We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northerlies is a 'Must' During Your Visit to Airlie”

Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill
Ranked #16 of 117 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Price range: US$11 - US$42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Bar Scene
Description: Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill sits right on the water's edge just outside the beautiful Whitsundays' town of Airlie Beach, Queensland. The relaxed venue offers an inspired fresh menu of grilled produce and seafood. Select from one of the widest range of craft beers on tap in Northern Queensland, or choose from an amazing array of tier one and tier two wines from Australia and around the world.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We heard about 'Northerlies' from other campers while road-tripping from Brisbane to Cairns.

We spent a late-afternoon and evening taking in the breath-taking views and enjoying the fabulous food and service. Our hostess, Bec, looked after us perfectly! It was fascinating to hear a local's perspective on the development at Freedom Shores and the recent hardship faced by the Airlie community (Cyclone Debbie).

It's an out-of-the-way location but it's worth there effort! A twenty-five dollar taxi ride earned us a $10 discount on our meal (make sure you get your cab charge voucher). Bec organised the courtesy bus back to our accomodation. This was a great opportunity to chat with other travellers and the driver had plenty of 'yarns' to tell.

Thank you to whole team at 'Northerlies' (especially Bec). We had a memorable evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
media941, Manager at Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the positive review. Great to hear you made Northerlies a stop on your road trip for the afternoon and got to enjoy the lovely views and food. I will pass your kind words on to our staff and Bec. Thanks for the endorsement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is incredible. Yes it is a little pricey but worth every penny. We had the Duck Pate followed by the Seafood Linguine. DELICIOUS!!! The staff were sensational, especially Gene. She is so friendly and welcoming you can't help but want to stay for a feed. We will be back, guaranteed!

Thank DazzDicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
media941, Manager at Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review. Glad to hear you had a delicious meal and experience. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Gene and the other staff. Look forward to having you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful nautical based resort in the middle of nowhere. The acconmodarion isnt open yet but the restaurant is. The restaurant main seating area was completely booked out and there were 9 of us and we didn't make a booking hence we ordered from the Bar Menu which was still very satisfying for what we required.
The prices were a little expensive however the service extremely good. A lovely place overlooking the water and Abel point marina in the distance. It provides a lot of outdoor activities such as giant jenga, outdoor connect 4, tossing a ball through a target hole. Great day out and we can't wait for the accomodation to open to spend a weekend there.

Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
media941, Manager at Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review. We can get very busy in the restaurant, especially at weekends! I am glad to hear you were satisfied with your meals from the Bar Menu as our chef and staff always look to provide a great experience whether you are in the restaurant, bar or on the beach. Hope to see you back again soon for more great days out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The venue itself is outstanding however the food is very overpriced & the quality does not reflect the price. The price of the drinks will knock you over as they are expensive. I was not going to do a review of this eatery but I sent the owners a feedback about my disappointment & they did not even have the courtesy to reply via email hence this review.

Thank cheron51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
media941, Manager at Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review. Our enquiries through the website are directed to the restaurant itself and not to the owner directly. Sorry your email did not get responded to as promptly as you hoped. We appreciate all feedback in any form and are always looking to make improvements and certainly take your feedback on board. I am not sure if you raised your concerns on the day of your visit, especially regarding the quality, as we appreciate the opportunity to rectify any issues on the day to give us the chance to provide the best experience possible. We hope that you visit again so that we can provide you with the true Northerlies experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Gene was the lovely friendly waitress who served us. We share three entrees for lunch, which was delicious with a glass of wine. The food may be a bit pricey, but worth a splurge while on holidays! The fresh seafood is a must!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ozfan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
media941, Manager at Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed the food and friendly service. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Northerlies Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing