We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We paid $624 for 6 nights accommodation. You're supplied with the basics such as tea, coffee etc single use washing up liquid and detergent. New towels can be hired for $5 a week. The only negative thing I'd say about here is that the bar/cafe wasn't open during our stay and the apartment floor doesn't appear to have been mopped/cleaned properly.
The property is located away from the main strip and a 5-10 minute walk which is pleasing on the eye. Nice pool and spa and there's BBQ facilities as well.
If you're looking for self contained accommodation at a reasonable price, we'd recommend it.
One more negative thing that really was a killer for the trip was the bed was the most uncomfortable we've ever slept on and haven't really slept properly for the trip.

Room Tip: No restaurant facilities and the closest is a 5-10 minute walk but we expected this before our arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Have just returned from a weekend at airlie beach. First time there but won't be my last, loved it. We stayed at the blue horizon apartments in a spa room on 3rd floor. Great view from spa and balcony. Is a very laid back location and time seemed to slow down. Going back with the kids

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffee_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Was initially impressed with the room and certainly impressed with the view. Was really looking forward to the spa (one of my favourite things to do when on holiday) but was totally disappointed when the spa turned out to be a dud. NO BUBBLES????? Lucky for us we had a lot of things planned to make the weekend enjoyable because looking at my useless spa was a real downer. Probably won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room without a blaring hallway light coming in through the blinds of your bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed 8 nights at this resort during the winter months of August 2013 using a voucher and this is what we experienced:
- BEAUTIFUL spacious and clean apartment - we had booked for a 1 bedroom apartment but somehow to our surprise when we got there, got upgraded to a 2 bedroom at no extra cost! Already we were impressed!
- Comfortable bed - slept well every night, with no noise at all as the hotel isn't on the main strip.
- Apartment was only cleaned once during the half-way mark so be aware of this if you go swimming on a daily basis and need heaps of shampoo/conditioner to wash long hair each time!
- Friendly and helpful staff - we arrived late for check-in and they texted us details of how to access our keys left in a security deposit box outside.
- You get $5 off per person for any tours you book through them
- It is about a 10min walk to the main strip of town
- The design of the apartment is a bit quirky - eg. having horizontal blinds in the shower area to the living area! Also kitchen windows opening out to a brick wall! However the main balcony area is a decent size and has beautiful water views.
- The dishwashing liquid provided is somewhat weak and didn't froth up much when using.
- There is a small gym area with limited machines but whenever we went to use it, it was always empty so yay for us! They don't provide any extra towels so you have to supply your own to wipe down after use.
- Pool is heated so always a lovely inviting temperature to swim in. They say not to use the hotel towel but that pool towels can be rented.
- We found we'd left our housekeys in the apartment after leaving QLD and the staff (after twice checking the room) luckily found our keys and promptly sent them in the post the same day for us, only charging us for postage which we were very grateful for!

Overall a very pleasant stay! We had a lovely time in Airlie Beach will consider staying here again if ever we return! I must admit it was excellent value for money given what we experienced at such a cheap price! Thank you so much Blue Horizons for an unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimbopumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Another mixed experience from Blue Horizon. Arrived here for a 2 night stay to celebrate a 2 year anniversary with my partner. After telephoning to announce our "late arrival" (arrived 5.30pm) were told that upon check out we needed to ensure that the washing up had been done, bins emptied, and linen placed in the washing trolleys. Something to be expected of a youth hostel, not a higher rated hotel.

Night one went relatively unhindered, lovely views, short walk to delicious restaurants on the waterfront before returning to our room for coffee and television. Then we saw them - yes them - dozens of cockroaches which had made a home in the kitchenette, and were very upset at our attempts to make hot drinks. These critters scattered throughout the apartment (but especially in kitchenette and bathroom), and were our companions for the rest of our stay. After abandoning the television, my partner and I were quite tired (after a very long day of travel to AB) we attempted to turn in for the night - which went quite well until we hit the bed. Mattresses were quite old, with very audible innersprings which "scratched" at every turn. Air-conditioning was also far too temperamental - violently changing from cooling to heating throughout the night.

The next morning we went down to reception to the lovely Carla (who took fantastic care of us), and were told that these issues would be addressed as much as possible. She also took the time to walk us through various tour options before booking our tours (and obtaining a discount from the operators due to the Blue Horizon booking). Carla saved this trip for us, and we are truly grateful that she was so amazing. Having said this, there was no change in the roaches in our rooms / dodgy air-conditioning when we returned for night - but she did try.

Room Tip: Higher floors (4 and above) have Marina views. On Saturday nights, be warned that there is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pokeedex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Beautiful rooms , awesome staff went above and beyond to accommodate anything we needed , special thanks to Carla !! Spectacular views ....close to Main Street everything you need... Will be back for sure .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spent 3 nights in a 2 brm apartment. We were on the 3rd floor which offered fabulous views. The deck was quite large but had only one sun lounge? We travelled midweek tues-thurs and pretty much had the place to ourselves. The pool was warm and inviting so too was the spa. The apartment itself was roomy and comfortable. the only setback was the bathroom smelt when we arrived and the odd window in the shower which looks through to the lounge had a louvre blind in it that didn't work. (Not that you really want to lift it up to have people in the lounge watch you shower!) We only dealt with one staff member the whole time we were there but they were helpful and friendly. The driveways are steep but once you're on the footpath heading into town it's a much more gentle incline. It takes about 10-15 minutes to get there and if you prefer the walk minus the slight incline (and being so close to the road!) then cross the road at the roundabout and walk around in front of the Boathaven complex into town. The "Coffee Club" is situated at the Boathaven as is Denman Cellars an excellent tapas bar both offering open air dining with views over the marina. Both these options offer a much quieter dining experience than that of the main street which we found to be tacky and touristy, something not helped by the ongoing and very disruptive roadworks. Once you get there, the front beach offers a great place to swim and soak in the view. We caught the bus ($3.50 per adult for a 2 hr ticket) out to Centro shopping centre (about 15 minutes away) where there is a Woolworths and BigW to stock up on supplies. The bus drivers were the friendliest blokes I've ever encountered and made the trip both entertaining and amusing. The bus stop out there is at the roundabout but the stop to get off at on the way back is located further back down the road so be prepared for a short walk if you have heavy bags although the driver said if we'd had a few slabs he'd have dropped us at the roundabout! All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buggerlugs159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.6 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#23 of 56 in Airlie Beach
609 reviews
0.0 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#47 of 56 in Airlie Beach
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#7 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Address: 3 Hermitage Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £108 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Blue Horizon Resort creates the perfect setting for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday holiday. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, a family friendly destination, or somewhere to mix work with pleasure at Blue Horizon Resort can cater for all tastes.The resort’s modern, Balinese inspired 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and 3 or 4 bedroom top floor luxury jacuzzi penthouses offer spacious balconies with views over the Coral Sea. With an emphasis on comfort and warm friendly service at Blue Horizon Resort is your home away from home.With the beautiful Whitsunday weather you can choose to relax in the heated spa, rise early to take advantage of the fully equipped gymnasium or relax poolside. The toddler wading pool and play room helps to keep little ones occupied while the Horizon heated swimming pool provides year round fun for all. Our onsite tour desk will assist you to choose the perfect activity to make your Whitsunday experience a memorable one, from a romantic secluded island beach picnic to a thrill seeking parachute jump our dedicated team can make it happen.at Blue Horizon Resort is the perfect spot for small to medium sized conferences, boasting a large, modern, dedicated conference room with state of the art audio visual equipment, broadband internet access, and versatile choice of room configurations at Blue Horizon Resort presents itself as a resort focused on driving business results. at Blue Horizon Resort, located a short walk from Airlie Beach village is the ideal base for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing