We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Cove Is Just Magical”
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Amphora
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Palm Cove Is Just Magical”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a great time staying at Palm Cove. We had a studio room overlooking the pool. The room was just right for us, and had everything we needed. The only fault would be the hardness of the beds, this is something that Mantra should look into, I did not sleep well at all. The staff were friendly enough, nothing over the top, however they all did a good job. Special thanks to Rachel for helping as much as she could with the release of my pre auth of $200. It was school holiday time, so always a lot of kids and families at the pool area, found it easier to relax at the beach across the road. Lots of housekeeping trolleys and noise from the units above early in the morning, but being up early to enjoy the sunshine in Palm Cove was not all that bad!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerBug2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear TravellerBug2014,

Thank you so very much for your review. It is pleasing to read that you found our service and facilities to be exceptional.
Please be assured that your feedback in regards to the beds has been passed on to our Owner Relations Manager.

Our team works hard every day to present a comfortable property for our guests.
Our staff will be very excited to read your feedback and we could not be happier to receive such great comments from a guest that stayed at Mantra Amphora.
It will certainly serve as an encouragement to all staff to read your feedback.

It sounds like you had an amazing holiday.
Of course there's no reason why you can't have these experiences more than once! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Your sincerely,

Amphora Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    424
    168
    49
    30
See reviews for
351
551
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I recently spent 2 weeks in the Mantra Amphora in Palm Cove. I requested a beach view room and the view was truly fantastic. It was on the 2nd floor with a lovely balcony. The apartment itself was very well set up with all you needed to cook for yourself, which we did. It was very clean, and the king-size bed was quite comfortable. As we were staying the 2 weeks, we received one complimentary clean and change of linen. Two would have been nice. If we needed extra tissues, bin liners etc, it was not a problem, they were delivered promptly.
My only gripe as such, is that in this day and age, I believe free wifi should have been provided, and that one ceiling fan had a little mould on it. Otherwise all was very good.
We booked tours and the like through reception and that was also very well handled. It was a great stay, and I would certainly return there. It is very close to the beach, has a really nice pool, and is close to some wonderful restaurants. Try Vivo and Bella Baci, they were outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear ddiston,

Thank you so very much for your review. It is pleasing to read that you found our service and facilities to be exceptional.
Our team works hard every day to present a comfortable property for our guests so please be assured that your feedback in regards to the fanshave been passed on to our housekeeping department.

Your request to provide free wifi has most definitely been passed on to our Mantra Group head office. I do hope you were able to use the complimentary business computer & internet provided in reception.

Our staff will be very excited to read your feedback and we could not be happier to receive such great comments from a guest that stayed at Mantra Amphora.
It will certainly serve as an encouragement to all staff to read your feedback.

It sounds like you had an amazing holiday.
Of course there's no reason why you can't have these experiences more than once! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Your sincerely,

Amphora Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were a family of four with older teenagers so the room we had was a dual key room which was excellent (i.e. two interconnecting rooms one with kitchen facilities). The view of the pool was great and the room was well equipped. We found the location on the esplanade very good, it was a short walk to everything. The room was on the 3rd level (there are no lifts) which was fine for us but it is something to keep in mind if mobility is an issue. The decor could probably do with a bit of a face lift, but we found everything to be clean and tidy and good value compared to other hotels on the esplanade. The pool and spa set up was great. The staff were helpful with some good suggestions and they booked a couple of tours for us. We would be happy to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelbyBT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear SelbyBT24,

Thank you very much for your review of Mantra Amphora.
We could not be happier reading that you have thoroughly enjoyed your holiday.
The team was very pleased to read your kind words in this post.

We hope to welcome you back to Palm Cove in the near future.

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our first necessity was to get a ground floor unit due to a wheelchair, it was the major necessity so we gave up on anything else. Having said that we had a nice view of the pool. We had a smaller 1 bedroom unit. It REALLY could have used a separate chair to go with the 2 seater lounge, there was room for it and two people watching TV was uncomfortable without another place to sit. Also we definitely could have used a bit more silverware as we were always using the dishwasher just because we'd run out of silverware.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we felt the resort delivered on point especially for the price. It was clean, I didn't find the beds terrible like other reports had. We really had no complaints other than the lack of seating in the living area and that we could live with, you really couldn't beat the location, it was clean and well kept and managed. All the appliances made cooking and laundry a breeze, Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear chris1gill,

Thank you so very much for your review. Our team works hard every day to provide exceptional service as well as presenting a clean and comfortable property for all our guests.

We could not be happier to receive such great comments from a guest that stayed at Mantra Amphora. It will certainly serve as an encouragement to all staff to read your feedback.

Again I thank you for your comments and hope that we can welcome you back to Palm Cove in the near future.

Your sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 8 nights in June. There are defiantly some pros and cons to staying at this resort and I will list below. Mind you this review is based on us travelling with a 10 month old baby in a one bedroom apartment.

Pros
- access to the bathroom and bedroom had 2 entries so when bubs was asleep u could enter the bathroom without waking the baby.
-We received a ground floor apartment as requested
- large pool with lots of areas to sit and lots of grassy areas to put bubs down.

Cons
-bathroom fan didn't work
-hardly any supplies in the unit like salt or pepper, spray and wipe or cooking oil.
-scraping chairs from above unit can b heard. And thumping noises.
- uncomfortable couch
-hard bed (we actually had to move our mattress to the lounge as we couldn't sleep in the same room as our baby)
-see through curtains in lounge offered no privacy.
-the mantra should do room service. Which would be amazing if bubs was sleeping we wouldn't have to disturb her to go out. But I understand they don't need to.
-smelly kitchen cupboard
-dirty marks on the back of the kitchen bench facing the lounge.

Overall it was a good place to stay. Great if your travelling as a family with a bit older kids, they would love the pool. A bit more attention to housekeeping and supplies for people staying would b great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bree_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear bree_25,

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

We always endeavour to fulfil guest requests and try to cater to the individuals needs and I am happy to read that your request for ground floor was able to be provided. Mantra Amphora supplies tea and coffee as well as bathroom amenities free of charge, with any additional supplies for the room provided via reception if needed. Regrettably this does not include spays, wipes or cooking oil, however salt and pepper would have been available at the front desk upon request. Being a self-contained apartment complex, the majority of our guests utilize their own supplies according to their preference.
The possibility of providing room service to all our apartments would be great but without our own restaurant operations at Mantra Amphora it is unlikely to be provided in the near future. Various restaurants along the Williams Esplanade have a great range of take away menus, and with only a short stroll from the property, are used by many travellers in the absence of room service. In regards to cleaning or maintenance issues I would like to ask you to never hesitate reporting any such issues immediately to any Reception desk in the future. I am sure any service provider would be happy to help..

Thank you again for taking the time and providing me with your feedback, I really appreciated your comments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Amphora in the future.

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great location, nice clean rooms. Definitely not pusher/ pram friendly. We had requested ground floor however still had 3 flights of steps to pass to get out of our room which became a hassle. Front office staff were not friendly or welcoming they acted like they didn't want to be at work. Nice pool however was very cold. No service given unless you stay more than 8 nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelyljn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm cove
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 young children. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was clean, very light and had a spacious living area, balcony and kitchen for the children to run around.
The pool is beautiful and despite it being June and rainy everyday of our stay we were in there without fail.
We did not have much contact with staff as we never had a problem. Those that we were in contact with were polite and helpful (albeit at times a little frosty). The hotel is in a beautiful location and close to all palm cove has to offer.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wylie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
2,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Property: Mantra Amphora
Address: 49-63 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Amphora Resort is located on the spectacular waterfront of Palm Cove's palm-fringed beach at one of Tropical North Queensland's most sought-after destinations. Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea directly opposite the resort or bask in the tropical warmth beside the lagoon swimming pool with its many coves and nooks shaded by towering palm trees. Accommodation at Mantra Amphora Resort ranges from hotel rooms to self-contained one, two and three bedroom apartments all with quality finishes and most featuring an indulgent spa bath. All rooms and apartments offer private balconies with garden or ocean views providing the perfect space to kick back and relax as the sun disappears and the moon lights up the sky. An ideal place to celebrate a nearby wedding, escape with the family or just take some time out, Mantra Amphora makes room for everyone. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars that will satisfy both discerning palates and family appetites, or dine at Vivo Bar and Brill which sits just next to the Mantra Amphora Resort and offers delicious Italian with subtle tropical flavours. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival com au. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing