We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would happily come again!”
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Amphora
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 young children. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was clean, very light and had a spacious living area, balcony and kitchen for the children to run around.
The pool is beautiful and despite it being June and rainy everyday of our stay we were in there without fail.
We did not have much contact with staff as we never had a problem. Those that we were in contact with were polite and helpful (albeit at times a little frosty). The hotel is in a beautiful location and close to all palm cove has to offer.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Wylie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Amphora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was the place I have stayed on my own, staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Especially as Cyclone Ita was on its way. I loved the accommodation and I loved being by the pool. Great place to stay! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Green_Frog322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We asked for a ground floor for easy access with our newborn and pram. They couldn't accommodate for this which is fine but we had to carry the pram and two suit cases in the rain up four flights of stairs. It took two people to carry the pram up and down the stairs in the rain every time we left the room which restricted our holiday. We also had to call reception regarding noise complaints in the pool after hours. And lastly after all this, they charged us for a cot that we didn't use as our newborn is to young for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trinalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Nice quite place to stay close to everything. Reasonably priced .various sized units. Top pool well maintain ed complex shops and Tavern close by spent 4days there attended a wedding at peppers weather was a bit of a let down but didnt rain on the day

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Rooms well appointed. mirrors, glass doors, Dirty... overlay on bed was disgusting badly stained ,.As a Senior Head housekeeper myself i found a lot of things..... The bed was extremly hard and very uncomfortable

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our second stay in Palm Cove, but our first at the Mantra Amphora which made this visit the best. We stayed for two weeks in an apartment facing the beach. The room was spacious, clean, and well-appointed. The views were amazing and there was always something to entertain us when we sat on our balcony. It was a pleasure to deal with the staff and, in particular, Rachel who was friendly and helpful. The restaurants were steps away and all wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyrGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

When we were looking for family friendly accommodation in Palm Cove, I had narrowed it down to either Mantra or Peppers based on previous reviews. We ended up choosing Mantra as it was significantly cheaper than Peppers for the time of year we went (March – I’m not sure how they compare at other times of the year).
Mantra was great and I highly recommend it to anyone travelling with toddlers. After consulting with another TripAdvisor member we chose to stay in a one-bedroom apartment (again a significant saving) based on the fact that we only had one child and they could sleep in a port-a-cot in the main bedroom. This did make things a little squeezy in the bedroom but was okay for our 5 night stay.
The apartment was spacious and well equipped. We didn’t really cook but made use of the kitchen facilities for breakfast and the occasional lunch. It was handy to have the washing machine to rinse out towels and bathers after swimming and the dryer if it was wet (which is was). The only downside was that the apartment didn’t have a DVD player, nor could you hire or borrow one from reception. We had a few very wet days where it would have been handy to be able to put our toddler down in front of a DVD for a few hours.
We found the pool area of Mantra to be its best facility. The pool is large and has a variety of depths making it perfect for toddlers to splash and adults to swim. There is a toddler pool but it is quite shaded and was too cold to swim in when we were there. Additionally, for a toddler pool it is actually quite deep. We spent many of our afternoons in the pool with our toddler and met other families with their toddlers in the pool as well. All the kids had a great time and our toddler preferred the pool to the beach.
Manta is across the road from the beach at Palm Cove, although the safe swimming area (netted for stingers) is further down the road, close to the children’s playground and Peppers. It is a short walk to pretty much everything in Palm Cove and a short drive to a Coles supermarket in the next suburb. Mantra recommended a Coles home delivery and was even able to store our few refrigerated items in the fridge at reception when the delivery arrived as our plane had been slightly delayed.
We chose to eat one night at the Mantra restaurant. Considering the high quality of the food, and ambience of the establishment, we were pleasantly surprised at the willingness to cater for a family with a toddler in tow. Staff were great at providing a suitable table, a drink (of water) out of a coffee takeaway cup to minimise spillages, and her meal to come out before our meals so we could start her off with eating. We were highly appreciative and it made us enjoy our meal all the more.
In summary, I would not hesitate to stay at Mantra again in the near future with my family. The service and facilities catered superbly to allow us to relax and enjoy our holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room. These rooms have a sliding door that opens onto gardens and you m...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank taniah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
0.3 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Address: 49-63 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range: £73 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Amphora Resort is located on the spectacular waterfront of Palm Cove's palm-fringed beach at one of Tropical North Queensland's most sought-after destinations. Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea directly opposite the resort or bask in the tropical warmth beside the lagoon swimming pool with its many coves and nooks shaded by towering palm trees. Accommodation at Mantra Amphora Resort ranges from hotel rooms to self-contained one, two and three bedroom apartments all with quality finishes and most featuring an indulgent spa bath, all have private balconies with garden or ocean views providing the perfect space to kick back and relax. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars that will satisfy both discerning palates and family appetites, or dine at Vivo Bar and Brill which sits just next to the Mantra Amphora Resort and offers delicious Italian with subtle tropical flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing