We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mussel night - let down ”

Capers on the Esplanade
Ranked #27 of 102 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Price range: US$11 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Caves Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Mussel night - let down ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

My partner & I was really looking forward to the mussel night. When we arrived at the new capers we realised that you have to order everything yourself - food & drinks. (I guess this works for big tables if you don't wanna split the bill)
Staff that bought food out were friendly.
However when mussels arrived we were completely let down as mussels were full of beards :0(
Those that had been debearded tastes great however when 70% of them are full of beards unfortunately none of it tastes great.
A real let down.

Helpful?
Thank AussieMuldoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    189
    72
    45
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst service ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Worst service ever, staff were obviously having a bad hair day an took it out on the customer. Would not recommend going to the restaurant at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wmsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I love this place - the food is always good and cocktails are yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a lovely waitress who went and told my sister our table number when she could see me looking around.

The snack food is so cheap and so well presented.

We had some delicious cocktails.

This place is always consistently amazing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimee-2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

There for the Airlie Beach Music Festival, first day we had drinks and lunch at Capers. 1 of the best burgers I have ever had, really really good. The service was great and the atmosphere was excellent. Adam who looked after us was excellent. We will certainly be back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank matt094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Must try mussels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The mussels on the menu are excellent and on Thursday nights they have a two for one offer. The whole place has just been re-furbed and it has a great tropical, holiday feel. I like the new lounge chairs outside too - great for people spotting or perhaps a drink after dinner. If you are visiting Airlie Beach this restaurant must be on your list for one night out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aceprchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capers on the Esplanade also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Capers on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing