We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“definitely not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Nanango, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“definitely not 4 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

we stayed the 2 nights just recently and to tell you we were disappointed would be an understatement....we paid $ 330.00 per night for a 2 bedroom unit and then were given access to only 1 bedroom.....not explanation except thats the way it is ???? which came from the receptionist who was dressed in old shorts and an old t-short...rude !!!! the furnishings were quite dated with the couch being the most uncomfortable i have ever experienced. the boards on the deck were in dire need of some maintenance. on a postive note the bed was comfortable and the location was good....would we stay there again.....NO

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctaylor59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    111
    58
    32
    28
See reviews for
91
138
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed here with my family over the weekend of 27 - 29th of September. When we arrived we noticed a Chrysler 300C stuck trying to get up the driveway to reception and decided we would not attempt the steep driveway in the car (the angle causes the cars to bottom out), we could see the damage to the driveway entrance from previous attempts. When we checked in we were made to feel like a burden by the arrogant receptionist. Upon entering the room we were shocked to see how incredibally dirty and run down the rooms had become (I stayed here 3 years ago and it was much better). All throughout the entire stay the receptionist was completely rude and inconsiderate. The resort is very run down and definitely not a 4 star anymore, I would never stay here again, there are much better places to stay for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QLDstylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were lucky enough to be hosted by friends for 4 nights in a 2brm+1brm apartment, with shared balcony. Blue Horizon has great views and is walking distance to everything. Although older in style the apartments are more spacious, airconditioned, clean and well equipped. The reception, pool, spa & BBQ areas are resort style and very pleaseant. Airlee Beach is growing and there are plenty of cafes and bars to watch the world go by. Blue Horizon was a great spot.

Room Tip: The yellow crested parrots are not shy, so we kept our balcony doors closed when we were out, otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Firstly, having read other reviews, remember these are apartments, it's not a hotel. It was just my wife and I staying in a 1 bedroom apartment which was lovely and clean. Stayed for 3 nights. Nice and quiet and the bed was comfy - slept well every night. Staff were helpful and friendly. Everything you need is in the kitchen, but probably not to a standard you'd expect at home. We were there in Sept 2013 so just out of high season apparently. It's a 10 minute walk to the main strip of Airlie Beach, which is nothing. There's loads of bars/cafes/restaurants if you need it there. The bar was empty though for some strange reason, not even beers in the fridge. Pool and spa are great. View is definitely a seaview, albeit a bit of a building site in between at the moment. Balcony is spacious too. Would recommend this place and will think about it if returning to Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozscotbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We paid $624 for 6 nights accommodation. You're supplied with the basics such as tea, coffee etc single use washing up liquid and detergent. New towels can be hired for $5 a week. The only negative thing I'd say about here is that the bar/cafe wasn't open during our stay and the apartment floor doesn't appear to have been mopped/cleaned properly.
The property is located away from the main strip and a 5-10 minute walk which is pleasing on the eye. Nice pool and spa and there's BBQ facilities as well.
If you're looking for self contained accommodation at a reasonable price, we'd recommend it.
One more negative thing that really was a killer for the trip was the bed was the most uncomfortable we've ever slept on and haven't really slept properly for the trip.

Room Tip: No restaurant facilities and the closest is a 5-10 minute walk but we expected this before our arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Have just returned from a weekend at airlie beach. First time there but won't be my last, loved it. We stayed at the blue horizon apartments in a spa room on 3rd floor. Great view from spa and balcony. Is a very laid back location and time seemed to slow down. Going back with the kids

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffee_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Was initially impressed with the room and certainly impressed with the view. Was really looking forward to the spa (one of my favourite things to do when on holiday) but was totally disappointed when the spa turned out to be a dud. NO BUBBLES????? Lucky for us we had a lot of things planned to make the weekend enjoyable because looking at my useless spa was a real downer. Probably won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room without a blaring hallway light coming in through the blinds of your bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
#12 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#45 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Property: Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Address: 3 Hermitage Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Blue Horizon Resort creates the perfect setting for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday holiday. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, a family friendly destination, or somewhere to mix work with pleasure at Blue Horizon Resort can cater for all tastes.The resort’s modern, Balinese inspired 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and 3 or 4 bedroom top floor luxury jacuzzi penthouses offer spacious balconies with views over the Coral Sea. With an emphasis on comfort and warm friendly service at Blue Horizon Resort is your home away from home.With the beautiful Whitsunday weather you can choose to relax in the heated spa, rise early to take advantage of the fully equipped gymnasium or relax poolside. The toddler wading pool and play room helps to keep little ones occupied while the Horizon heated swimming pool provides year round fun for all. Our onsite tour desk will assist you to choose the perfect activity to make your Whitsunday experience a memorable one, from a romantic secluded island beach picnic to a thrill seeking parachute jump our dedicated team can make it happen.at Blue Horizon Resort is the perfect spot for small to medium sized conferences, boasting a large, modern, dedicated conference room with state of the art audio visual equipment, broadband internet access, and versatile choice of room configurations at Blue Horizon Resort presents itself as a resort focused on driving business results. at Blue Horizon Resort, located a short walk from Airlie Beach village is the ideal base for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing