenty of sunbeds. Unfortunately, the kids' pool was shady and cold in winter so they all took over the spa.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

The location is excellent, across from the beach and with Vivo Bar and Grill a stone's throw away - what more could you ask for?!

If we had one suggestion, it would be for Mantra to organise recyling as well as garbage collection. We felt very guilty having to put bottles and other recycling into the garbage bin!

Room Tip: if you've got small kids or big bags ask for a ground floor room as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oz1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham-Oliver, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Dear Oz1,

We do appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us. It was greart to read that you enjoyed our facilities and the fanatstic destination.
I have passed on you recycling feedback and look forward to maybe having it in place the next time you vist

Oz1, thak you again for chosing to stay with Mantra Amphora we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Graham Oliver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

At first it was quite awkward trying to find our room (412b) which was on the ground floor as you either go around the pool up some stairs and around or you go through the underground car park (we didn't try that one). We thought our room was great compared to the tiny room we just left in Sydney, and also that we were so close to the pool. Then we noticed the dirty sock left behind of the previous guests. We then noticed more faults. The fridge was in a cupboard which doesn't allow for airflow and caused an odd smell. There was only shutters seperating the bedroom and bathroom (I was sharing with my brother which I notified the hotel of when making the booking). There wasn't a PowerPoint to plug the kettle and the cord on the iron wasn't long enough to be able to use. We also thought it strange that you could only lock the doors leading out to the pool from the inside, which ment we were always having to back-track everytime we wanted a swim. The pool was ok and the spa was great (when it wasn't filled with kids and their floaties). The beds could have been more comfortable and furniture more practical (I'm on holiday, why would I need a desk!). We also had problems with t.v reception.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham-Oliver, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Hello Goldjess,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit. I regret the shortcomings in the bathroom and housekeeping that you experienced during your stay. This is not up to our usual standard and I apologise for any disappointment you experienced. There is a power plug just behind the T.V for doing the iron sorry that you didnt see this one.

We would love to welcome you back to the resort next year. Please be aware that we offer return guests a discount when booking directly at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed with Our daughter, partner and 15 month old grandchild for a week in a 2BR suite and just loved it! The pool (although a little chilly for those more senior of us ) was very safe and enjoyable for the little ones and was sheltered and sunny most of the day and the large spa pool was just wonderful! The staff were helpful and assisted us with baggage removal to/from the room as my husband had an injury. The adjoining ViVo restaurant was great and we had a pre wedding cocktail hour (3 hours actually!) there which was great as was dinner and breakfast! Great service all round in a wonderful surrounding! Well done we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaItalyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham-Oliver, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Very often we find that the people that have enjoyed their stay will let us know directly but they don't always take the time to write a review, I very much appreciate you doing so. I hope that we have the pleasure of hosting you in Palm Cove again soon.

Regards,
Graham Oliver- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Everything was very good clean,roomy,and suprisingly quiet from neighbours, good service, quiet, and the pool and view good. The only down size were some appliances need replacing The tv's very old and small.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjw74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham-Oliver, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Thank you so much for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your time in Palm Cove. The team very much appreciate your acknowledgement of their efforts and we do hope that we have the pleasure of hosting you on your next trip to our region also thank you for you feedback on the T.V we are looking at upgrading them as we speak. Warm regards, Graham Oliver - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
0.4 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Property: Mantra Amphora
Address: 49-63 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unit 531 is a privately owned apartment within the Mantra Amphors Palm Cove resort. It has recently been renovated and is beautifuully outfitted. The unit is one of the largest and most spacious units within the resort and has the top view, top hosts and is top value. There are two bedrooms - each with their own bathroom (shower,toilet, b ath - spa bath in second bathroom0. The beds are very comfortable with all new linen. TV's in each bedroom. All linen (including pool towels) and cleaning included in the rental. Lof longer stays unit is serviced once a week. The living, kitchen area is a feature of the unit. Full kitchen facilities with new stove, cooktop, fridge. There is a microwave, dishwasher and in the secluded laundry a new washing machine and dryer. The cultery and crockery is all new as are most of the cooking utensils. Second unit has a bar fridge and microwave. The living room has a dining setting and large couch for relaxing and watching the new 55" TV. There is also a new leather sofa. The living room has a private balcony with the best view of the pool. There is a new BBQ on the balcony and an outdoor setting. The second bedroom hs its own balcony overlooking the mountains. The unit will suit a family or two couples. We have the best references of any unit at the Mantra! Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea directly opposite the resort or meander your way around the beautifully landscaped gardens. Spend some time relaxing in the award winning swimming lagoon and spa which features many coves and nooks shaded by massive palm trees. Located on Williams Esplanade, on the waterfront, Mantra Amphora is just minutes away from some of the best restaurants in Tropical North Queensland. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars suitable for couples and families. At the front of the resort, guests will find Vivo Bar and Grill. Vivo offers guests Italian inspired food mixed with subtle tastes of the tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing