We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is getting worse and it needs a good refurb”
Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
Ranked #67 of 105 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service is getting worse and it needs a good refurb”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We go here a couple of times a year, the location is fantastic, they have a pretty good menu, including choices for kids, but over the past 12 months two things have let them down.

The service is pretty bad, simple things like not having standard beers that are on the menu available, getting red wine instead of white, not applying my frequent diners discount.

There are broken lights and lamp shades, seat cushions are ripped and torn and the toilets are worse than a public toilet.

At our recent visit, we were there at noon ie just after opening and I doubt the loos had been cleaned from the night before. I let management know and even an hour later still nothing had been done.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    109
    67
    46
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very tasty steak and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have not eaten at this restaurant for many years due to many poor visits but gave it another try. I found the service quick and variety of dishes and drinks on the menu immense. But you go to Hogs Breath for the steak so I had a lite cut prime rib with calamari on top. The $24 price was very good in this age where a steak can be $35+.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank yorkygirlCentralQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend visited the restaurant today, and we will never be returning! Firstly we got our drinks just a simple diet coke, well they clearly have too much soda water to the syrup it tasted off soda water, so we asked if they could return these a bring a new one, and we been waitresses ourselves we would of been very apologetic and would off brought a new drink with no problems, well these waitress didn't even apologise looked at us in disgust that we asked for a new one. Basically they slammed us a new one down without saying a word and once again nothing had changed. We finished our very standard meal and went to pay, we're i refused to pay for the drinks and I explained that they were very rude to us, they work front house there attitude was appalling. They came with the excuse they were under staffed, that still shouldn't change your manners! There was only about 25 people in there and 3 waitresses if anything I would say over staffed, they just couldn't be bothered! It's clear to say we won't be visiting another hogs breath ever due to our very poor experience the first time!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 449AlexJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not happy ”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We love going to hogs breath went to the one in Airlie the toilets stunk of urine very dirty the food was over Cooked when asked for Medium they didn't even have a blender to make cocktails for what they charge it wasn't nice at all should have went and had a counter meal somewhere else at half the price where it was clean

Helpful?
Thank Mamajackson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Basic food basic service”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Took a chance on this place and was sorry there was a feed your kids for free night screaming kids,poor service and poor quality food the chips were cold the burger was like one of those cheap quality frozen burgers from a supermarket certainly far from a quality beef burger as advertised on the menu.drink prices very expensive also.

I would stay away from this place a chipper would be better

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vitara07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing