We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value family friendly resort”
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Amphora
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights with our 16 month old in a 1 bedroom apartment on the ground floor and we had a great time. I agree that the rooms managed by The Boutique Collection are of better standard but they also tend to be more expensive so you really do get what you pay for. We booked direct through Mantra and our apartment was fine.

I specifically requested ground floor as I had heard there were no lifts and I'm glad I did. I was a bit concerned about the access to the pool but it was totally fenced off so no little one could accidently get in there and also I'd read comments on the lack of privacy of the ground floor and to be sure some of them we walked past I felt like we were almost intruding but ours was great. Apartment #813 is down by the kids pool and has a hedge in front of the balcony so people rarely even know you are there which is great but once night comes and you are inside with the lights on there is no hiding as the curtains are completely sheer.

Great size rooms, bed, bathroom and kitchen. All the amenities you could want for a long stay such as washer/dryer and dishwasher. I will say that they provide you with a couple of sachets of powder etc but if you are there for any length I'd recommend bringing your own supply. Of course the local shops sell all of this and are banking on you needing it so charge through the nose for it. We did as previous travellers have recommended and ordered Coles online and it was delivered the afternoon that we checked in - no dramas! We visited Cairns prior to this and stocked up on wine as well before heading up to PC.

The pool is very spacious and great for toddlers. As previously mentioned, deck chairs can be a problem and we weren't even there in school holidays! However, there are nice grassy patches in the shade where you can sit as an alternative.

I always stress about the location of hotels but in Palm Cove as long as you are on the Esplanade you are in a good location! It takes all of 10 mins to walk from one end to the other so not really a problem at all.

I would have no problem recommending the Mantra. Palm Cove as a whole is very family friendly so strollers everywhere and high chairs in all restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Kerry1076,

Thank you for taking the time and submit your recent feedback on Mantra Amphora.
It is nice to read that you have enjoyed our hospitality and there is little I can add your summary of our Resort. All the staff were very happy to read your review.
They work tirelessly to provide quality service and clean apartments and feedback like yours is a real uplift to all.

We hope to welcome you back very shortly.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Has all the amenities required and is a great location. Just needs a bit of an update. Furnishings are getting a bit tired looking and room had a bit of a musty smell. Very clean though and comfy big beds. Staff all very helpful and friendly too.

Room Tip: There were some lovely balcony rooms overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear OzzieJill,

Thank you for taking the time and providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay.
Your comments are most appreciated and please trust that we will address them immediately.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

On one hand, Mantra Amphora has a great pool area with lots of shade and areas to spend the day relaxing. It is also across the road from the beautiful beach and right in the middle of fabulous restaurants. On the other hand, you have to be careful of the quality of the rooms. Our king bed was so hard and old that they had put egg shell foam toppers on the mattress! Didn't make for a very good nights sleep. The balcony furniture was so old and hard you couldn't sit on it. The room was old and the bathrooms looking very tired. The rooms are all privately owned so depending on how the owners choose to upgrade and replace old furniture and fittings depends on the quality of the room you get. Some of the rooms are managed by 'The Boutique Collection' and appeared to be in better condition. If Mantra Amphora want to keep people coming back then they need to make sure owners keep the rooms in better condition.

Room Tip: Try and get a ocean view room. The balconies looked bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg26201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Greg26201,

Thank you for your comments.

It is great to know that you enjoyed Palm Cove to the fullest during you last visit.
Our team are on site 24/7 and provide instant service. Off site operators, as mentioned in your post, cannot operate any component of their business on site, at times this can cause confusion and wait periods for simple items. I am confident that we provide exemplary service and superior products.

Thank you again for taking the time and submitting your feedback.

Respectfully,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here with our 9yo son and checked in at midnight. You always worry everything is sorted with a late check in but there was no need to worry as we had no problem getting our key and our 1 bedroom apartment had the lights on for us and rollaway bed made up.
Our only issue was the rollaway bed was broken and collapsed on my son twice in the night so I had to forget about the bed and put the mattress on the floor for the rest of the night. I wasn't happy as it was quite obvious as soon as we saw the bed that it was very dodgy and would collapse as soon as it moved. But being midnight we couldn't do anything. The next morning I saw reception staff who arranged a replacement bed straight away, so all sorted.
For such a large resort I found it peaceful both morning and night. We had an apartment looking toward the pool.
I would stay here again, the only advice I would have to anyone is that the rollaway beds aren't the best and really only suit small children, so for anyone else I would get the extra bedroom.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank LeisureMerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Alison F,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort.

I apologise for the issue you experienced with the rollaway bed and I am thrilled that our staff were able to rectify the issue immediately the next morning.

We hope to welcome you back to the resort on your next holiday in Palm Cove.

Yours Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had a relaxing 5 nights staying at the Mantra Amphora during our recent visit to Queensland. The apartment was very clean, spacious & the air-con with ceiling fans kept us cool. Our room had a balcony that overlooked the pool & being just over the road to the beach & near many cafes, it was a handy location.
We were on the 3rd floor which didn't have a lift so the elderly & families with small children couldn't use these rooms.
No room service or Wi-Fi was also a negative & although we had tea & coffee supplied there wasn't any salt & pepper!
The staff were very knowledgeable & helped us plan several day trips.
We enjoyed our stay, thank you.

Room Tip: Not the 3rd floor if you can't carry your bags up 30 steps over 3 flights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Susan S,

Thank you for your kind review.

Since reading your review, we have purchased small salt and pepper packets that will now be available to guests should anyone require them.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you at the resort again soon.

Kindest Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

For the second year in a row, our family of six stayed in the 3 bedroom ocean view apartments, which had a fantastic view, well appointed, 3 bathrooms, and fully equipped kitchens. The staff were friendly and professional, the pool spacious and clean.
My only negative comments are in regard to the pool area deck chairs. Each morning I have been for a swim and watch multiple guests place towels on chairs and then walk away. It is very frustrating when your family goes for a swim then has nowhere to sit because every chair has been taken up by people who are not even in the pool area. Not sure what Mantra could do about these selfish people.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorPil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear TrevorPil,

Thank you for your great review and feedback on our resort, it is much appreciated.

While we, and other resorts in the area, do not allow the "reserving" of pool lounges - it is difficult to monitor this continuously throughout the day. Guests are always welcome to remove pool towels from unoccupied lounges provided that there are no personal belongings left as well.

Thank you once again for your fantastic review and I hope we can welcome you back next year!

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had a ground room which was very handy. The rooms were spacious and had everything we needed. The Mantra is in a great location just opposite the beach near the shops with a restaurant / cafe out front. All good except for the minor inconvenience of being able to hear upstairs move their chairs around.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavinmSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear GavinmSydney,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is appreciated.

We are certainly very lucky in being close to all of Palm Coves great restaurants and facilities.

I hope we can welcome you back to the resort again soon!

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
0.3 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Address: 49-63 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: £62 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Amphora Resort is located on the spectacular waterfront of Palm Cove's palm-fringed beach at one of Tropical North Queensland's most sought-after destinations. Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea directly opposite the resort or bask in the tropical warmth beside the lagoon swimming pool with its many coves and nooks shaded by towering palm trees. Accommodation at Mantra Amphora Resort ranges from hotel rooms to self-contained one, two and three bedroom apartments all with quality finishes and most featuring an indulgent spa bath, all have private balconies with garden or ocean views providing the perfect space to kick back and relax. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars that will satisfy both discerning palates and family appetites, or dine at Vivo Bar and Brill which sits just next to the Mantra Amphora Resort and offers delicious Italian with subtle tropical flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing