We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trastevere and Alba pizzas were terrific”

Il Forno Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Il Forno is a family run business with a new management. At Il Forno we specialise in Roman style Pizza which has a soft but crunchy thin base. We follow the traditional way of Pizza making which does not grant the use of any machinery for the handling of the dough, not even a rolling pin can be used. We do it the old way, by hand! At Il Forno you will find a little corner of Italy where the owner and staff are Italians. To ensure a true Italian Pizza to our customers we import a lot of our ingredients and the local ingredients we use are made by Italians here in Australia.
Level Contributor
423 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Trastevere and Alba pizzas were terrific”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Dinner here after a long lunch at Nu Nu's.

We hadn't been here since our honeymoon 15 years ago so were pleased it was still here (same owner apparently).

Manager friendly and casual - but knowledgeable.

Inside was as pokey and well worn as we remembered, but we sat outside.

Pizza was terrific - the freshness and quality of the ingredients was very evident. The mushroom truffle oil cheese marriage on my Alba (white base pizza) was perfect. If I had to be picky the centre third of both pizzas were a little floppy.

Simple affordable wine list.

Good value dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    175
    57
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely disappointing!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had an early dinner here on a Saturday night. We arrived right on opening time and were met by friendly staff who were happy to seat us promptly and provide a high chair for our baby. Unfortunately that was the only good part about our experience ends. The inside seating area is small and cramped, and presents as old and a bit rundown. Our waiter was helpful and quick to take our order which was good because we were the only customers at the time. When the Rosemary and salt starter bread came out it was bland and boring. It looked like the chef struggled to put a few drops of rosemary oil, one or two rosemary twigs and twist of salt on it. We ordered a ham and pineapple pizza for dinner which was not much better. It was made from the same bland base and had a couple of small pieces of ham and a small handful of pineapple pieces spread out thinly across the base. Overall the food was boring and poor value. We won't be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank honestreviewer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Solid pizza”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Ordered a couple of take away pizzas (bufala and supreme), both of which were of good standard. Not quite 400 gradi, but not bad. They were probably a little on the salty side, but not enough to dislike. All the ingredients tasted fresh and of quality.
The rocket, parmesan and balsamic salad was delicious and a perfect balance to the saltiness of the pizzas.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious thin crust pizzas, great owner”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The pizzas were yummy, service was fantastic, a gem in Palm Cove. Not our first visit, and we will be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tf323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The little find is amazing. So good we returned 3 times to have the same thing. Highly recommend this one !!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cogi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Forno Restaurant also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Il Forno Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing