We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place 5 minute walk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place 5 minute walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Located about 5 minute walk from town centre where its nice and quiet from the clubs. It has a slight view of the ocean but mainly view is of the new building and cleared land on the foreshore. We where in a single room which was very well priced without reservations and the bedroom is spacious. The lounge has a TV, bar fridge with tea, coffee making facilities and electronic frypan, cutlery and cleaning gear. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Litetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    110
    58
    32
    27
See reviews for
90
138
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the resort for 2 nights before heading out to the reef for 1 night and then back to the resort for 1 night. We needed to check out when the office was closed, and we asked the staff to collect our bags from the room, hold them in storage and check back in when they were closed. All of this was done with no trouble and when we came back in for our 1 night, we were pleased at the ease of gaining our keys after hours and when we got to our room, our bags awaited us. Thanks for the service and making our movements so easy... the rooms were very nice and i would love to stay longer...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacandluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed for five nights in a apartment.It was further out from main street than I expected so it was a bit of a walk to get to the shops but once I got used to it I enjoyed it & incorporated it into my daily exercise.The decor was a pleasant balinese style & the view was very good.The shower wasn't very clean though with soap scum on the glass & the double bed was very hard,lumpy & uncomfortable,however the pillows were comfortable.The hotel was very quiet which was great because I got some much needed rest.The hotel 'Peter Morrisey' toiletries were excellent & the towels were displayed elegantly upon arrival. The couch wasn't very comfortable,it was a bit grubby & could do with a good dry clean.There were a lot of ants that showed up in the bathroom & kitchen.The kitchen & the fridge were a good size & plenty of cups etc.The dining table was good & the overall look of the kitchen was nice.The patio dining table was comfortable which made it possible to dine & relax outside in comfort & watch the sunset/sunrise.There was no house keeping which was disappointing considering the room was over $200 a night! The plus side was the washing machine,drier & dishwasher in the apartment which was excellent for cleaning the towels & my clothes before I went home.Most of the staff were pleasant except for a few who were a bit blank.A staff member named Melinda was fantastic! She really was very nice & helpful & went out of her way to help me with tours or any concerns etc The continental breakfast was in the motel across the road.The food was average but very clean & excellent percolated coffee & fresh juices.The motel dining room was relaxing with tables,couches & t.v.The motel verandah was lovely to sit out & relax with some breakfast.A staff member at the motel named Margaret was very helpful in directing in the breakfast area & gave me some great tips on what to do in The Whitsundays.I enjoyed my daily chats with her at breakfast.Overall it was a okay experience but it could've been a lot better for a four & a half star hotel.I am not sure if I will stay there again next trip,but I will still recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Higher floors have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceandreamings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This resort was far from luxurious as the titles of the rooms suggested. My partner and I stayed for 6 nights in a 1 bedroom luxury spa room and were extremely disappointed with the cleanliness and standard of Blue Horizons resort. We were allocated a room on level 2 - a bit disappointing considering our lengthy stay and how much we paid. Our room was grotty, the floors had not been cleaned, there was hairs on our bed and on 4 pillows, dust on the ceilings and all surfaces, disgusting stains on both couches and cushions, as well as a grotty looking shower/spa which we did not want to shower in!

We told management it was not up to standard considering we were staying for 6 nights, so they agreed to move us the next day. Our second room was on level 4 and was definitlely cleaner but still carried some of the same traits that our original room did. There was dust on the ceillings and stains on the cushions. Our shower hose was also broken and upon showering for the first time in the new room, water sprayed all over the ceilling and walls - how this was not picked up by housekeeping I don't know. We promptly got it fixed, however the shower screens do nothing to prevent the water from leaking ALL over your bathroom when you shower. Every day we had a big puddle of water on the floor and around the toilet. It was disgusting. We wore thongs in the bathroom to avoid treading on the water. Our towels were very quickly dirtied and we had to wash them mid-week. The kitchen was rather small and barely contained anything considering it was a self-contained apartment. We had to get creative with our cooking and washing, as we were only given 1 sachet of dishwashing liquid also.

We had a good view of the ocean and the airconditioning and television in the hotel was fine.Not many other pro's apart from the pool and spa being fine with ample sunbeds available by the pool for our use. Easy access in and out of the resort via a swipe card and staff were nice.

Would not recommend this place, for the same price could stay somewhere else much cleaner and nicer. Rooms need a thorough scrubbing and detailed clean before you can call it a 4.5 star resort.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor for better view. Lower rooms have noise from generators outside windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Rooms were not clean, bathroom w/ hair on the floor. Stayed for 6 nights and didn't have housekeeping, no clean towels. Far away from town (especially when you travel w/ your family, two kids under 4yo). Hotel charged our credit card after we left. I only learned why because called them back and the answer was "room was left too dirty", we are disputing charges w/ bank. It's so not worthy the headache!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dEbVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just recently stayed at blue horizon at Airlie Beach and I must say It is a lovely place to relax and chill. Although some people have said it is far from the town centre we had no problem walking the 5-10 minutes along the well lit pathways after a full dinner in town! The apartment we stayed in was a 2 bedroom on floor 5 with lovely views over the harbour (ok though at the time there is some construction going on there). The beds were lovely, there is ducted air and the place overall felt comfortable. Took some tours to the Whitsundays and all tour groups would happily pick us up at the hotel. Would be happy to stay there longer next time

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keryn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Booked on Wotif and thought we would stay at the beach. Had to walk half an hour with three kids under 4 years old to get to the beach... very misleading! Filthy bathroom, with dirty shower walls! I was disappointed w/ the cleanliness of the room!!

We stayed for 6 nights and DIDN'T HAVE HOUSEKEEPING!!!! Paid AU$200 per night and our rooms were not cleaned one single day!!!!! DISGUSTING!!!!

I wouldn't come back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#44 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#4 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Property: Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Address: 3 Hermitage Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Blue Horizon Resort creates the perfect setting for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday holiday. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, a family friendly destination, or somewhere to mix work with pleasure at Blue Horizon Resort can cater for all tastes.The resort’s modern, Balinese inspired 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and 3 or 4 bedroom top floor luxury jacuzzi penthouses offer spacious balconies with views over the Coral Sea. With an emphasis on comfort and warm friendly service at Blue Horizon Resort is your home away from home.With the beautiful Whitsunday weather you can choose to relax in the heated spa, rise early to take advantage of the fully equipped gymnasium or relax poolside. The toddler wading pool and play room helps to keep little ones occupied while the Horizon heated swimming pool provides year round fun for all. Our onsite tour desk will assist you to choose the perfect activity to make your Whitsunday experience a memorable one, from a romantic secluded island beach picnic to a thrill seeking parachute jump our dedicated team can make it happen.at Blue Horizon Resort is the perfect spot for small to medium sized conferences, boasting a large, modern, dedicated conference room with state of the art audio visual equipment, broadband internet access, and versatile choice of room configurations at Blue Horizon Resort presents itself as a resort focused on driving business results. at Blue Horizon Resort, located a short walk from Airlie Beach village is the ideal base for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing