We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Honeymoon location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palm Cove Tropic Apartments
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here for a week back in April for our Honeymoon. We had never been to Palm Cove or Far North Queensland before and found Palm Cove Tropic Apartments to be the perfect base. The apartment was a perfect size, very clean, with ideal facilities for self catering. Our apartment overlooked the pool which was very pleasant. The apartment complex was very peaceful. I loved waking up in the morning to the sounds of the birds and watching the flying foxes fly over at dusk.
The location was an ideal short walk to the beach, restaurants and shops. There is also a short nature walk that I was lucky enough to see Wallabies roaming wild on nearby.
Wayne at reception was amazingly helpful. Being tourists we asked him advice everyday about things to do, he supplied maps and valid information about Mossman Gorge, Daintree Rainforest, Great Barrier Reef and Crocodile adventures. You can also book up day trips and hire cars through him. We had our own hire car and really appreciated the use of the safe underground parking spot that comes with the room.
Coles supermarket is a short drive away, this does tend to close early especially at weekends so be aware.
Our favourite restaurant was Colonies in the shopping village. They had a good offer with food and wine. The style of restaurant was alfresco dining. The atmosphere was lovely and the staff were very friendly. We went there a couple of times during our stay.
Palm Cove is an ideal location to zip up and down the coast to see as far up as Daintree Rainforest or as low down as Cairns.
I would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to other travellers.
Anne-marie

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_mAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Palm Cove Tropic Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I spent a week here from 23rd to 30th August. What great value accommodation! We had an upstairs apartment looking over the pool, and our privacy was looked after by the lush tropical vegetation that formed a natural screen just beyond our balcony. First impressions of the apartment and the facilities generally were very positive and after a week staying here we felt no different. Wayne in reception was extremely efficient and polite and helpfully booked excursions to Agincourt Reef and Kuranda for us and gave us useful tips - e.g. that we could save money on food items by taking a 5 minute drive to a local mall with its Coles supermarket rather than emptying our wallets at small beachfront food stores. Location, as others have mentioned, is very practical. Nice and quiet and two minutes walk at the very most to the southern end of the restaurant and resort strip and the beach. On site underground parking means that you have no worries if you come with a hire car etc. Would there be better places to stay in Palm Cove? Quite possibly. But we found Tropic Apartments a real treat and if we were ever going back to Palm Cove that's where we'd head, knowing that the accommodation and service is first rate and the value for money very hard to beat.
Ross M.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 9 day break away from the cold weather of Victoria. We were impressed with the cleanliness and privacy of our apartment including the balcony which was screened by tall green palms. The apartment is well equipped and we self catered on a couple of occasions. The pool, BBQ and surrounding outdoor areas were lovely and well maintained. We loved that the complex was just off the main drag in a very quiet location. Palm Cove beach cafes and restaurants only a short walk away. The esplanade is about 1 kilometre in length so everything is within an easy and pleasant walk. The Palm Cove Tavern is just around the corner and has a Liquorland bottle shop attached with a good choice of beers wines and mixers. Coles supermarket is a 5 kilometre round trip on foot which we did a couple of times and it is an easy walk. There are three delis/supermarkets in Palm Cove and all have a good array of products. Restaurants abound therefore lots of choice. The Surf Club is a good place for drinks and dinners. Great value for money and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeathatPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have been there for 10 days. The room is very big and clean, and there is everything you need (towel, cutlery, plates, bed sheets, etc). The swimming pool is small but very nice and the apartments are close to the beach, in that period weren't crowded and that made the bbq area (very clean) always available for us and the holiday very relaxing. The reception is not open the whole day every day but if you knock to the door there is always someone that can help you. The only problem is that the supermarket is far so you have to catch the bus every time. That's annoying because it's hot and you don't want wait the bus or walk to reach the only coles which is far away from the apartments.

Room Tip: ask for the room in front of the swimming pool
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellina72003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmCoveTropic, Manager at Palm Cove Tropic Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. You can order your groceries online via Coles and Woolworths and have them delivered for a small fee. We have free internet access on the PC in the guest lounge. You can have a holiday away from supermarkets too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights in July. The beds were comfortable, the apartment was clean and had basics like a couple of pots and a frypan (no roasting tray though). Washing machine and dryer worked well, essential for a young family. Good location just around the corner from the fabulous Chill Cafe, and close to the Tavern which is good for family dinners. Unfortunately the pool was really cold - no way it was 29 degrees as claimed, more like 21, the kids were blue and teeth chattering after a few minutes, and it was too deep really for little kids. Straight in at 1.1m and deeper by the waterfall, so our kids had to wear their lifejackets and wetsuits. Also the barbecue was broken for the first week which put a dampner on our ideas of dinner out by the pool. When it was finally fixed, there is a sign up saying please clean after use, but the only thing provided to clean it was half a chux cloth and some dishwashing detergent. I also found the manager a bit unfriendly, he was polite but did not smile once that we saw in our whole stay, which in my opinion is essential for a hospitality role. Also for parents of young kids, especially travelling into a different time zone I would also mention that the apartments are all tile floors, plastered concrete walls, so there is nothing to muffle the noise of the little darlings when they wake up at 6am and want to play (inside the unit only -we didn't have any issue with hearing the noise from other guests in their apartments).
Overall, I would probably recommend this more for couples without children who didn't need to use the pool in winter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AitchyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmCoveTropic, Manager at Palm Cove Tropic Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry our pool wasn't suitable for your children. The pool heater is set to 29 degrees and it normally stays at this temperature but we did have some unseasonally cold weather over that time and the pool temperature did drop to around the 25 degree mark. The size and shape of the pool makes it impractical to cover at night to hold the warmth in.
We do have a fully range of cooking facilities available, as stated in the compendium, you only have to ask for unusual items like baking pans, cake tins etc. We don't stock these in every room as they are usually unused and just create clutter.
The BBQ was an issue, we had to wait for parts to be shipped from down south, unfortunately Cairns is rather remote and local stores do not carry much in the way of spare parts for BBQs. It's is very frustrating having to wait for a simple part, a letter takes 3 days to arrive from Sydney or Melbourne and parcels are even slower. This is one of the drawbacks of living in the far north.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Clean and well maintained. Very nice feel and a good little quiet oasis. The room was were comfortable. Great location. Felt close to plenty of services in Palm Cove. Really enjoyed the pool. Enjoyed staying there. Good helpful staff. Consider it good value for money and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed for 7 nights, it was a fantastic experience that was only made better by the great service and friendliness of staff. All of our tours were booked at the front desk, transfers arranged and we were given realistic advice on what to do and see. It was also very easy to catch public transport, the stop was just around the corner!

The apartment was great value for money, it was clean and presented wonderfully. There's a wonderful pool and great barbecue/eating area .
I would definitely recommend these apartments for anyone looking for a great relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToniZZZZw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#6 of 8 in Palm Cove
1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
0.5 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Cove Tropic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Cove Tropic Apartments

Address: 6 Triton Street, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range: £81 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Cove Tropic Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. Beautiful Lagoon style saltwater pool and accompanying BBQ area makes you feel a world away from the city stress. Swimming pool is heated during winter. All apartments have widescreen LCD TVs and DVD players. Private verandas to all units plus undercover car. Parking. Quiet location but only a 2 minute walk to shops, cafes and restaurants or the beach. Free WiFi to all rooms and outdoor areas. Day Spa on-site which offers guest's discounts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm Cove Tropic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing