We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was alright, service was pretty bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
Ranked #66 of 102 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food was alright, service was pretty bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have always enjoyed Hogs Breath, I never expect it to be mind blowing, but a not bad meal usually. What really really puts a downer on a night out for dinner is when your drinks never arrive, and after asking 3 seperate waitresses at this particular Hogs Breath, they still never arrived. After all 5 of us had finished our meals they rocked up. Wasn't very impressed. I know people make mistakes, and staff have are busy, but 3 people can't fill a drink order? Seriously? Have a word to your staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crimsonpetals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    109
    67
    45
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Cute new staff waited upon us, she was very helpful. Food is always good and the view from the deck is breathtaking. Being a vegetarian it is great to have more than one or two choices. The mushroom salad is very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 19Kathy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitsunday
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“25 years in Airlie Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I dined at Hogs Breath recently during their 25th anniversary. Airlie Beach is where Hogs Breath started and I was one of the original diners in the old corrugated iron premises back then. Times have changed, no live music, no cheap meals, no motorbikes hanging from the rafters, no messages written all over the walls and no atmosphere. One thing hasn't changed a lot and that is the tender slow cooked steak. I prefer the good old days.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Ate here both nights of our stay, First time was good and straight forward, but had a bit of a problem the second night as the filled pasta was very dry. Mentioned this when asked if all OK and manager turned up with additional pasta sauce within 2-3 minutes. Problem solved. Manager came along again a bit later to check if resolved. That's what service is about. Watch out for the geckos if sitting on the balcony, as can they climb up from the promenade below and sometimes "bomb" customers from above.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Is what it is.. Good steak poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

If we want a good steak we go to hogs breath .. But the service has become very poor.. The girl who was meant to be out waiter. Was not helpful what so ever.. And didn't seem to want to be there. Which made us not feel very welcome .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing